We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Discovered on Tripadvisor....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant

The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant
653 Washington St, Cape May, NJ 08204
+1 609-435-5468
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 108 Restaurants in Cape May
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Home Style
Cross street: Franklin St
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Discovered on Tripadvisor....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Our party of four enjoyed dinner on the porch. We though all of the food was very good with the appetisers and the desert really excellent. The bread that we were served was the only weak ness of the meal and it only mattered because we often use it to soak up the sauce from the mussels, etc. Be sure to save room for desert. There were five offered and we had four of them. They were outstanding and not to be missed. A note: inquire at the desk - parking is diffcult but guests may be able to park next door. We parked at Sturdy Bank.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    26
    9
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
“Not just another normal date night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My boyfriend LOVES food and has even worked in quite a few kitched in his day! Because of this passion for food we are always going to new restaurants trying new types of food and we both take the reviews on these types of cites very seriously. It is important to know what the public thinks about the food and the experience. Well even though I read all these wonderful reviews, they didn't do this place justice! Our server was very friendly and polite. He knew all about the menu which was really great in helping us decide on what to get. As if great service wasn't enough, the food was amazing! I had the Duck Confit Ravioli and my boyfriend had the Sea Scallops...everything was prefect! The entire experience was just so amazing!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We've been visiting Cape May for twenty years and were curious to see new owners at the old Alexander's Inn. We had 6:00 p.m. reservations on a lovely September Thursday evening. The room is bright and simply decorated with sufficient space between the tables. Shrimp cocktail was very good with nice sized shrimp. Five oysters came with shallot mignonette. Filet was perfectly cooked and tender with yummy scalloped potatoes. Hanger steak was also perfectly done. The apple crostata was a great way to end the meal. Service was great. The owner stopped by to chat. We'll certainly return next time we're in Cape May. Note this is BYO and there is outdoor seating on the porch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyomissing, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
330 reviews 330 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Excellent meal and service...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had a party of three. A BYOB. Our server was well-versed on their food. Our appetizers and entrees were lovely. Apparently it's an old b&b that changed their name (was Alexanders, I think). They have a lovely porch if it's a gorgeous evening, however we ate inside. I had a filet mignon which I'd get again. We were too full for dessert. But we'll be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Fairfield, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

It's better to do a few things terrific then a lot of things very good. Because there aren't many menu choices, I'll say The Blue Rose knows what works best! We had a perfect meal, the scallops and hanger steak both melted in our mouths. The service was equally matched. It was just delightful to sit outside on a beautiful porch, not be rushed and enjoy an excellent meal!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant also viewed

Cape May, Jersey Shore
 
Cape May, Jersey Shore
 

Been to The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.