We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely anniversary weekend at the Blue Rose Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant
Save
You added The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant to your Saves list
653 Washington St, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 47 Cape May B&B and Inns
Cherry Hill
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely anniversary weekend at the Blue Rose Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the second time my wife and I have stayed at the Blue Rose Inn and we were not disappointed. The Inn is lovely but Justin makes it even more spectacular. We stayed in the Bronze room and it was very nice. I loved the bathroom and especially the tub. Our last visit we did not dine at the restaurant but this time we had dinner on Saturday night to celebrate our anniversary and it was a great meal. I would highly recommend the restaurant. We also really enjoyed our breakfast each day.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    6
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
45
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flemington, New Jersey
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went to the Blue Rose for dinner only, thought it is also a B&B. The Blue Rose is a lovely old Victorian Inn. The dining area reflects the time period nicely without feeling old or outdated, and they have used the Blue theme very well. Food is interesting and original, we very much enjoyed our visit. I had the gnocchi for appetizer, which are made in a unique way and very tasty. I had the scallops for my entree and they were also very good. I would recommend the Blue Rose if you want a quiet and/or romantic dinner with food that compliments the atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014

Returning to The Blue Rose once again was like coming home. The atmosphere is inviting and the owners are delightful. They make you feel like one of the family. The Inn itself was beautifully decorated for Christmas and there were many improvements since our last visit. Not that this place needs ANY improvement. It is the best place to stay in Cape May! The breakfast is served from a menu and all the offerings are 5 star. The restaurant for dinner is top notch. The food is the best I have tasted anywhere. I have eaten in 5 star restaurants and the food here is 6 stars!!
Have a special occasion coming up? This is the place to go for diner for that experience that will never be forgotten. Want to get away for a relaxing weekend? The Blue Rose will change your outlook on life if for nothing more than a few days. Life is short. Have some fun. The Blue Rose is the diversion the doctor ordered! And when you go say hello to Justin. Way to go,Justin!!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

We dine in Cape May all the time as we live locally. Our friends booked dinner at The Blue Rose. I said, "where?" Well, it is on my radar now. We are blessed with great restaurants in Cape May. The Blue Rose is certainly one of them.

We had a great evening. We sat on the porch. A lovely and cozy seating. Service was outstanding. Food was served promptly, but not rushed. The server reminded us that "everything is scratch made". That is usually code for "it may take a while" but not this time. This time it was code for "really fresh and great".

The menu is a nice combination of inventive meets comfy. We had a difficult time choosing but happily settled for duck confit ravioli, calamari salad, coffee crusted teres major and braised short ribs. Dessert? Homemade doughnuts, of course. Everything was perfect and the plates were sent back to the kitchen clean enough to reuse.

Highly recommended.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I went to dinner here after some Christmas shopping and strolling the shops. We went around 5:00 on a Saturday night the 13th. We did not have a reservation but were seated right away. Nice old Bed and Breakfast Inn with a lot of history. Our waiter had a great personality and gave us great suggestions for apps and dinners. We started off with the calamari. It was really good! My wife got the scallops and I got the hanger steak with chimochori sauce. Very tasty! We split the homemade hot donuts for dessert. It was a great dining experience and we will definitely be returning next time we go to Cape May.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Blue Rose Inn and Restaurant this past weekend. It was lovely! Great accommodations, terrific location, friendly and helpful staff. We did not get a chance to try the restaurant for dinner but breakfast was top notch both mornings. Excellent weekend getaway in a prime location!! Thanks for a great weekend away!!

Room Tip: We had the blue room. Third floor in the back of the inn (no elevator but the steps were not bad at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Great stay and 3 great meals! Justin is the man! Upon arrival, there was a room mix-up; however, Justin resolved it in 5 minutes. After the 1st night, we found the bed a bit too firm. Once again, within a few minutes Justin offered us a new room with a less firm bed. Customer service was great! Justin really made us feel welcome. The food was also great. We ate 2 breakfasts and 1 dinner. All were great! I eat out all the time and over the country and the food here is top notch! Can't wait to come back next summer!! Lovely little gem in Cape May!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant

Address: 653 Washington St, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant is a newly renovated B&B and fine dining establishment in the beautiful Victorian city of Cape May, NJ. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.