We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back Home Again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant
Save
You added The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant to your Saves list
653 Washington St, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 49 Cape May B&B and Inns
South Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Back Home Again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Returning to The Blue Rose once again was like coming home. The atmosphere is inviting and the owners are delightful. They make you feel like one of the family. The Inn itself was beautifully decorated for Christmas and there were many improvements since our last visit. Not that this place needs ANY improvement. It is the best place to stay in Cape May! The breakfast is served from a menu and all the offerings are 5 star. The restaurant for dinner is top notch. The food is the best I have tasted anywhere. I have eaten in 5 star restaurants and the food here is 6 stars!!
Have a special occasion coming up? This is the place to go for diner for that experience that will never be forgotten. Want to get away for a relaxing weekend? The Blue Rose will change your outlook on life if for nothing more than a few days. Life is short. Have some fun. The Blue Rose is the diversion the doctor ordered! And when you go say hello to Justin. Way to go,Justin!!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    5
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
43
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape May, New Jersey
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We dine in Cape May all the time as we live locally. Our friends booked dinner at The Blue Rose. I said, "where?" Well, it is on my radar now. We are blessed with great restaurants in Cape May. The Blue Rose is certainly one of them.

We had a great evening. We sat on the porch. A lovely and cozy seating. Service was outstanding. Food was served promptly, but not rushed. The server reminded us that "everything is scratch made". That is usually code for "it may take a while" but not this time. This time it was code for "really fresh and great".

The menu is a nice combination of inventive meets comfy. We had a difficult time choosing but happily settled for duck confit ravioli, calamari salad, coffee crusted teres major and braised short ribs. Dessert? Homemade doughnuts, of course. Everything was perfect and the plates were sent back to the kitchen clean enough to reuse.

Highly recommended.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I went to dinner here after some Christmas shopping and strolling the shops. We went around 5:00 on a Saturday night the 13th. We did not have a reservation but were seated right away. Nice old Bed and Breakfast Inn with a lot of history. Our waiter had a great personality and gave us great suggestions for apps and dinners. We started off with the calamari. It was really good! My wife got the scallops and I got the hanger steak with chimochori sauce. Very tasty! We split the homemade hot donuts for dessert. It was a great dining experience and we will definitely be returning next time we go to Cape May.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Blue Rose Inn and Restaurant this past weekend. It was lovely! Great accommodations, terrific location, friendly and helpful staff. We did not get a chance to try the restaurant for dinner but breakfast was top notch both mornings. Excellent weekend getaway in a prime location!! Thanks for a great weekend away!!

Room Tip: We had the blue room. Third floor in the back of the inn (no elevator but the steps were not bad at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Great stay and 3 great meals! Justin is the man! Upon arrival, there was a room mix-up; however, Justin resolved it in 5 minutes. After the 1st night, we found the bed a bit too firm. Once again, within a few minutes Justin offered us a new room with a less firm bed. Customer service was great! Justin really made us feel welcome. The food was also great. We ate 2 breakfasts and 1 dinner. All were great! I eat out all the time and over the country and the food here is top notch! Can't wait to come back next summer!! Lovely little gem in Cape May!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

You are family when you enter here; you are treated like you were born into the family that runs this antique\museum like place here that is gorgeous gem. We have stayed here three different times now and came for our 41st wedding anniversary this time. The Inn is in the heart of everything right next to the walking mall, three blocks from the beach and within walking distance of everything in center city. Therefore parking is at a premium in the busy downtown area. Parking is on the street for everybody and everything in this area. Being that Victorian homes were built when there were without driveways or cars, they normally don’t have parking. The rooms here are immaculate, clean well taken care of and just like they were at the turn of the century. Beds are very soft; thread count on the sheets is very high (800 to 1,000 I believe) and smooth to sleep on and the silky smooth sheets and pillows make everything very comfortable for lodgers. All amenities are available and the unique separate hot and cold faucets in the sinks add to the feeling of another time. With each room comes with a full bathroom, TV, hair dryers, etc. The biggest perk is a free gourmet breakfast at the five star restaurant they have inside the Inn, no communal eating at a co-joined table like many other accommodations. The food there is I think the best available in South Jersey, and it’s free, think about that. Just the breakfast alone makes it worth the stay here for me. The inside is like a museum with the well taken care of original woodwork, railings, floors, and many antiques you will find throughout the Inn. There are original gaslight appliances sticking out of many walls and the one outside our room still has the glass bowl around the gas jet, incredible to see these in this condition (Pictures included). The latticework on the building along with the multiple colors makes this a sight worth seeing in person to remind you of another era in time. There is a church nearby next door that has bells\chimes that play a lengthy tune each evening at 6:00 PM to often serenade you during your meal. There are yummy afternoon treats and tea\coffee for all lodgers around 2:00 PM to 3:00 PM each day. We had doughnuts, chocolate cake, ice cream, and other snacks along with teas of all kinds, coffee and other surprise items while we were there, again, it’s all free. Their chefs Mike and Angela Keating where featured this summer on the cover of “Hitzel’s Restaurant Magazine” along with a nice article about “The Blue Rose Inn and Restaurant“. All meals including your breakfasts are made from scratch as it is a fine dining gourmet restaurant, a big perk with your stay. There is French press coffee provided along with your meals here, a real treat for foodies alike. Justin the Innkeeper and Joan your Host and sometimes Tom and\or Courtney will make you feel comfortable and at home and will provide for your every need. You will feel like family here and they will guide you through your stay by providing for your needs, solving your problems, answering your questions, and supplying whatever you might require. They all are excellent at giving tour guide like tips on what to do and where to go. The Inn has special deals for free wine tours at Hawk Haven Winery, tie-ins for shows at the East Lynn Theater Company and other specials. In summer they provide beach badges, umbrellas, towels, bicycles, and an outdoor shower when you return among other things, again, it’s all free. You will find the entire staff family friendly, competent, professional and knowledgeable for your every request. I highly recommend you try the perfectly located Blue Rose Inn and Restaurant that is in the middle of all the action next time you stay at “The Cape”. For us, there is no other place we would stay.

Room Tip: We always stay in the Green Room, but they are all beautiful, have full bathrooms, clean and have al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wytheville, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014 via mobile

BEWARE- The Inn has no designated parking for guests. You just drive around block after block hoping to find somewhere to park. Breakfast was great, but having an open restaurant on premise was not ideal. Between the restaurant and the wedding they hosted during our stay we felt we were in the way. Justin is a great host but is expected to do too much. If you are wanting a bed and breakfast that caters to their guests this is not it.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant

Address: 653 Washington St, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant is a newly renovated B&B and fine dining establishment in the beautiful Victorian city of Cape May, NJ. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.