We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for new families!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant
653 Washington St, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 49 Cape May B&B and Inns
Red Bank, New Jersey
1 review
“Perfect for new families!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I are the proud parents of a one-year-old. We were a little nervous to take our first family vacation with our daughter. Thankfully, we choose an extended weekend stay at the Blue Rose Inn. From the moment we checked in, the courteous staff went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable and all of our needs were met. They even noticed our parking meter was running out and added quarters to it to save us a ticket!

I haven’t been to Cape May in years. We just fell in love with the town. The houses are straight out of a fair tale. The Blue Rose Inn is blocks away from the beach and right up the road from the center of the historical district. You couldn’t ask for a better location.

The best part of our stay was the restaurant. It is an ideal set-up for a new family. We brought the baby monitor. Once our daughter had fallen asleep in our room, we were able to sneak downstairs with the monitor and have a romantic adult dinner alone without having to hire a sitter! This would have been a wonderful experience even if the food had been average. The fact that the food was amazing made the experience extraordinary. The scallops are out-of-this-world!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    4
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
32
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wildwood
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and my husband had a dinner at the Blue Rose Inn for the first time tonight. It was amazing! We loved everything. We had an early seating menu, which had a really nice selection of appetizers, entrees and desserts. Crispy Rhode Island Calamari were the best. I would go back just for Calamari. Our server Larisa was very attentive. We enjoyed every bite of our meals. Great place!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I expected to enjoy the restaurant based on other reviews, and not be wowed by the Inn. But I have to say, the Inn was outstanding. It is a great location - on Washignton Street but enough away from the Mall so it is quiet, and about 3-4 blocks to the beach. Breakfasts were outstanding, and in a lovely setting on the porch. And the staff was exceedingly helpful, knowledgeable and friendly. The restaurant would get 4 stars - it was very good - but the Inn far surpased my expectations.

Room Tip: We picked the top floor to be quiet, but all the rooms seemed nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for 3 nights for the 4th of July weekend. Good for couples. Prompt, professional, carefully attentive service. Clean, comfortable, good-sized room with nice AC unit. 5 minute walk from the beach, with complimentary beach chairs and beach passes for guests to use. Given the fine-dining restaurant downstairs, the breakfast at this B&B is superb. Chef went out of his way to accommodate vegans (us) for dinner and breakfast, as well. Not a single complaint about The Blue Rose - it exceeded expectations. Would definitely come back next trip to Cape May.

Thanks for everything,
Alex & Meghan

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Cape May is a very beachy and laid back place. With that being said I never expected an outstandingly, elegant, and romantic evening of fine dining with my bf. He looked up the best places on TripAdvisor and we took a chance here. It was BYOB, which was nice both on the bill and I happened to have a bottle of champagne to celebrate the 4th of July with my love. They service was perfectly paced, warm, welcoming, and friendly. They food was delectable. Next time we come to Cape May we will be sure to stop by here again for dinner!!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

wonderful, wonderful, wonderful! The place is just totally charming and everything you expect from a Cape May Inn. The great surprise--the food was fantastic! The service was above average, with out being over bearing in any way. It was a cool, breezy night and the windows were open giving a wonderful beach feel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Had a wonderful meal here this morning, sitting on the outdoor porch in the sunshine. Little chilly but overall perfect morning. Hubby had crab cake, pork belly, and short rib trio sliders, fabulous! Eggs Benedict done perfectly and though would've liked a little more hollandaise sauce, delicious. Service was exceptional, our waiter Justin very attentive. Overall a very good experience would go back !

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant

Address: 653 Washington St, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant is a newly renovated B&B and fine dining establishment in the beautiful Victorian city of Cape May, NJ. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant to your Saves list