We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Find in Cape May, NJ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Y.B.

The Y.B.
314 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204
609-898-2009
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 108 Restaurants in Cape May
Price range: $2 - $19
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Located on the Beachfront Between Perry and Jackson Street
Collingswood, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Find in Cape May, NJ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

On Saturday night, we decided to try Y.B. Eat Place again. We've had good meals there before. I have to say this was truly an outstanding meal. Started with swordfish tacos as an appetizer - this very tasty app comes with guacamole. The tacos were crunchy and the swordfish was very flavorful. I could make a meal out of these alone. The entree was strips of flank steak that came with duck fat fries with Swiss cheese. The dish was topped with a salsa of diced cucumbers, tomatoes and fresh herbs. The flank steak was tender and delicious. The duck fat fries were pure heaven especially if you ask for a side of dijon mustard in which to dip them. My dining companion enjoyed the sesame crusted tuna which was cooked to perfection. It is so amazing how such a small kitchen, which is visible to diners, can turn out item after item of exceptionally well prepared food. Our waiter, Brandon, was very attentive and professional, anticipating our need for additional water etc. The restaurant is a BYOB and we enjoyed a very nice Ventoux which went well with the steak.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    52
    16
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cape May Beach
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Disappointed.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We like George's so decided to give his brother's restaurant a try. The set up was cute, although the chairs are somewhat uncomfortable. The wait staff were pleasant and efficient. We suspected they might not take CC but had to ask. Since many tourists come to town, they should put that on the menu, so people don't have to scramble at the last minute to find cash. Of course the BYOB aspect is nice. The menu was interesting and we were excited, but all of the food was a disappointment. The jalapeño poppers were huge (baseball size) globs of tasteless macaroni and filler deep fried. The topping consisted of salty cooked tomatoes and oddly tasteless jalapeño slices and some cheese. Definitely not worth the calories. The crab cakes were also huge, deep fried balls. There was crab in them, despite a lot of filler, but it tasted "off." The pork chops were so salty, I wonder if they were brined. They also had an odd texture - didn't taste like fresh meat. We often try a restaurant a second time, in case it was an off night, but I can see from other reviews this is probably typical.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
2 reviews
“Low key place with excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

A nice, low key place with reasonably priced dishes and excellent food. We will definitely come back here on our next visit to Cape May.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
1 review
“Out of this world Cod!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The food was FABULOUS!!!!! This place is one of Cape May's hidden gems! Go eat there today! You wont be disappointed!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, lousy service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Sunday morning. In dire need of coffee and food after a hard Saturday night attending a friend's wedding. We couldn't get in to George's in less than a 45 minute wait, so decided on y.b. First.... The place is cute, small, and amazingly clean. Solid menu offering pretty much what you would expect for breakfast; Benedicts, good looking pancakes, excellent cup a Joe, etc. Four of us very much enjoyed our meals, which we considered to be a good value overall.

Now....about the service....maybe we hit an off morning. Then again, maybe not, and I for one don't return to a restaurant if the service stinks no matter how good the food is. There was one server present which was fine as there was not a big crowd. No hello, no welcome, in fact no exchange AT ALL. No offer for a cup of coffee and believe me, there was no mistaking that this crowd needed coffee. No checking back just to see if everything was OK. And absolutely no thank you when delivering or accepting payment for the check. I didn't realize y.b. doesn't take a credit/debit card, and when attempting to pay i got a "look" and two words. "Cash only".

Frankly there are too many really good choices in the area where proprietors are actually happy to have end-of-summer guests that want to part with their money in their establishment. Next time, we'll find one of those.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Y.B. also viewed

Cape May, Jersey Shore
 
Cape May, Jersey Shore
 

Been to The Y.B.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Y.B., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.