We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Time with Man's Best Friend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Rusty Nail

The Rusty Nail
205 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204 (Formerly Rusty Nail Bar & Grill)
609-884-0220
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #83 of 108 Restaurants in Cape May
Cuisines: American, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night
Reading, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Time with Man's Best Friend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My pup and I had a great time on the outdoor "beach" patio - good food and beverages, including Doggie Beer. Fun place, nice people.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    82
    54
    20
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
long island
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Eats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Fried shrimp was very surprising VERY GOOD! & So was everything else. Even the waitress was very nice. Prices were just right . There is nothing I can say bad about it . Even the atmosphere was nice :)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherford, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Restricted to Inside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I visit this restaurant a few times each Summer. This last time, we were not allowed to sit outside because we only had three people in our party. We were told that outside seating was for five or more. While disappointed, I still enjoyed the food and will definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“disappointing food and way overpriced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband, son and I ate at the Rusty Nail last night and were extremely disappointed with the quality of the food. We shared one appetizer and each had one entree. One glass of wine, 2 soft drinks and one coffee. The meal cost over $200. Now we love good food, and this wouldn't have been a problem if the meals were worth it. They were not. Far from it. In fact, the food was barely edible. My husband's flounder was overcooked and not seasoned at all. My son's steamed clams were tough and not seasoned at all. My seafood combo was likewise mauled. None of the food had any flavoring, any finesse, and was slapped together with no thought. All for outrageous prices. My husband, a coffee lover, was given a cool cup of coffee at the end of the meal. When he said he needed a very hot cup of coffee, we waited another 10 minutes, and he was given another barely lukewarm cup of coffee. When we're spending over $200 on a bad meal, please make a new hot pot of coffee and do now give your customer a second old, cool, clearly leftover cup. Come on! It was horrible. The night before, we had a wonderful, well prepared, flavorful dinner at the Blue Pig, owned by the same group. Why don't they even try at the Rusty Nail? All the Rusty Nail has going for it is the location and cool vibe. Great for a drink. Go elsewhere for food. We left hungry and felt like we threw away our money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Gross greasy food and terrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We have been to the Rusty Nail before and found it to be a decent place for a quick lunch. I don't know what happened this year. Our waitress completely forgot that we ordered fries instead of chips and didn't come over once to check on us. My daughter's hamburger was greasy and looked like a hockey puck. My fish tacos were disgusting: a couple of pieces of mystery fish that stunk to high heaven and were served with a pile of lettuce and had no seasoning at all. The t.v. was so loud outside that people had to yell across the table just to be heard. The bus station was about one foot from our table so we got treated to the sight of employees dumping leftovers in the trash just a stone's throw from our table. It was disgusting and overpriced-- would never go back.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rusty Nail also viewed

 

Been to The Rusty Nail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rusty Nail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.