We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really -It's A 4.5” 4 of 5 stars
Review of George's Place

George's Place
301 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204
(609) 884-6088
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 95 Restaurants in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Marlboro, New York
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Really -It's A 4.5”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

There's no option to give a fractional score, so I gave a 4, but it's nearly a 5. You'll like George's if you like authentic Greek food, but don't require fancy surroundings. They keep the number of offerings on the menu to a fairly small number, which makes them very good at getting them right. We had the saganaki, spanikopita, bronzino, and rib eye. The entrees came with salad and eggplant orzo. Overall, we were very pleased. The fish was prepared just right, the salads were large. They fire the saganaki (to shouts of OPA!) just before bringing it to the table. The spanikopita could have had bit more feta, but was very good antway. The only issues we had were that the rib eye had a little more fat than I like, and the saganaki wasn't melted as much as it should be. I think they use a different cheese than the type used in Greece. But everything tasted fine and the service was excellent. Our server Colleen was cute as a button and super efficient. The prices are very reasonable and the portions are generous. It is a bit hard to hear in the restaurant when it's busy, owing to the narrow space. And it's certainly not fancy or new. But for good Greek food at a reasonable price, it's a great choice. The restaurant is BYOB.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    127
    38
    22
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We have attempted to eat at George's before and could not get a table. Today was our lucky day!! The food was delicious, fresh, large portions and reasonable prices. Can't wait to go back next year. It was worth all the traffic getting over the bridge. Highly recommend this place. Oh and cash only

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Love Greek food at George's!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This is one of our favorite places to eat in Cape May. Sure it's busy, but it's worth the wait! We love and crave the feta fourno appetizer. The warm feta pairs perfectly with panchetta, eggplant, olives, and a fried egg on top. Served with warm pita wedges, it is one of the best dishes I ever ate. I look forward to this dish every time we visit Cape May!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

First try here and had breakfast. It was outstanding and can't wait to go back. Had the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon. My daughter had the limoncello french toast. Both very good.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sassy Waitresses, But Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My family and I decided to eat at George's Place in Cape May and the food was delicious and when we walked in we were seated right away. I would have rated this restaurant a 5/5, but our waitress stormed up to another waitress, grabbed what she was working on and stomped away, then came back to the waitress, yelling at her. Our waitress yelled at her and was being sassy. Get this, our waitress wasn't even a boss or a manager so she had no business scolding the other waitress. They both had the same job rank. The manager was right there too, but he didn't do anything to stop them from having a fight in front of everyone in the restaurant. Also, our waitress was rushing around, making our meal uncomfortable and rushed, especially since she acted like she was in charge. Anyways, with good food, this place was a 4/5.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George's Place also viewed

Cape May, Jersey Shore
 

Been to George's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.