We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Merion Inn

The Merion Inn
106 Decatur St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1415
609-884-8363
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 95 Restaurants in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Harleysville, PA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Always good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

There is usually a wait to get in, and I never have a reservation, but luckily there is a very nice bar with a piano player and the time flies. Food is delicious, my favorite is the chicken francaise (great sauce) and the merion potato puff. I don't like to eat in the piano room as it could make conversation a bit tough, but all the other areas are great. Excellent staff, we hadn't even noticed our food was taking a longer time than usual to come out, and they asked us if they could bring is a drink on the house.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    104
    45
    29
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Our inn keeper didn't lie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

At the advice of our innkeeper at Stockton inns we made last minute reservations and were told we would have to sit out on the enclosed and air conditioned patio which was nice and cool on this heat wave of an evening, we could hear the piano music playing good enough. My husbands chair was directly behind the door to the patio and thankfully he did not get bumped . He ordered the New York strip and regular crab cake with mixed vegetables and potato cup, he said is is one of the best steaks he's ever ate in his life, ordered it medium well it came out well done and juicy. I had the crab cake duo (one of each kind) with cole slaw and potato cup they were delicious but I did have to send the Marion crab cake back because it came out cold even though the outside crumbs were brown, the coleslaw was so good I ordered an extra. My husband said he will definitely come back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“July 4th dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had 7pm reservations which allowed time to enjoy the 9:30 fireworks just around the block.
Our food was excellent, especially the fried chesapeake oysters, the deviled crab bites and the
ginger soy glazed salmon. If you can't agree on a bottle of wine, there's a mini-carafe for only$10.
Piano music is a lovely feature to an already lovely restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadds Ford PA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Merion - good fish - romantic setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We like the old fashioned setting...delicious fresh fish...good service. The restaurant is centrally located with nightly entertainment.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Classic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Been there over 10 times and like to get there early because the bar atmosphere is the best in the area. The bartenders are real pro's and provide a Main Line-ish atmosphere. Best gin martini in Cape May (stirred, not shaken, per the original James Bond, not vodka for me though). Piano player just off the bar is nice. The food is good but they tend to go heavy on anything with cheese that we have ordered, so be careful if that's not your favorite. Usually the food is as expected from a higher end restaurant, but sometimes, just sometimes it's a miss. But that doesn't stop us from going back because all-in-all, it's a great place and atmosphere for a night out. Prices are in-line for Cape May. Give it a try, have a drink and enjoy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Merion Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Merion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Merion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.