We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, unwelcoming hosts” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Godmothers Restaurant

Godmothers Restaurant
413 S Broadway, Cape May, NJ 08204-5344
609-884-4543
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 108 Restaurants in Cape May
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Galloway, New Jersey
1 review
“Good food, unwelcoming hosts”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

I made a reservations and we arrived on time for it. Instead of seating us in the main dining area, the host took us through several rooms to a hideaway place where there was a family with a baby and two toddlers. Once the baby started crying and banging on the table, we asked to be moved; after a little while we were moved, but our experience was clouded by this strange initial choice for seating.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    36
    20
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennington, nj
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't Bother!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

When prices are high there needs to be a reason for going to a restaurant. Either the food is fabulous, the portions are generous, the atmosphere blows you away or the service is excellent, hopefully three of the four if not all four.

Godmothers failed on all four fronts:

Service was terrible

Food was blah - avoid if you are Italian or have an appreciation for decent Italian cuisine.

Portions were wanting and

Atmosphere was mediocre.

The best thing I could say is that last minute reservations were easy ( no wonder ) and the water attendant was very diligent.

I will never go back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A place we trust”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

This BYOB restaurant a few blocks from the Sea Crest Motel has become our go-to first night dinner place in Cape May. We sometimes call from the road to make sure we get a table, check in at Sea Crest, wash up and walk up the street for a meal we know will be good. Have had quite a few 'first nights' over the years and have never been disappointed in the food, service or ambience. On our most recent visit, we were surrounded by a diverse mix of young, elderly and international travelers, all of whom seemed to be as happy to be there as we were!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicioso!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I've been to Cape May many times and was looking for a different place to eat. Upon a friend's recommendation, I made reservations at Godmothers. It was just as my friend said-homemade!
Being Italian American, I'm particular about Italian restaurants. Everything from the appetizer to dessert was very good. My complaint is there are too many tables in a small place and you are forced to hear other conversations.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

It was easy to get same day reservations. The food was perfectly prepared, take this from an Italian who is very picky eating at Italian restaurants. The staff were friendly and accommodating. A short drive from the motel and lots of street parking around restaurant. Would definitely eat here again.
Pricing very reasonable. BYOB.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Godmothers Restaurant also viewed

Cape May, Jersey Shore
Cape May, Jersey Shore
 
West Cape May, Jersey Shore
Cape May, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Godmothers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Godmothers Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.