We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once Again a Great Meal!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aleathea's Restaurant

Aleathea's Restaurant
7 Ocean Street, Cape May, NJ 08204-2411
609-884-5555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 108 Restaurants in Cape May
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Rowz1
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Once Again a Great Meal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We met some friends here for dinner, and were fortunate enough to get "First Seating". That special included a glass of wine, soup or salad, entree, and desert. The prices are reasonable, service was great, and the food was excellent.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    67
    26
    5
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“The BEST dog friendly restaurant ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We visit Cape May often and bring our "kidz". Aleathea's was recommended to us by Highland House, our favorite pet friendly B&B and we loved it!!! Our two little ones were treated like royalty. The waitress was amazing and paid so much attention to us and more importantly to our little dogs. They started with an ice cold cocktail of fresh water and ice followed by steak and chicken. It was simply an amazing experience!!! We thank you from our best friends :-)

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildwood, Nj
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Friendly service, innovative menu!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Had a terrific meal at Aleathea's last night. Server was very helpful and attentive and did explain that many of the entrees come in two sizes, so great for smaller appetites. Nice wine list and beautiful setting right along the beachfront in Cape May. We will be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“One word...."incredible"!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

So, I was in my favorite place this past weekend - for those of you who regularly read my reviews - you know it's Cape May! Wanting to try somewhere different for dinner, my bestie and I decided on Aleatha's, which is part of the "Inn of Cape May". I called to make a 5:15 reservation for the "First Seating" based on some recommendations from the locals. From the moment we walked in to the moment we walked out, it was a fantastic experience! Another suggestion was to try and get a table at the window for the fantastic ocean views (why not?) - sheer beauty! Our server was so nice - genuinely nice - the kind of nice where someone is not doing it just to get a tip out of you.... although we had a choice of the regular menu or the "first seating" menu, we decided to go with the latter. You're given the choice of either a glass of wine or tomato juice to start....we chose the Zinfandel a nice amount, by the way!), we each ordered an appetizer consisting of warm Brie, raspberry compote and a crustini - sheer joy!! They do serve you sundried tomato bread, along with a little dish of roasted garlic cloves. The idea is to add some of the olive oil at the table to the cloves and mash it up for your bread! I like garlic, but that was a little heavy for me... Our main course was the crab cake - I'm simple when it comes to seafood and the description made it sound like heaven and indeed, it was! A nice size lump crab cake, broiled and served over a bed of sautee'd spinach and mash potatoes....the real star of this dish? The roasted red pepper coulis. Once you try this, you will never, ever want regular old cocktail sauce again!! Dessert was included and I chose the cheesecake - a nice size piece that was not to heavy. All in all, a great view, a fantastic meal and a wonderful server all wrapped up in one marvelous restaurant! I can't wait to go back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great mothers day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

I took my mom here for mothers day brunch, it was excellent!! The buffet brunch was delicious with a great selection. We even got a small gift at the end of our meal. If we lived closer I would go again this year.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aleathea's Restaurant also viewed

Cape May, Jersey Shore
 
Cape May, Jersey Shore
Cape May, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Aleathea's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aleathea's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.