We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mad Batter Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mad Batter Restaurant & Bar

The Mad Batter Restaurant & Bar
19 Jackson St, Carroll Villa, Cape May, NJ 08204 (Formerly Mad Batter at the Carroll Villa)
609-884-5970
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Mad Batter Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 95 Restaurants in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Lafayette Street
Description: A Cape May tradition for over 30 years! The nationally acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant is located at the Carroll Villa Hotel in the heart of the historic district. Breakfast, lunch, dinner, desserts and cocktails are served on the European-style front porch, garden terrace, and sky-lit dining room. Breakfast offerings include fresh squeezed juices, homemade fruit breads, and entrees such as crab benedict, oatmeal pancakes, or orange & almond french toast. Lunch entrees include the Maryland crab cake sandwich, fish & chips, and Waldorf chicken, as well as an assortment of salads. Dinner options are always inventive and the seafood is extraordinary. Entrees include award-winning jumbo lump crab cakes, juicy steaks, chicken and fresh fish specials daily. A sumptuous selection of desserts is made daily. The Mad Batter Bar features Happy Hour, eight beers on tap, a reasonably priced wine list, and a martini list sure to please. Live music and special events are planned throughout the year.
Marlboro, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Mad Batter Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We ate at the Mad Batter for lunch. The menu is for everyone, they had vegetarian, gluten free and regular items on the menu. That was so nice to see for a change. All the food was delicious and they also have local beer on tap. Great place to eat for everyone.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    509
    305
    151
    47
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
DC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good place for breakfast. A bit over-priced. Mediocre service. ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I have tried 3 different places at Cape May for breakfast and this restaurant had the best quality. The OJ on the other hand tasted diluted which was disappointing considering I have to pay $8.00 for it. The back of the restaurant has the courtyard view which is more nicer than the front of the restaurant. My host just insisted to sit us in the front porch under an loud AC unit which does not make sense. Overall, it was OK.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Manager at The Mad Batter Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Hello DCKing!

Thanks for your recent visit with us! We appreciate the complement of having the best quality food in Cape May! We always use the freshest ingredients and would never dilute any of our fresh squeeze juices. Our orange juice ranges in price from 3 for a small and 6 for large 16oz glass and boy is it tasty!

We apologize that you didn't care for your table and wish you would have allowed us to move you to a different table so your dining experience would have been a more comfortable one!

We hope you have a great holiday and that you stop in to see us next time you’re in Cape May!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latrobe
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“High quality food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

A great place to go for breakfast. The best french toast in town. Location is convenient to all things in town. Grape jelly would be nice as not everyone likes orange marmalade.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hauppauge, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The Mad Batter is a wonderful breakfast spot in Cape May. The decor is creative, in the Alice in Wonderland motif. The omelettes and Eggs Benedict with fresh crab were a creative spin melding fresh seafood into traditional breakfast selections. The portions were generous, hot and we did not wait long to be served. Even the coffee was excellent with an aromatic harvest flavor. Everyone in our party raved about their meal and we will recommend and enjoy breakfast/brunch at The Mad Batter every time we return to Cape May.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“One Good, One Bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We had dinner here twice this past season. In July we had a very good experience with a large group seated in the back area (a converted patio or porch). The service was a tad slow, but that's expected with a large group. All of our dishes were good. (Note: they do not do seperate checks). In September my wife and I sat at the bar. Her crab cake dinner ($32) was good. My fish sandwich ($13) was lousy. I've had better at fast food chains. If you're going to put it on the menu, then at least make an effort to provide some quality.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mad Batter Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Cape May, Jersey Shore
 

Been to The Mad Batter Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mad Batter Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.