We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bon Apetit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Union Park Dining Room

Union Park Dining Room
727 Beach Ave, Hotel Macomber, Cape May, NJ 08204
(609) 884-8811
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Union Park Dining Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 95 Restaurants in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Howard Street
Transit: n/a
Description: Across from the ocean, this elegant dining room serves classic American food with a special touch. Union Park Dining Room received New Jersey Monthly Magazine's 2005 thru 2011 Critics Choice Award as one of the best restaurants in New Jersey. Working his magic behind the scenes, chef John Schatz has overseen the kitchens of some sophisticated eateries in the Philadelphia/South Jersey area, including the former Maureen's in Cape May. The large, spacious dining rooms with their fireplaces, cherry & mahogany furniture & antique fixtures are romance personified. Settle in for a memorable meal. Private dining rooms available from 8 to 42 guests. Banquet Facilities: Located in the historic Hotel Macomber, union park dining room is available for both casual & elegant parties, receptions, special occasion dinners or complete weddings. Our facility can host groups up to 130 people, depending on the type of reception you desire.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bon Apetit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Loved everything about it. The atmosphere, upscale dining, great service, fantastic meal and mighty fine dessert.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    61
    33
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wayne, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Union Park Dining Room, Cape May”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Went there with my wife, saw reviews that said it was a must. Wasn't disappointed but wasn't wowed either. Food was good, although very overpriced. Its a BYOB so a check for $140 was a bit over the top. it was OK, but I wouldn't go out of my way to go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious and elegantly unpretentious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Every summer our large group dines here and we have never had less than an outstanding meal. An elegant, comfortable elegant dining room - without any pretention. Wait staff is knowlegable and friendly. The food is amazing. Duck and hangar steak are wonderful! If you like oysters the Cape May salts are very good. A little pricey, but offset by the BYO policy and the feeling that you have had a leisurely, special evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Dining In Cape May”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

One of our 2 favorite restaurants in Cape May. The decor and atmosphere are a cut above most of the more casual spots in town, yet not pretentious. Our party of 6 had a variety of entrees and everyone was pleased. Both times we've dined here the wait staff has been very professional and accommodating. Being a BYOB restaurant also enables us to enjoy our favorite wines. Strongly recommend Union Park for an excellent dining experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Could not have been better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We were new to the area and planning a rehearsal dinner for 40 people. The staff could not have been more accommodating. Best of all, the service was fabulous and everyone enjoyed their food. We were able to give our guests 3 choices of appetizer and main course, and all were delivered in a timely manner. I can highly recommend the salmon + short ribs!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Park Dining Room also viewed

 
Cape May, Jersey Shore
Cape May, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Union Park Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Union Park Dining Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.