We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good in a pinch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Louie's Pizza

Louie's Pizza
711 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2405
609-884-0305
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 108 Restaurants in Cape May
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
NE NJ
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good in a pinch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We got a few pepperoni slices here and they were ok...a little too much cheese for my taste, but others may find it ok. The main virtue of this place is that they are open late. We usually get to Cape May fairly late in the evening and going here for a quick bite is pretty much the only option. I've definitely had better pizza, but the convenience factor is a plus.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    27
    18
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nice location, tourist trap though, filthy place, overpriced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The location is the only saving grace for this place. I paid 19 for two plain, garlic knots and two sodas. The guy who rang it up said that was the price. Very expensive for what you get. The pizza was very average, not great by any means. The place was filfthy and no one was cleaning off any tables so you had to clear it on your own if you wanted to sit. The restroom was worse than any gas station I have ever seen. Didnt use it walked across the street to the beach restrooms that were much cleaner. Not a good impression. This place is catered towards grabbing quick money from the tourist with out a care for the food or customer. I cant believe they are still in business.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Place needs cleaning and upkeep.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The Pizzas are massive, borderline deep dish style, and served piping hot. They were ok; very thick crusted and very heavy on the cheese. One large pizza is enough to feed five people. Also, this place does very high volume business, so it is popular here in Cape May. We had three large pizzas for our group of 10, resulting in a lot of leftovers. The veggie pizza was heavy on the garlic and drowned in cheese. A pizza with black olives was actually pretty good.

Cleanliness alert! Guys who run this place: the bathroom door is in need of a major paint job. It was filthy..it would take you about thirty minutes tops to repaint it and is definitely worth the $20 of worthwhile investment. Also, the tables were wiped with a dubious towel that hasn't seen soap and hot water in quite a while. Observing the use of this towel to clean our table by the man working there elicited a definite "eeeww" feeling by all at our table. The window sills where we sat needed a good scrubbing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Louie's Pizza”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The pizza was delicious. Food was delivered to our table by a friendly, older gentleman who seems to take care of the outdoor guests.

The bathroom was absolutely filthy. More attention could be paid to that as well as to getting tables cleaned off as soon as possible. All tables could use umbrellas, as my husband experienced more of a seagull than he would have liked, if you know what I mean.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
“Bunch of Monkeys [--] a Football”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Service was terrible. We paid $2.25 for a drink from the fridge that is labeled as "Only $1!"
THEN we pay for 2 of those and 2 slices of pizza... $12 and some change. Then a bunch of morons behind the counter run around and we are given 1 slice... I wait a couple minutes and never get the 2nd slice. We ask about it and we are told he only charged us for 1. Soooo it's $12+ for 1 slice and 2 drinks!? WOW! Nooo, it's more like he didn't give us our other slice.
Well I'm hungry so I buy ANOTHER slice.
It heats up, he's holding it, looking around says "what are you waiting for?" I reply "My slice of pizza (I'm staring right at it mind you)." His reply, "This is your slice (while he continues to hold it shoulder height and I wait for his brain to process the command to his arm to hand me the slice).

Pizza was mediocre at best.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Louie's Pizza also viewed

Cape May, Jersey Shore
Cape May, Jersey Shore
 
Cape May, Jersey Shore
Cape May, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Louie's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Louie's Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.