We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunny side up!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Pig Tavern

The Blue Pig Tavern
200 Congress Place, Congress Hall, Cape May, NJ 08204 (Formerly Blue Pig Tavern)
609-884-8422
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Blue Pig Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #59 of 108 Restaurants in Cape May
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Perry Street
Description: The Blue Pig Tavern serves American cuisine-nostalgic, simple and fresh. Executive Chef Jeremy Einhorn has implemented a delicious farm-to-table menu featuring fresh produce, herbs and eggs from our very own Beach Plum Farm, located less than 2 miles from the restaurant! In the warmer months, dine on our wonderful, secluded patio. In the cooler months, cozy up to our magnificent dining room fireplace. The Blue Pig Tavern drives its name from a gambling parlor sited at Congress Hall in the mid 1800's. Earlier still, in the 1700s, Elias Hughes operated a tavern for whalers on this site. It was the first tavern in Cape May.
Corolla, North Carolina
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Sunny side up!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Fast breakfast, good service, on the lovely sun porch in beautiful Congress Hall. Guests dining in an interior dining room could enjoy a cozy fire. Special touch! Omelet was fine; not memorable. Kitchen should have left out the watermelon in the fresh fruit dish (pieces very unappealing). Potatoes good. Nice presentation of assorted jams and butter for toast. Loved the vintage serving pieces and the lovely linen "pig" napkins.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    177
    112
    61
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lemoyne, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of the best dinners we've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We walked around Washington Street Mall and checked out numerous menus. We stopped by Blue Pig and were told that we would need reservations. This was early in the afternoon and we made them for that Friday evening. Our waiter was very friendly and attentive. We ordered oysters for an appetizer. You could tell they were very fresh. Both of us ordered Monk Fish (a special). This was a fish that neither of us had tried before. It was described to us as tasting sweet like lobster. We both raved at how delicious this fish was as well as the wild mushroom risotto. We ate so slowly because we didn't want it to end. For dessert, I tried the caramel Crème Brule and he had chocolate cake. The ambiance was romantic, we sat near the fire place. I have told my family members to eat here. They will be visiting next weekend. PLEASE put the monk fish on your menu as a regular item! I would eat it every time I come into town! Thank you for a wonderful dining experience for our anniversary.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The Blue Pig gets a lot of hype and it's location in Congress Hall certainly helps. The decor and ambiance is nice. We were there off-season and it wasn't very crowded. The food was OK, but not great. I had swordfish which was fine, and actually the sides were better then the fish. My wife had crab cakes, and they were average at best. Not lump crab, and not much crab flavor. So very mixed, and considering how it's hyped I was was expecting more. Pretty pricey, but just OK overall. I would not recommend it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My wife and I had lunch at the blue pig tavern when in Cape May and were very pleasantly surprised. After reading some reviews, especially the ones with regards to slow service, our expectations were not high, well, not only were they met, they were exceeded, the food was good and the service was attentive, fast and courteous, additionally the little piece of history that is explained on the different placemats is cool, I would recommend the visit!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBI
1 review
“Food was excellent service was not”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Had dinner not too long ago at the blue pig tavern although the food was excellent can not say the same thing about the service. We had Roshina as our waitress and were not too fond of her. We could not understand a word she said because she is a foreigner which is fine however if you live in this country and work in the food business unless you can speak the dialect you should not leave the kitchen. So my wife and I had dinner and besides not being able to understand her very well she did not know the menu whatsoever, she could not describe one single dish to us. We had to over hear the waitress next to us for the special as she did not tell us anything about a special nor describe the blue plate special. We did not know the soup of the day, having certain allergies she could not tell us what was in it. When it came to desserts although the restaurant having menus they were also poorly described. Amanda the manager was a great help in dealing with our issues and compensating extremely well for the horrible service we received. We will return thanks to Amanda and the food but if it was just up to the service we hope to not have her nor any servers who we can not comprehend. Food was excellent hanger and tuna steak well worth the money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Pig Tavern also viewed

Cape May, Jersey Shore
Cape May, Jersey Shore
 
Cape May, Jersey Shore
 

Been to The Blue Pig Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Pig Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.