We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peter Shields Inn & Restaurant

Peter Shields Inn & Restaurant
1301 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204
609-884-9090
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Peter Shields Inn & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 110 Restaurants in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: The Peter Shields Inn quality cuisine bursts with freshness and creativity. The Peter Shields offers a la carte dining along with a four course chef’s tasting menu. Also expect to find weekly menu additions that incorporate fresh and innovative ingredients. The magnificent ocean views are the perfect scenery to celebrate a special occasion or simply enjoy a memorable dining experience. In the summer months, outdoor dining is available on porches overlooking the ocean. The Inn also specializes in both casual & elegant ocean front weddings. For the absolute finest local and seasonal fare, Peter Shields Inn & Restaurant is a favorite of residents and visitors to Cape May alike. Additional Details: Banquet/Private Rooms, BYO Liquor, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room.
Boston
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Best in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Wonderful, pretty, great staff. First rate. You will not be disappointed. FYI: Cape May appears to only allow Cape May wines sold in restaurants so if you don't want the local grape, BYOB. Common practice at all the restaurants we visited.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    64
    25
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant in Cape May”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

In a town filled with excellent restaurants, the Peter Shields is at the top of my list. For my first course, I had the Jumbo Lump Crab Salad, Smoked Salmon, Mache, Toasted Almonds, Basil Aioli. It was the best lump crab salad that I have ever eaten anywhere. The combination of the crab and smoked salmon was a work of genius and I would highly recommend it. For my second course, I had the Grilled Filet of Beef, Herbed Potato Puree, Haricot Verts, Caramelized Onions ​Wild Mushrooms, Bordelaise. It was so tender that I swear I could have cut it with my fork. It was prepared so perfectly, that I couldn't possibly think how it could have been improved upon. The Peter Shields is also one of the most elegant and romantic restaurants that I have every visited anywhere in the world. The service is also first rate and the piano player, Kahlil Gunther, provided perfect music that was enough to push the evening to a perfect 10 on the romance scale.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Fabulous meal, fabulous view from the porch. Would return to Cape May just to go to PSI.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Lovely ocean view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We visited Cape May for our anniversary weekend and stayed at this beautiful Inn, eating dinner here the first night as well. Our table was on the screened porch where we enjoyed a lovely ocean view, immaculate linens, fresh flowers, candlelight, and courteous service. The perfect ambience for what we hoped would be a perfect meal.

We began with a so-so bottle of local Cape May wine (all they can serve here, unless you BYO) , small but fresh salads and an order of some of the best calamari we've ever eaten. We couldn't wait for our entrees! My husband's scallops were large and succulent. However, the hangar steak I ordered would probably have made a sturdy pair of shoes. Dessert and coffee were average. All in all, if atmosphere is what you are seeking (there's a pianist at the grand piano in the lobby all evening) this is pretty hard to beat. High-end with prices to match. The food experience can be uneven.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Top Notch food and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

This is one of the better restaurants in the area. No doubt the food and service rival the best in Cape May but also the entire state.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peter Shields Inn & Restaurant also viewed

 
Cape May, Jersey Shore
Cape May, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Peter Shields Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peter Shields Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.