We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank goodness it was open” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ugly Mug Bar & Restaurant

Ugly Mug Bar & Restaurant
426 Washington St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1426
609-884-3459
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 108 Restaurants in Cape May
Cuisines: Bar, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Germantown, Maryland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Thank goodness it was open”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Not much else was open after 7PM in the off season. Very good burgers and fries. My son raved about his awesome chicken pannini. Service was fine food came fast.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    204
    138
    61
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice local feel but not much for the food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Maybe we had too high of expectations after dinner the first night in Cape May- but the food just wasn’t that good. It was also WAY pricey. The service was great and the atmosphere was equally nice. Enjoyed the local Cape May beers!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We ate here our second night in Cape May. I was a little worried when I saw the menu prices though (maybe this is normal for restaurants in Cape May?).
We shared a quesadilla appetizer which is cut into three pieces. Would've been better to have been four pieces, especially since it was $11.99. It was very good though. My husband ordered the nachos as his meal which were plentiful and he enjoyed. This was also $11.99 on the appetizer menu. I just wanted a grilled chicken sandwich which was also $11.99 (go figure). I was worried but the chicken was actually enormous and I had to cut it and double it up on the sandwich since It was very much hanging over the bun. I was disappointed that it comes with chips and I couldn't substitute fries (without paying $4 for the additional side). I told her I'd just have the chips.
I don't know if there was confusion when I asked for the fries instead and she said she couldn't do that, but then my sandwich came out with no chips or pickle. I forgot about the pickle, but requested the chips.
At first, I was inquiring about the potato skin appetizer since it was the cheapest appetizer (at $6.99) on the menu. They said you get three potato skins. Nevermind that then!
The food was good, but the prices were still a bit high. Oh, and if you order a beverage that isn't alcohol, it comes out in plastic cups. Not really sure why since they seem like a place that should be able to give glasses instead. Beer comes in glasses though.
We were pleased with the portions though (except the quesadilla which could've had an extra piece). We would probably go here again though.
Unfortunately, our options were limited because it is the beginning of March and only so many places are open.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittstown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good service, average food, just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Not a great selection of beers and no local beers on tap. For a place that calls itself the ugly mug you would expect a better selection of micro brews. The menu is all over the place. Too many items. Food was average. Staff was very friendly and we received good service. I think this place is spoiled by a superb location and regular stream of tourists.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ok for regular food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This was very average when you want something special on vacation. Slightly disappointing. All the food did not come out at once and we were only a party of 5.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ugly Mug Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Cape May, Jersey Shore
Cape May, Jersey Shore
 
Cape May, Jersey Shore
Cape May, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Ugly Mug Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ugly Mug Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.