We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Ugly here!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ugly Mug Bar & Restaurant

Ugly Mug Bar & Restaurant
426 Washington St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1426
609-884-3459
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 95 Restaurants in Cape May
Cuisines: Bar, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Philly
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nothing Ugly here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This was actually my 2nd time here. Both times we were able to take advantage of the outdoor dining patio, right on the Washington St Mall. Service and food were both great. Tomato based clam chowder, rivals some of the best. My panini was huge and ended up taking 1/2 home and the fries were crispy, not greasy and hot!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    214
    141
    64
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leonardo, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Food was OK, burgers a disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Did a quick search for best burgers in Cape May and this place came up. We were close by so we decided to give it a try. It's in this quaint shopping section which is nice to walk around in and explore. First off, the food was a little pricey for bar fare. A burger and fries was $14 and my husband said it was a little better than diner food. My $15 grilled crab cake (yes singular) was large and delicious but the sides were terrible; the asparagus tasted like they popped it in the microwave for a couple of minutes and threw it on the plate with no seasoning whatsoever ,and the rice was hard and tasteless. Service was quick but nonchalant; they just piled the napkins and silverware on the edge of the table for us to distribute. Would not go there again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibbstown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“100% Satisfied, Will Return Again!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I've been to the Washington Street Mall in Cape May many times since the 1970's and have walked by the Ugly Mug numerous times but October 10, 2012, was my first time eating there. A friend and I went for dinner. We were greeted enthusiastically and politely and led to our seats. Our server was Adam and he was both very attentive and very sweet. He had only been working there for 2 weeks but was quite competent and made sure to meet our needs and answer our questions. The food was absolutely delicious! Prices reasonable. Atmosphere very nice...we sat on the "plastic enclosed" verandah area.
I ordered the beer batter friend cod with french fries, my friend had crab cake with veggies and potato salad. We were both 100% satisfied with the food and enjoyed every bite. Nothing at all to complain about.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culpeper, VA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Ugly Mug, Cape May, NJ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My husband & I both enjoyed eating at the Ugly Mug recently in Cape May, NJ. They have a wide variety in selections. Portions are big and there is no way you go away hungry. Personally, I was happy with the variety of the selections in Salads. (and again, these salads were huge, so much so, I had to take 1/2 the salad back to where were staying during our visit) Fortunately, we had a refrigerator in our accommodation. Staff was friendly and provided good service. We liked it so much, we ate there twice during our short stay.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Not the best quality and the service was slow. But I am sure there are other visitors who were happy.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ugly Mug Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Cape May, Jersey Shore
Cape May, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Ugly Mug Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ugly Mug Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.