We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Inn

Washington Inn
801 Washington St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1651
609-884-5697
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Washington Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 108 Restaurants in Cape May
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Jefferson
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Extraordinary food and service. If you arrive before 6pm, a fixed price menu is available.

Can't recommend it highly enough.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    120
    37
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
BETHLEHEM
2 reviews
“Worth the trip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We always visit this place when at Cape May. Food and atmosphere is great. A must stop location when visiting.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallkill, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Food--Very Loud/Unexpected--Kid Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We expected the Washington Inn to be a quiet, fine dining experience. Upon arriving, the bar was loaded with people drinking, talking, eating. While the waitress was wonderful/informative about the wine list, and the food was excellent, we were so surprised at how loud it was inside. I don't normally mind noise, but, we were seated next to a large party where the adults (not the children) were extremely loud and obnoxious. It was so loud that we couldn't hear each other at our own table. We were going to request a seat change, but, the restaurant was full. Other than the noise, which was probably an anomoly due to the size and character of the party next to us, I must say that we were pleasantly surprised by the service and kid-friendliness. They actually offered a children's menu (chicken fingers, filet mignon, pasta or crab cakes) and, after dinner, the waitress took my children into the kitchen for a tour and to make their dishes of ice cream which they loved. Our food was fantastic and we will definitely go back. This time, we will be prepared to request a seating change if it's too loud. Unfortunately, we actually went home with headaches.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Valley NY
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Expected Better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We had the crab cakes and the espresso rubbed duck. The crab cakes had no discernible spices, and the sauce was equally bland. The duck was tasty, but nowhere as tender as it should have been. We enjoyed the wine flights, a nice idea. But some of the wine samples had noticeably less than the 2 ounces that were supposed to be provided. Service was very attentive, and the bread basket was quite good.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“In and out in one hour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Not sure what happened last weekend when we chose the Washington Inn for a romantic dinner for two. The food was good enough but we were rushed through our appetizers and still so full when our dinner arrived. No time to appreciate the first course. Plus the Inn looks like a romantic fine dining place on the outside but inside a loud bar scene can be distracting-- like it doesn't know what kind of restaurant it wants to be. Again, maybe it was an off night for service, but we regretted going there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Washington Inn also viewed

 
Cape May, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Washington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.