We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TOP NOTCH EATING and SERVICE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Inn

Washington Inn
801 Washington St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1651
609-884-5697
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Washington Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 108 Restaurants in Cape May
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Jefferson
Cape May, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“TOP NOTCH EATING and SERVICE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We went with a big group and they treated us like royalty...Service,Food and atmosphere was awesome...Would reco as the NO 1 restaurant in Cape May.

I have been back many times with my family and its all been GREAT.

ENJOY...Cape May Tom

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    120
    37
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Cape May at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Went with friends to celebrate their wedding anniversary, we arrived early and enjoyed the friendly bar atmosphere while we waited a short time for the table. All seven of us enjoyed the cocktails and the menu promised an exceptional evening. We were not disappointed, I only heard great comments, and not one complaint. While I will admit it is not cheep, with drinks we were hitting almost $250 a couple, but it was Valentines and we viewed it as an exceptional splurge. All in all, highly recommend for a very special occasion.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waretown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Always exceptional......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

we have had the pleasure of dining here on quite a few occasions...and each time is just as special as the last...I actually said to my husband while we were dining how sad it is that some people will never get to experience this...the atmosphere is so romantic and cozy..our dinner was delicious as always..we both choose the fluke special which did not disappoint...I of course had my crab cake for an appetizer...it so far is always the best I've had...no room for dessert...but did have room for a lovely after dinner drink called "the nutty Irishman" great and special evening..you will feel very welcomed and comfortable here....enjoy

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fl
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wahington Inn sets a standard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Always wonderful. We've had special occasions celebrated here, holidays, groups, etc. They never have let us down. They've been in business a long time and never have the glow of great service, beautiful food in a warm, lovely setting.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, NJ
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Arrive a bit early!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Arrive a bit early and spend some time at the wine bar with Marty the bartender, one of the nicest people you will ever meet. A well stocked bar and excellent wine list ensures you will find something to your liking and Marty will ensure you are smiling as you enjoy your drink.

Pat and I arrived a bit early for a 5 PM reservation. Had the freshest oysters at the bar, thanks to Marty's suggestion. We were seated promptly at 5 and greeted by Patrice, a veritable font of information about the Inn. Patrice told us a bit about the Inn and some of the innovative dishes offered by the chef.

Service was attentive but not rushed. Pat had grilled shrimp as an appetizer, served with guacamole. As an entree, Pat had the grouper with shrimp risotto and I had the duck breast, served with mushroom bread pudding and blackberries. We are agreed it was one of the best meals we've enjoyed in some time..

Following dinner, I would recommend you take the tour of the Inn and see the dining rooms and wine cellar.

It is clear the staff is very proud of the house and it shows as they provide a seamless, wonderful dining experience. We will make this a must stop at every future visit to Cape May.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Washington Inn also viewed

 
Cape May, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Washington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.