We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Splurge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Inn

Washington Inn
801 Washington St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1651
609-884-5697
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Washington Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 95 Restaurants in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Jefferson
Middletown, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Splurge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This restaurant is one of the 4 top restaurants in cape may: (Tisha's La Camina and Peter Shields are the others).

We have tried 3 of them.

Positives

1) Food was excellent (Halibut and Steak were made to perfection. Soup was delicious)
2) Location was walking distance from all major b&b's
3) If you go on Friday's, and go early, you can save a bit of money on the 5 for Friday deals (usually wine, an appetizer, and a cocktail). This is Bar only, but a good value if you are looking for a happy hour. They also have Wine tastings, which is great if you are looking for a bottle.
4) Ambience is great, wonderful if you are on a romantic evening.

Negatives
1) No real negatives, other than the bathrooms are upstairs (to my knowledge). This was no issue for us, but I have relatives who are disabled and I would not take them to the Washington inn if that situation arose

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    122
    40
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
PA Furnace, PA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very romantic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Lovely setting for a special dinner. The halibut was fabulous as were the salads. Service was attentive but not intrusive. A great place for our anniversary dinner.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Dinner Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Restaurant Week at Cape May. Three Course dinner $35.00 Great deal. Extensive Wine list, Wait Staff good knowledge of the menu. Very good meal would dine there again.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cape May's Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We arrived early for our 8:15 reservation and started our evening off with drinks at the wine bar. Marty was an excellent bartender. We were seated promptly for our reservation and were greeted by our server Marcos. Marcos was very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. We both ordered the halibut which was cooked to perfection. Dessert included bannanas foster with homemade vanilla ice cream. Superb. The Washington Inn is always a "must go" place for us when in Cape May.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asbury Park, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“This one will set you back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Atmosphere was wonderful and waitress was very pleasant tho appeared in a hurry. It wasn't terribly busy so I was a bit surprised at that. Dinner was ok. To be fair I would have expected way better for the prices we were paying. Probably should have stayed in the bar area to have some wine and appys which turned out to be the best part of the meal. Entrees were bland, overpriced & tho the duck was tasty a bit chewy and overdone. Too many other places to go for far less money and tastier, less fussy food. :-(

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Washington Inn also viewed

 
Cape May, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Washington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.