We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcomber Campground

Beachcomber Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beachcomber Campground
Save
You added Beachcomber Campground to your Saves list
462 Seashore Road, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Upper township
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay with our TT. Lots of activities. Big lake and 3 pools. Only got an attitude from one employee. Others were very nice. Check in and out was very easy. Very spacious spots but can be difficult to back into because of fences and light posts but happy with site once we got into it. No free wifi. But overall we had a good and we did book again.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
18
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
1 review
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The owners here at beachcomber are flat out ignorant !! My family has been seasonal for many years and deserve to be treated with respect but instead they treat you terribly. We had a incident with a employee in the office not charging us correctly and TAMMY the RUDE MISERABLE OWNER screamed at us while pointing her finger in our faces because she wanted her money..money in which we were willing to pay it was not our fault that her employee rang us up incorrectly but instead of apologizing and asking politly for the money she told us "we know better" and threatened to kick us out of the campground! This is not how you should treat your guests that pay good money to stay in your campground !! Another thing is if you pay to visit and drive your car in they give you a hanging tag that does not allow you to get through the gate unless a security guard is there to let you know.. Which Is NEVER if you arrive back after 11 pm good luck getting back in you have to sit and wait and hope a security gaurd shows up to let you in.. All in all After growing up in beachcomber campground and having a seasonal site for 20 years I will NOT be returning. They need to learn some RESPECT !!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reisterstown, Md
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Spent Father's Day weekend here. Hardly any weekend or weekly campers here. Probably due to the poor ease of getting into your site! There are fence posts everywhere and trees making it difficult. We have a 27' travel trailer. Had a lot of permenant homes and the place is very clean. Site size, once you get into them are nice. Good place for kids. 9 yo daughter had fun painting ceramics (you did have to buy the ceramic before you painted it $9 to $17 but paint was free and she had brushes for you). Beach at pond was kind of nice. Try have a little kiosk that makes food like burgers and fries. General store was nice nothing spectacular. Fishing seemed dismal. I didn't see a single fish caught at their little father son tournament. Really close to Wildwood and Cape May. There is a shop rite 5 min away which was a big plus if you don't want to haul your food to vacation. Hook ups were easy but you have to put a $60 deposit on the cable box in order to watch cable. Not too bad but a small inconvenience none the less. If I came this way again I would stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

For a family-run campground, we were appalled at how we were treated when we asked for compensation for a maintenance issue. We just returned from three nights here for Memorial Day weekend. My daughter and I drove from VA and my fiance and his two kids from NH. Long drives, looking forward to a relaxing three days. We stayed in a Park Model that has just been built. We paid $206 per night, as they charge this steep rate for Memorial Day Weekend. It's a rather inflated price for glorified camping where you have to bring all your own bedding and cookware, but its a pretty nice model. The stay was going fine, although the sliding door was difficult to lock and each time we left it was a bit of a hassle to get it to lock. On Saturday night, after arriving home late with three young kids, we were unable to get the door open with the key. A maintenance guy arrived quickly and was also unable to get it open. He called his boss, who also could not. The boss removed the AC unit and crawled through the window. That night they gave us a piece of wood so we could keep the door locked. With all the back and forth and waiting, our kids were up past 10:00. The next morning a maintenance man came back, left for Home Depot, came back again, then again, and by the time the door was fixed we had been visited by maintenance no less than 7 times. We also advised that the screen door kept coming off the tracks and finally that was fixed as well. Prior to checkout we spoke with the manager to request some reimbursement for the trouble. He was unwavering. He told us that there was no way that the door could have been properly fixed at 9:00 pm and that we didn't complain earlier that the door wasn't working properly, and that we didn't complain about the screen. He gave us a voucher for a free bundle of wood and a bag of ice ($6.00 value).

In the morning, we turned in the key and gate keys about 30 minutes before we completely vacated. A guy almost immediately came around and gave us a hard time for still being there. He was inhospitable and grumpy.

I don't understand businesses that don't cater to their customers. Would it have been that hard to say, "I am so sorry this happened and interrupted your vacation. Please accept a one-night reimbursement." In fact, this should have been offered to us by management without having to ask.

The next time we plan a visit to the Jersey Shore, we will avoid this place.

Room Tip: for the $206 per night we paid for the Park Model for Memorial Day weekend for one bedroom, the loft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raritan, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I was here with my family for MDW.
We have been coming here for main holidays for the good location between Capemay and Wildwood.
We had two cars which made it tricky for our cabin site.
Only given one key stamp to get in after hours for the one car. We had to purchase a second visitor tag, but told we had to use the same key stamp for the two cars... The visitor pass is forced for your license tag, which we got off by one letter. The visitor tag car couldn't get in at about 1:30 after security claimed it doesn't match the car. We had to wake up our fellow cabin mates to WALK the tag so we can finally enter the camp ground.
Great for kids under the age of 14. If you don't mind security staring at you to see whats in your cup, how many people are in your cabin then come here.
Bathrooms need an upgrade. Female showers are clearly not rinsed, long hair covering the tiles. Old towel that is filthy on the floor, and makeup in the sinks. Not worth 25 cents for only 4 minutes in the shower, should be at least standard. The lake seemed a better place to bathe...

Room Tip: Cabin at the quieter lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, New Jersey
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed at Beachcomber over the 2014 Memorial Day holiday. The place was packed, and I have never been to a bigger campground than Beachcomber. Our site was large for a Jersey Shore campground, however backing into the site was tough, friends camping with us in the next site hit a tree backing in and damaged their roof, so Big Rigs beware, parking is tight. Overall we had a good time, there was plenty to do with all day activities for kids and adults. Three pools and a lake to swim and fish in. Fenced in dog parks with clean up stations. I was told this was one of the busiest weekends they have all year long. Judging from the number of people, kids and campers I would say so.

What we liked about the Beachcomber was staff was nice (even as busy as they were). Close to Cape May and Wildwood. Campground was clean (constantly cleaning of the bath houses). Saw people picking up trash, raking the beach daily, always someone cleaning something. Security was on top of everything, if you don’t like strict and can't follow the rules don’t come here. Security makes this place a family resort like it or not, (I like it).

What we didn’t like (and this is just personally). The crowd, just too many people. Traffic from cars & golf carts created congestion and a constant dust storm. I could not even walk my dogs down the roads, just a constaint flow of traffic. Ever see that scene in Blues Brothers of the trains going back and fourth outside Elwoods Apt window? The traffic just never stopped all weekend. We also had had awful neighbors behind us (seasonal campers), they thought they owned the place including our site. Walking through our site whenever they wanted, even when I asked them to stop. They were very loud in the morning, what the heck were they yelling and swearing about every morning. They were just very inconsiderate of anyone else.

Room Tip: Stay away from sites 172, 173,174 on Seagull very tight parking because of immovable golf cart parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsgrove, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I am a seasonal and evey season it is like coming home. Like family. Clean grounds, friendly staff, GREAT activities for the children of all ages. Many things for the adults as well... Oh did I mention the clean lake, beach and 3 pools

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachcomber Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Campground

Address: 462 Seashore Road, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Cape May
Number of rooms: 800
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an independent, family owned camping resort run by the second generation of the founding family. The owners live on-site, year-round to address your camping needs. We are a 100 Acre Wooded Park with full service resort amenities. We are just 4 short miles to Cape May & Wildwood. We boast 2 Sparkling, Spring-Fed Lakes with a large sandy white beach & Tug Boat Rides (in season), 3 Adult & 3 Kiddie Pools. We are big rig friendly, tent friendly & everything in between! Pets are welcome at Beachcomber! We have Pet Friendly Rentals, also! Try for yourself & see why "It's Better at the Beach!" ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachcomber Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.