We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bacchus Inn

Save Saved
You added The Bacchus Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bacchus Inn
719 Columbia Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 49 Cape May B&B and Inns
Clark, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our second trip to The Bacchus Inn and even though we have only been there for the past two years, John the innkeeper, made us feel like old friends and not just customers. Many of the guests have been returning for years and I hope that we will be returning for many years also.

The inn is in a great location, it is clean and comfortable and the breakfast is great. We have stayed at many other B&B's and the afternoon refreshment hour is by far the most attended one we have ever seen anywhere.

It's a great B&B.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    13
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
105
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I came here several years ago and have come back every year since. John's hospitality and outgoing personality really make you feel like you're coming home to your own little beach house get away. The wine and cheese hour always has a great wine and sangria selection, and the food is always well thought out and delicious.

We can't say enough about this place, it really makes you feel a part of the family and is truly relaxing!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is an excellent B&B. The building is beautiful with lovely furnishings. The rooms are tastefully decorated. Breakfast was excellent. Location couldn't be better -- just a few minutes to the beach and to the outdoor shopping area.John, the owner, was terrific.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I took my wife here for our anniversary weekend and I can't say a bad thing. My wife has a severe nut allergy so we are always very careful and skeptical when dining out. We spoke to John the inn keeper upon arrival and he assured us that nothing would be prepared with any type of nut during our stay. This made us feel more relaxed. John showed us around the property and to our room. What a great place and an awesome location. It is within walking distance to all including the beach and all the great restaurants Cape May has to offer. The breakfast was excellent as well as the wine and cheese hour. I will without a doubt return here in the future. I also want to add that John is one of the most personal inn keepers I have ever dealt with. Thanks for a great trip.

Room Tip: Had the back room which is a little more secluded almost like your own apartment which has a private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellerose, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My husband and I had a great stat at the Bacchus Inn. The room was beautiful and very well maintained. The breakfasts each morning were yummy and as were wine and cheese in the afternoon. The innkeeper was helpful in making suggestions and reservations for dinner as well as activities during our stay. We would definitely stay at the inn again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The Bacchus Inn is the place to stay in Cape May. This is our second trip to Cape May and John again made the trip a great one. Starting with a wonderful breakfast that did not repeat for 7 days, the 5:00 wine and cheese where everyone laughs, and then the care that he takes to make sure you get the eating destination you are looking for, it is service and value. We will be back!

Room Tip: It is worth it to choose a room on the second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Got lucky when someone cancelled at the last minute and even luckier when I called to grab that room. Very comfortable in the Bordeaux and even more comfortable rocking on the front porch. Barb knows her way around the kitchen and John always looking to make our stay more enjoyable. Bikes, chairs, beach towels made our stay a lot easier. We'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bacchus Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bacchus Inn

Address: 719 Columbia Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
John & Lisa Matusiak welcome you to their charming seasideCape May Bed & Breakfast. The Bacchus Inn is located in the primary historic district of Cape May New Jersey and is only a short walk from the fabulous shops, restaurants, and Cape May Beaches. The inn consists of 2 buildings, which are across the street from one another; the "Main House" and the "Cottage". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your The Bacchus Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bacchus Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.