We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bacchus Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bacchus Inn
Save
You added The Bacchus Inn to your Saves list
719 Columbia Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 49 Cape May B&B and Inns
South Amboy, New Jersey
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“weekend getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

another trip to cape may we always stay at Baccus inn while we are in at the shore The Owners John and Lisa always make you feel right at home from the gormet breaskfast to the afternoon wine and cheese rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated excellant location just park the car and walk to the beach or restaurant everything with in walking distance which is wonderful so if you love the bed and breakfast experience this is the place to stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    15
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
113
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Freehold, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Bacchus Inn is an amazing and very charming Inn. I have stayed at 9 or 10 other B&B's. This was definitely the best. We stayed here to celebrate my birthday, and will definitely be back. (Hopefully, soon) :-)

The owners, John and Lisa have not forgotten anything to make your stay the most pleasant experience. The rooms are very comfy and clean. The linens and towels are very soft and fresh! The breakfasts that Barbara made for us were so yummy. She makes a different breakfast every morning. There is also coffee and tea always available, along with fresh fruit and muffins each morning. They also have a refrigerator and freezer available for your use. We had our choice of rooms, as it was the middle of the week in June, and not as crowded as most of the summer. We picked room #5. It was very spacious, with a flat screen TV, and a DVD player. It also had a great shower.
You can also find many books and magazines about the area. They have a large selection of DVD's, too.

John welcomed us upon our arrival and made us feel right at home. He offered us wine and cheese on the porch between 4 and 5. Cookies and fruit were available, also. John is very knowledgeable about anything you would like to know about the house, the restaurants, or the town of Cape May, itself.

He recommended a great restaurant for my birthday dinner, and even called to make reservations. We didn't get a chance to go to the beach this trip, but they offer bikes, and beach chairs for your use. And there is also an outside shower. It's just a short walk to all of the shops and restaurants. We had no problem with finding a parking space, but they also offer some on-site parking. We did some shopping, and went on a carriage ride, which was very romantic. The driver told us a lot of history about the town.

We met some very nice people during our stay, and we can not wait to visit The Bacchus again!!! It was truly a remarkable experience!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

John, the owner, could not be more welcoming. He remembered our phone conversation to the smallest detail. This was a special trip to celebrate a combination of birthday, wedding anniversary and retirement. We had been to several other Cape May B&Bs before , but The Bacchus Inn was much more welcoming & friendly than the others. John was always available and always checking to see if we needed anything. He was a wealth of information regarding area history, things to do, local events and of course where the best restaurants were and their specialties. John made us feel like family. Breakfast each morning was delicious and the afternoon wine, cheese, fruit & cookies were a nice change from tea & cookies. We were very comfortable & enjoyed our two nights in the Piedmont room which had a king bed and a spa shower. Thank you John for making our special get a way a treasured memory.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bisbee, AZ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Came out to MD to visit my sister to celebrate my birthday; she brought me to the Bacchus Inn as part of the celebration. We had the room at the back, parking right outside our door, a cozy room for the two of us for the four days/three nights we were there. Breakfast each morning was incredible...imagine...two courses each morning (our last morning started with chilled pears poached in wine, followed by french toast made with challah bread, covered in fresh berries)! I can't recall a more relaxing, delightful time in Cape May or a lovelier place to stay. We were made to feel so welcome and at home. I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Ask for the room at the back, next to the parking spaces....it seems much more private, definitely c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wind Ridge, Pa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

My grandparents lived in a Victorian home, so as soon as I walked into the Bacchus it brought back very found memories. My girlfriend and I were quickly met by, John, the owner. We had a room booked, but John told us he had a few rooms open and he gave us our pick. We stayed in a beautiful room on the third floor that had a flat screen tv. Deck outside the back door was great to sit in early mornings and evenings. Bed was super comfortable, but the best part was the awesome shower! It has a rainfall effect as well as streams that shower you from the side walls. Did I mention it's also a sauna? Great way to wake up in morning! Then head down stairs for a super delicious and creative breakfast! John is very attentive and his conversation is charming. He is an amazing host! Then head down to the downtown Cape May area for a beautiful morning walk, which is only a stone's throw from the Inn. But, don't stay away too long, because John breaks out the wine and cheese at 4 p.m. Again, its fun to sit with the other guests on the front porch, slight breeze through your hair, and sip your glass of wine. Again, John is there for great conversation... After a day there, he feels like a lifelong friend. Overall, the Bacchus is 5 stars. The antiquity of the home is charming. House is super clean. You can tell from the door how passionate John is about what he does and you can see his love for the Inn. Did I mention John is a nice guy :) My girlfriend and I will most definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Spring Harbor, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

After staying two other B&B's in Cape May, we tried out The Bacchus and have made it our home for our annual visit to Cape May - for at least ten years now.

Everything is perfect - the rooms and their appointments, the breakfasts and the afternoon wine selections with cheese and cookies, and the company of Lisa and John, the most accomodating and entertaining host.

This coming August we're bringing family along to share the experience, confident they won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: No fitness center, but free bikes and free beach chairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyster Bay, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Ok- Take a weekend that's plans are up in the air and start scrolling through some overnight hot spots in Cape May. If you're lucky like we were, you'll come across this enchanting inn located just a few blocks from the main shopping district, the beach and close to 3.2 million great places to eat! On Friday I reached John, half of an incredible team who owns this charming house on Columbia Ave., and he immediately made me feel that I had made the right choice in calling him. In the off chance we were to get into town early, could we still check in before two p.m.? Of course! When walking into this three story slice of history, you know that there is love poured into this business. The house was built in 1876 and over the years has seen many changes and lots of the kind of care that every proud home owner knows. Inside is decorated meticulously and leaves you feeling all at once relaxed and comfortable. A large dining table and a wrap around porch with many comfortable chairs beckon to you to come, sit and enjoy at the wine and cheese hour from four to five p.m. Strike up a conversation with John and you feel like you've made a new friend within minutes. Smart, hard working and family oriented- and pours all of this into his business.
Each room in the house is unique and since there were two rooms available, we were given our choice of room three and four. We chose three because of the stained glass windows and the claw foot tub in the bath (pictures from a previous review do the room justice). Houses in those days were built solid and as such, the room was very quiet and we never heard another guest. On our door when we went out for dinner in the evening was a card asking what we would like for breakfast. Choices included fresh fruit, muffins, french toast and more. Breakfast started at 8am for coffee and muffins followed by a sit down breakfast with all of the other guests at 8:30. There's nothing like breaking bread with strangers in the morning over a cup of coffee to start your day off right. We met some interesting people and John was always eager to please his guests by bringing and clearing plates and joining in the flowing conversation. My only wish was that we had come down for more than just one night. Do yourself a favor when booking a trip to Cape May and consider the Bacchus Inn- you'll be glad you did!!!!

Room Tip: stained glass windows in room three and a claw foot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bacchus Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bacchus Inn

Address: 719 Columbia Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
John & Lisa Matusiak welcome you to their charming seasideCape May Bed & Breakfast. The Bacchus Inn is located in the primary historic district of Cape May New Jersey and is only a short walk from the fabulous shops, restaurants, and Cape May Beaches. The inn consists of 2 buildings, which are across the street from one another; the "Main House" and the "Cottage". ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bacchus Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.