We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Planning Return Visit Before We Checked Out!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bacchus Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bacchus Inn
Save
You added The Bacchus Inn to your Saves list
719 Columbia Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 47 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
York PA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Planning Return Visit Before We Checked Out!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

There were alot of choices with so many B&Bs in Cape May but the high number a repeat guests we met confirmed our opinion of the inn-- we'll be back. John, the innkeeper, and his wife couldn't have been more helpful.

The location, 2 blocks or so off the beach, is very walkable to downtown. You will want to park and leave your car at the inn once you experience the maddening wait for a parking space to open up!!

The room, I hate to say which one lest its booked when I want it, was roomy, not over Victorionized had a flat screen TV, very comfortable King size bed and a spa shower (think steam).

Other amenities we appreciated were the guest fridge on the floor below, wine & cheese at 4, beach bags w/ towels in our room plus beach chairs and bikes provided!

There were 2 choices for breakfast times: 8:30 or 9:45. If you want the early breakfast say so when you book as it fills up quickly. They put coffee and muffins out early, at 7, for us early risers which was appreciated!

One more note about the room, ours was equipped with a DVD player and the have an extensive DVD library!

If you book a room at the cottage, it's across the road from the main inn but it does have a pool table, nice porches and a guest fridge and microwave.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    15
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
114
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Galloway, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

John is sooo nice and Barbara too. Next time we go we will meet Lisa as we only could stay one night. Breakfast was amazing and the accomodations were welcoming and comfortable. we are going back in the fall.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverhead, New York
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My husband and I just returned from our stay at The Bacchus Inn in Cape May. We checked out the Tripadvisor reviews before we left and found that the reviews were completely accurate. Our room was cozy and the bathroom was very spacious. John and Lisa thought of everything to make guests happy. They were very friendly and informative about the area. The breakfasts were delicious and very filling. In addition to breakfast,at 8:00 AM there was coffee and tea, muffins and fruit each morning. If anyone had any special dietary requests they did their best to accommodate. We enjoyed meeting other guests and gathering on the porch to relax at the end of the day. We enjoyed the wine and cheese each afternoon. They supplied a beach bag and towels for the beach and beach chairs as well. They also have an outside shower for use after the beach. We definitely would recommend this B & B to our friends and family and we would go back.

Room Tip: Check out the website for pictures and descriptions of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

WOW! its all I can say! I agree with a review that stated "Cape May should designate the owners John and Lisa local "national treasures" To say that they go out of their way is an understatement. Fiance and I ran into this BnB by accident. Lucky us! John and Lisa do everything to make you feel welcome, an at home. You will NOT be disappointed if you choose the Bacchus Inn. Perfect location, complimentary bikes, beach chair and towers, the rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. The breakfast is "cookbook worthy". The wine and cheese hour is the best! The hour really turns into a three hour affair with red and white whine, Sangria, crackers, cheese, fruit, and the best pastries you ever tasted. John knows everything there is to know about Cape May, from where to eat to which activities are best in the area. Fiance and I sent our parents, and four of our friends. They will be returning, like us, and most guests at the Bacchus. This place exceeded our expectation, and we will be visitors for life. Do yourself a favor and experience the Bacchus.

Room Tip: We loved the Tuscany Room. We are looking forward to enjoying the Champagne room in our next visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

My husband and I had a very nice stay at the Bacchus Inn. The room was clean and comfortable and the gourmet breakfasts were delicious. We also enjoyed the Sangria and other wine offered during the happy hour with cheese, crackers, homemade cookies and brownies. They also offered bikes, beach chairs and beach towels. John was extremely nice and eager to get you whatever you needed and offer suggestions on places to eat. The location was perfect and within a few minutes walking distance to the beach, boardwalk, several nice restaurants and the Washington street shopping area. We would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: The White Zinfandel was the room we stayed in and one of the quieter and cheaper rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This was my first trip to Cape May, so I did a LOT of research beforehand to find the perfect B&B. Although I am sometimes prone to buyers remorse, in this case I got everything I hoped for and MORE at The Bacchus Inn. The room was adorable, the service beyond-hospitable (Cape May should designate the owners John and Lisa local "national treasures," along with the house they have so beautifully restored), and the homemade gourmet breakfasts truly cookbook-worthy. I came with two friends who are equally discerning when it comes to lodging and we all agreed this place totally exceeded our every expectation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We just returned from our 2nd visit to the Bacchus Inn. As Innkeepers, John & Lisa excel. You will not be disappointed if you choose The Bacchus for your Cape May trip. It is simply the best. Breakfasts are delicious and beautifully presented. The afternoon wine and cheese is a nice touch. We highly recommend The Bacchus Inn. J & M

Room Tip: Third floor room with "high tech" shower and private balcony is superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bacchus Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bacchus Inn

Address: 719 Columbia Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
John & Lisa Matusiak welcome you to their charming seasideCape May Bed & Breakfast. The Bacchus Inn is located in the primary historic district of Cape May New Jersey and is only a short walk from the fabulous shops, restaurants, and Cape May Beaches. The inn consists of 2 buildings, which are across the street from one another; the "Main House" and the "Cottage". ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bacchus Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.