We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We found our "home" in Cape May” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 931 Beach Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
931 Beach Guest House
931 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
NYC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“We found our "home" in Cape May”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

I research the heck out of hotels when I stay in one. I read every review I could find on the internet, check out the website and sometimes write people emails to ask questions. The situation was no different for 931 Beach and after my search we booked a room. We are SO happy that we stayed here. 931 Beach recently went through a renovation and they really did do a nice job. Going during the "off season" also gave us a bit of a price break. We stayed in the Nautilus room which did not have a balcony. This was just fine b/c the porch was perfect to sit down, have a glass of wine and read or play Scrabble. The Innkeeper was lovely and always available to answer all questions. It was CLEAN, clean, clean and the kitchenette was a great way to save money. Also positive was that it was directly across the street from the beach. The one complaint we did have was that the bed was not all that comfortable - kind of mushy. We would stay there again in a heartbeat and both my husband and I admitted that there was no reason stay anyplace else.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    9
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
45
50
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

Right across the street from the beach. Great location. Free chairs. Towels. Everything for the beach. Coffee and bagels in the am to start you off. We had a ocean view balcony and it was great. We will go back in 2 years. We were there for 3 days only. Would go back for a week. Close to everything. Left the car in the lot and walked everywhere. Be prepared to walk up some steps when you get there. Not for those who hate stairs.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

We have been going to Cape May for 30 years and this was by far one of our favorite trips. We were so impressed with the beautiful blend of antiques and modern amenities.
The home was spotlessly clean and impeccably decorated.
Liza was just the perfect final touch on our perfect little getaway!!
Perfection!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

We were surpirsed by the quality of the place offered and will go back everytime. The Inn keeper is very friendly and they do serve amazing coffee!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

My husband and I with our two year old stayed here for a weekend. We were so thrilled to have found such a gem right on the beach. The charming, very well kept and spotlessly clean beach house is decorated tastefully -- modern, simple, beach whimsy. No dusty old grandmom Victorian decor here! The front porch is comfortable and perfect for reading or hanging out in the evening -- and while you are sitting there the inn keeper Liza will likely bring you a carafe of wine. We spent our time on the great balcony of our room perched right on the ocean. The rooms are totally renovated with a nice bathroom, little kitchen efficiency, and flat screen tv. Many of the rooms adjoin so its perfect for families. You will be totally welcomed, comfortable, happy with the location and feel like you got a great value for your money.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new castle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

We started staying at 931 Beach when it was the Windship 15 yrs. ago. The place has been renovated several times. Liza the Inn keeper was there for a long time and then let go so we stopped staying there, the place just wasn't the same. She has been hired back and we are back. She will make you feel so welcomed, comfortable and anything you could need or want she will do everything in her power to accomodate your request. The place is extremely nice and clean and we are so happy to be back at "our favorite place" in Cape May. I would highly recommend staying at 931 Beach.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, MD
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

This was our first time in Cape May. LiZa was wonderful and some was the Cove. We hope to return in High season. The room looked just like the online photos and so did the others that were not occupied (we peeked in). LiZa makes a mean pot of coffee and the bagels, pastries and muffins are a nice touch. The home is beautiful. People stopped to comment, take a brochure and photos everyday. (if you are up to no good, be careful when sitting on the porch or balcony because your photo will be taken :-)). Everything is within a short walk (groceries, libations, mall, etc). The promenade walk to Sunset Beach is about 1 mile. Thanks again for a wonderful home, view and experience Miss LiZa!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 931 Beach Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 931 Beach Guest House

Address: 931 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Specialty lodging in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
931 Beach House's eight guest suites are spacious and tastefully appointed with their own kitchenettes and bathrooms. Situated directly across from the Atlantic Ocean we offers guests the ultimate beachfront experience in America's oldest seaside resort, Cape May, New Jersey. A complimentary Continental Breakfast is included with your stay. The house has a Wrap-Around Porch with Rocking Chairs. We can supply you with Beach Chairs or Towels if needed. We are Family Friendly and look forward to making your vacation in Cape May an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 931 Beach Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added 931 Beach Guest House to your Saves list