We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A romantic destination with superb amenities and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Star

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Star to your Saves list
The Star
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   29 Perry Street, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A romantic destination with superb amenities and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

My husband and I chose Congress Hall (The Star Inn annex) for a weekend getaway. We can't wait to go back for a longer visit! The facility runs seamlessly and the staff is so professional. The food at The Ebbitt Grill and The Blue Pig rival the best of what we have sampled in New York and Philadelphia.

Room Tip: The Star Inn (across the street from Congress Hall) is a cozy annex with access to all the activity...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    62
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
28
77
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

My family and I are still here while I am writing this review, and our experience has been wonderful. We wanted to get away from the NYC polar vortex so we ventured to southern New Jersey and were happy to see clean,snow free streets...my husband and I traveled with our 11yr old son and his best friend and we rented the 2bedroom/2bathroom cottage from Congress Hall (Congress Hall owns the Star Inn and many other hotels in Cape May)....the cottage is clean, spacious and well appointed with stainless steal refrigerator and stove,pots,plates,wineglasses & utensils. There is also a washer/dryer in one of the closets. it's winter so most businesses are closed for the season but, enough were open for us to have our needs met. We originally planned on staying for 2 nights but kept extending our stay for a total of 5 nights. Since whether prohibited swimming at the outdoor pool at congress the Front desk suggested the WildWood indoor acquatic center to swim which the boys enjoyed. Overall a wonderful break from snowstorms and busy NYC streets.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We needed to check in a day early for Congress Hall but no rooms were available. They had an efficiently suite available across the street at their Star. We decided to try it and were very happy we did! The efficiency suite had a large King bedroom, nice size living room with a flat screen tv. Very comfortable with a view of the ocean from the second floor. Convenient location, across the street from the ocean and Congress Hall. The bathroom was a little small but overall we really enjoyed this hotel and would go back. Great value!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asbury Park, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in December and had an amazing time. It's right across the street from Congress Hall. As everyone else said, the "motel suites" are beautifully decorated in a retro fashion and updated with a mini fridge, microwave, pots and pans, coffee maker, etc. Here are some things of note:
-You have to check in across the street at Congress Hall
-Park anywhere in the lot or in the Congress Hall parking lot (near the flag pole).
-Free wifi
-Free use of Congress Hall gym
-King size bed in a separate room; pull out sofa bed in living room area.

You get to be in the town near everything but it's like staying at your own little apartment. We didn't hear any street noise or noise from other rooms. Truly a great value!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed here In early December and plan to make it an annual event. The hotel is in a great location right across from it's big sister, Congress Hall where we went to enjoy the Winter Wonderland and restaurants. We stayed in the efficiency room and it was very nice, with a lot of room, king size bed with updated linens and two flat screen television's. Located a very short walk from the beautifully decorated shopping streets in Cape May it was a great way to start the Holiday season.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania, USA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We just spent two nights on the second floor of the motel unit at The Star. It was a two-room efficiency suite with a great lounging couch, flat screen TV in each room, kitchenette, great bed/bedding, and an ocean view. We had access to Congress Hall but were tucked away in a quiet place. The town was decorated for Christmas which was beautiful. There wasn't much going on and many places were closed for the season, but we found great places to eat and just spent the time relaxing. We love Cape May and it was an excellent time to take advantage of off-season rates.

Room Tip: Second floor of the motel unit have ocean view from a porch with rocking chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
566 helpful votes 566 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I have been to Cape May many times and have stayed at a number of The Star's sister properties including Congress Hall and The Sandpiper. My family made a somewhat last minute decision to spend Labor Day weekend in Cape May. Of course, most of the town was fully booked already, especially considering we were 4 adults looking for 2 rooms or a multi bedroom suite. Congress Hall directed me to The Star that luckily had one of their 2 bedroom carriage houses available. It couldn't have worked out better or been more perfect.

The location across from Congress Hall, around the corner from the Washington Square Mall and a block from the beach couldn't be better. Guests at The Star enjoy all the perks of being a Congress Hall Family guest including access to beach club and pool. The beach club alone makes staying within this family of hotels worth it. Attractive men set up lounge chairs and umbrellas on the beach for you and then bring you food and drinks. No schelping, prime beach real estate and always a handsome view. Guests at The Star also enjoy free internet and coffee and tea in the lobby.

The room itself was beautiful. It offered a full kitchen, two full bathrooms, two bedrooms and a couch the size of a bed in the living room. There is a sweeping balcony with rocking chairs and a hanging bench swing that you can see the ocean from. The bedrooms weren't huge, but the overall space of the room was. The decor in the room is very similar to that found in the rooms at Congress Hall in terms of the paintings, color schemes, old fashioned white tiled bathrooms, and little touches such as table books. The price was reasonable for a 2 bedroom in the center of town and all of our needs were met and exceeded. The staff was always friendly, parking was easy and the internet was fast. All things I love in a hotel.

I'm very glad we had the opportunity to stay at The Star. It is a great find for larger families or friends travelling together and I highly recommend this and any Cape Resorts (Congress Hall Family) Hotel for visits to Cape May.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star

Address: 29 Perry Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Star 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your The Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Star Hotel Cape May
Star Hotel Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Star, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.