We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Easter weekend away!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Star

Save Saved
You added The Star to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Star
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   29 Perry Street, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 42 hotels in Cape May
Reading, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Easter weekend away!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Booked 4 days prior to the Holiday weekend, only 2 rooms left, so not much to choose from. Ended up with a room with a bathroom. Very small, pretty tight and we aren't very big people, but yet served the purpose for a 2 night stay in the heart of everything! Parked the car Friday and didn't get back in until Sunday to drive home. Amanda at the front desk was so helpful and friendly. Would stay at the Star Inn again, but will book early enough to get a bigger room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    61
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
75
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norristown, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The rooms were very clean and comfortable, especially the bed! Just a couple of minor problems......the wind was howling and the rooms were a little chilly, and the bedroom TV was frozen onto some cable message that I couldn't clear. That wasn't important to me, as compared to the level of customer service provided! I let the desk in Congress Hall know that I couldn't find a hair dryer, and the gal appeared at the door of my room five minutes later with a brand new dryer in her hand! The major deficiency was I couldn't get the alarm clock to work! Despite the minor setbacks, I loved the Star, and really appreciated being given a first floor room! I look forward to returning to Cape May, and to staying in Congress Hall or The Star!

Room Tip: If you can climb one set of stairs, try to get the second floor of The Star, as I understand there a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This was our second stay at the Star Inn. Our first stay was in the actual Inn and our second stay was in a second floor motel suite (great view of ocean). We found the room to be comfortable and clean and would definitely book again in the future. We took advantage of their spring promotion and enoyed a $20.00 credit toward our breakfast at the Blue Pig (enjoyed the real fireplace on a soggy March day). As another visitor noted; great value for the money spent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We took advantage of an off-season weekend offer, and enjoyed the 2nd floor suite in the hotel. The two rooms were just right, with a kitchen/living room and good-sized tv (as opposed to the microscopic one in the bedroom, which my wife thought was a computer monitor). It really was a pleasant stay, with proximity to the beach, as well as Congress Hall, where we enjoyed the fire and people-watched. As another commenter has noted, this is not the Ritz, but it is cozy and comfortable, and made for a reasonably-priced winter escape.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

I've been here one time before, and it is always clean! The location couldn't get any better, right in town in the middle of everything! It also is a great value for what you get! Blue pig tavern is great too!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Had a great Valentine's Day weekend at the Star Inn. Wow, this place is so underrated. We stayed in the inn, which had a B&B type feel. The coffee shop was closed for winter, but we like being away from all the commotion of Congress Hall. The room was well kept and had a great smell of plain ole clean. The size of the room was just right with some room to move around the super comfortable king bed. There was a wall mounted flat screen TV/DVD. Bathroom was also clean and adequately sized. I would have preferred a better shower head, but I think it was a water saver. The reservation gave us full access to Congress Hall. It was winter so there wasn't much to take advantage of. The fitness center is small, but probably gets no use in the summer. The Inn has off street parking on site. Great location! It's half a block from Washington St Mall and about 1 block to the beach. The one and only negative was that our town view was really no more that view of a back of a few buildings. Honestly though who cares. We'll probably stay here more often now that we've found the place.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We've been going to Cape May for years and have often wondered about the Star Inn. We had a chance to stay this past weekend and it was lovely. We stayed in the motel on the 2nd floor and fell in love with the hotel. I loved the decor and the amenities. We already booked the hotel again for the summer! We would highly recommend the Star Inn!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star

Address: 29 Perry Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cape May
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Star 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your The Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Star Hotel Cape May
Star Hotel Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Star, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.