We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight in Cape May” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Star

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Star to your Saves list
The Star
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   29 Perry Street, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
Philadelphia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overnight in Cape May”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This was our second stay at the Star Inn. Our first stay was in the actual Inn and our second stay was in a second floor motel suite (great view of ocean). We found the room to be comfortable and clean and would definitely book again in the future. We took advantage of their spring promotion and enoyed a $20.00 credit toward our breakfast at the Blue Pig (enjoyed the real fireplace on a soggy March day). As another visitor noted; great value for the money spent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    63
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
28
78
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We took advantage of an off-season weekend offer, and enjoyed the 2nd floor suite in the hotel. The two rooms were just right, with a kitchen/living room and good-sized tv (as opposed to the microscopic one in the bedroom, which my wife thought was a computer monitor). It really was a pleasant stay, with proximity to the beach, as well as Congress Hall, where we enjoyed the fire and people-watched. As another commenter has noted, this is not the Ritz, but it is cozy and comfortable, and made for a reasonably-priced winter escape.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

I've been here one time before, and it is always clean! The location couldn't get any better, right in town in the middle of everything! It also is a great value for what you get! Blue pig tavern is great too!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Had a great Valentine's Day weekend at the Star Inn. Wow, this place is so underrated. We stayed in the inn, which had a B&B type feel. The coffee shop was closed for winter, but we like being away from all the commotion of Congress Hall. The room was well kept and had a great smell of plain ole clean. The size of the room was just right with some room to move around the super comfortable king bed. There was a wall mounted flat screen TV/DVD. Bathroom was also clean and adequately sized. I would have preferred a better shower head, but I think it was a water saver. The reservation gave us full access to Congress Hall. It was winter so there wasn't much to take advantage of. The fitness center is small, but probably gets no use in the summer. The Inn has off street parking on site. Great location! It's half a block from Washington St Mall and about 1 block to the beach. The one and only negative was that our town view was really no more that view of a back of a few buildings. Honestly though who cares. We'll probably stay here more often now that we've found the place.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We've been going to Cape May for years and have often wondered about the Star Inn. We had a chance to stay this past weekend and it was lovely. We stayed in the motel on the 2nd floor and fell in love with the hotel. I loved the decor and the amenities. We already booked the hotel again for the summer! We would highly recommend the Star Inn!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Ho Kus, New Jersey
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We normally stay the Virginia Hotel, a sister facility of the Star Inn. However on this January Thaw weekend the Virginia was booked so we were attracted to the good rate at this hotel. In the nearly 2 decades we have been visitng Cape May, we have noticed the Star seems to be always full. Well no wonder. We picked a nice upper level room with balcony,efficiency kitchen and separate bedroom. It was clean and spacious. The bed linens were fresh and relatively new. The kitchen was equipped so that you could prepare a number of light meals ,not simply boil water.It's a very nice package situated right between the beach and the Washington Street Mall.So now I get why it is so popular. It ticks all the boxes for an extended family vacation stay.
Those seeking the Presidential Suite at The Ritz level of luxury-should look elsewhere.

Room Tip: We liked the upper floor end unit room 24.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The star inn is a great family hotel. Our room had a living room, and kitchen which was great for making snacks and letting our little one roam around. The hotel had pack and plays and cribs provided. The location was awesome, we could see the ocean from our room, and congress hall was across the street for good restaurants and walking around. It's a great weekend getaway. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star

Address: 29 Perry Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Star 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Star Hotel Cape May
Star Hotel Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Star, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.