We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now I Get It” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Star

Save Saved
You added The Star to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Star
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   29 Perry Street, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 42 hotels in Cape May
northern New Jersey
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Now I Get It”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We normally stay the Virginia Hotel, a sister facility of the Star Inn. However on this January Thaw weekend the Virginia was booked so we were attracted to the good rate at this hotel. In the nearly 2 decades we have been visitng Cape May, we have noticed the Star seems to be always full. Well no wonder. We picked a nice upper level room with balcony,efficiency kitchen and separate bedroom. It was clean and spacious. The bed linens were fresh and relatively new. The kitchen was equipped so that you could prepare a number of light meals ,not simply boil water.It's a very nice package situated right between the beach and the Washington Street Mall.So now I get why it is so popular. It ticks all the boxes for an extended family vacation stay.
Those seeking the Presidential Suite at The Ritz level of luxury-should look elsewhere.

Room Tip: We liked the upper floor end unit room 24.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    56
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
71
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The star inn is a great family hotel. Our room had a living room, and kitchen which was great for making snacks and letting our little one roam around. The hotel had pack and plays and cribs provided. The location was awesome, we could see the ocean from our room, and congress hall was across the street for good restaurants and walking around. It's a great weekend getaway. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

The king size bed was very comfortable in unit 10. The living room was nice and cozy and during the day the windows are so big that there is a lot of natural lighting. Two tips for Congress Hall: 1) get softer bath robes 2) get better in room coffee, such as Mars Drinks single serve the like.
The spa massages we had at Congress Hall were phenomenal and the cocktails at the Brown Room were yummy! We love Cape May!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed for 1 night (12/22). The inn is clean. And they have great linens and nicely appointed rooms although a little on the small side. The lobby was decorated nicely for the christmas holiday....the gas fireplace was warm and welcoming and needed it was soooo windy and cold which brings me to my only real criticism. The windows were pretty drafty but thankfully the room wasn't cold. I would certainly come back here because the location can't be beat. Don't forget to get your breakfast voucher for the Blue Pig!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazleton, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

just went for 1 night 12/21/12, was a great time to go and enjoy the Christmas lights, fine dinning and just hanging out "pre" Christmas, very romantic for those looking for a getaway or just a girlfriends weekend. The Inn was in a great location, walking to everything, rooms were modern, quaint and very clean. Would definitely go back

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton,NJ
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We loved everything about The Star Inn - the decor, cleanliness, location, and comfort. There was a swing and chair out front and a lovely courtyard with 2 wicker love seats and a table out back. Fantastic place to chill, which is just what we did! Oh, and the customer service was great!

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor, which I would definitely do again for the courtyard space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We recently spent a Saturday night at The Star Inn. We were in the original part of the inn which is reserved for adults only. Our room, although small, was adequate and very clean. The linens are all top quality. The bathroom was spacious and beautifully renovated. Our room had a small walk in closet with bathrobes. It has a flat screen tv and a very comfortable bed with a view of the ocean from the bed. Check in was fast, easy and friendly. Air conditioning was not working properly but in November was not a big issue and we opened the windows which was wonderful.
The Inn is quiet and the staff could not have been more helpful. Because of its location next to Congress Hall, it is so convenient to everything and walked all around Cape May to the many shops.
We indulged in massages at the Sea Spa at Congress Hall and had a wonderful breakfast at The Blue Pig, both highly recommended.
Cape May is such a wonderful destination for a weekend getaway and basically untouched by the wrath of Sandy (thankfully).
I cannot wait to return to The Star Inn again soon.

Room Tip: book early and go to the inn (adults only) . We had wanted a king but settled for a queen and it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star

Also Known As:
The Star Hotel Cape May
Star Hotel Cape May
The Star Hotel
Address: 29 Perry Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Cape May
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Star 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Star, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.