We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Star

Save Saved
You added The Star to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 5 more sites!
The Star
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   29 Perry Street, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 42 hotels in Cape May
Chester, Maryland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great location and value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We visited Cape May on a whim and arrived with no reservations. We drove around and were considering Sandpiper or Congress Hall but The Star was so much cheaper. We opted for the efficiency on the second floor and could see the ocean from the Adirondak chairs on the front porch. The decor is rather retro and bright but everything was clean, the linens were all very good quality and great water pressure in the shower. The location being so close to the beach and shopping was perfect. We will definitely consider them again.

Room Tip: The efficiency is nice because of the extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    57
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
71
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Although the location is ideal, the accomodations at the Star Inn were not as pleasing on our return trip. For one, the room we were given, which was more expensive than our first stay was smaller, not as nice, and the shower was tiny and leaked all over the floor of the bathroom. A guest from a wedding at Congress Hall was next door to us and kept us up all night slamming doors and talking loudly. I agree with the other reviewer that the walls are paper-thin. This disruption went on for about 2 hours, so we got little sleep our last night there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

We were there for a wedding at Congress Hall, part if the Star Inn properties so all amenities were included. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. We stayed in the section with a Starbucks located in the lobby. Rooms are well maintained. The rooms are cozy you would not want to hang out in there long. A beautiful ocean view from the 3rd floor. If you have a tall member in your group they must be careful not to hit their head. All in all a great place to stay and be close to everything available in Cape May. For a Cape May property the price is about average. The convenience makes it worth the cost.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Visited early in week . . . no children in the hotel but must admit, we could hear pretty clearly through the walls. Unit clean but needs a little touch up . . . woodwork looking beat. Loved the convenience and the ability to use the amenities at Congress Hall.

Room Tip: Second floor is a must - view of the ocean.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We spent a really great few days with my 7 month old daughter and a 3.5 year old son. Crib was provided to us, and my son slept on the pullout couch in the front. We were given plenty of sheets, pillows and blankets. The location is superb, really close to the beach. There was a great coffee shop two doors down with wifi, and there was also wifi inside the room. Someone was in the room twice a day making sure everything was super tidy and clean. I hope that I can find the same great deal next year (bought mine on Livingsocial this year at 50% off) and we would definitely be back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe Township, NJ
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We recently got back from a 3 day stay at the Star Inn in early September. The location is just great. We hardly used our car. Short walk to the beach, restaurants and Washington Street Mall. Everyone at the Star Inn greeted us warmly each time we came in or went out. We loved going over to Congress Inn for breakfast with their great outdoor seating. We will be back.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor. Although the room was very nice I think next time we will stay on the 2nd...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

While the Star Inn room I stayed in was on the 3rd floor, it was the largest room and had a lovely view of the ocean. It was a perfect location to wander thru Cape May on foot and leave the car behind. Also we were 1 block from the ocean. Having the use of the Congress Hall amenities -- ie pool, beach lounge chairs, towels, and umbrellas was wonderful. No packing those things. The room was very clean and the bed was comfy.

Room Tip: If you want to wake up and see the ocean and have a little extra room for a few days, pick the 3rd f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star

Also Known As:
The Star Hotel Cape May
Star Hotel Cape May
The Star Hotel
Address: 29 Perry Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Cape May
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Star 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Star, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.