We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What? Won't take credit cards?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Periwinkle Inn

Save Saved
You added Periwinkle Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Periwinkle Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1039 Beach Avenue, PO Box 220, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“What? Won't take credit cards?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I just tried to book 6 rooms for a week in July for a small conference. Says no credit cards during July or some such crap. What hotel doesn't take credit cards these days? I'll tell you - one that doesn't put their customers first. I found another hotel right down the street that was more than happy to take my credit card.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeriwinkleManager, Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Hello Valued Customer,

I'm sorry for your inconvenience. The only time we do not take credit cards is peak season because of the rates being so high. We are only open six months out of the whole year so the credit cards do circulate a large sum of money. We are also a small Inn and do not have the facilities for any type of conference, reception etc. If you come in the beginning of June and after Labor Day you are more then welcome to use a credit card. Hopefully with that in mind you will reconsider and come and stay sometime in the near future.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    67
    27
    28
    30
See reviews for
98
67
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Overall excellent location near the beach, which is always a plus. What potential this place has if only they would bring in management who weren't so distrustful of their guests. I felt like I was staying at my overbearing aunts house. They should call this place the "don't" inn. Definitely don't expect to be able to pay for your room as you would in 99% of the rest of the world as they DO NOT accept credit cards as payment!?!?!? The kind of motels that only deal in cash are usually the kind normal people stay from. Who carries thousands of dollars in cash on your person these days? McDonalds even accepts plastic these days! Someone please do this property a favor and save it from its current owners! Would love to stay there again but thus time without having to buy a briefcase and a handcuff to be able to pay for the room.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeriwinkleManager, Front Office Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Valued guest,

The Periwinkle Inn appreciates your feedback and are working on issues that bother our customers. You will be happy to know we have renovated each and every room in our hotel, so everything is brand new. We hope you will consider us again!

Sincerely,

Periwinkle Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This summer will be the 13th consecutive year our family has stayed at The Periwinkle. Great place for families with kids of all ages. Within walking distances to most Cape May activities and restaurants as well as steps to the beach. Owners and staff are as good as it gets.In the past we have stayed at three other Cape May establishments prior to hanging our hats at The Periwinkle. We continually return to the same place every summer for a reason, you'll be happy you decided to stay here.
The Vecchio's...

Room Tip: Book early for summer months, Feb / March of that year.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeriwinkleManager, Front Office Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback we truly appreciate it! We hope to see you again soon this season! All of our rooms are brand new!

Sincerely,

Periwinkle Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The periwinkle location is perfect for us.I always enjoy the color and layout when we first drive up to register. The motel face's the beginning of the promenade overlooking the ocean. We like the pleasant walk of a half mile or so on the promenade to the center of activity and a little further to the outdoor mall.
The motel is well kept ,a nice pool , elevator convenient parking. The balconies present a chance to sit and relax seeing and breathing in the ocean air. As a life long Jersey resident the Periwinkle lends itself to a flavor of the old time Jersey shore . The actual last date we stayed at the Periwinkle was Sept 2011 not 2012 but this the program does not allow me to let that on. We stayed at another place in Oct 2012 on account of some deal but will be back to the Periwinkle in the future.

Room Tip: ask for ocean view , first floor if you have kids to access pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeriwinkleManager, Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and appreciation that we all do here at the Periwinkle Inn. We would love to have you come and stay again. We are newly renovated so everything is brand new! We are very excited and would love to have you come check out the improvements. Hope to hear from you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in early June and were so happy we chose this place! It is directly across from the beach! The hotel room was clean and well appointed and even had a little kitchen, which was great for breakfast in the morning. It is a little further down from the main attactions, but we like it that way, as it was very quiet - it's a great place for families to stay. Good restaurants were within easy walking distance.There was an inground pool as well as BBQ's available if you wanted to make some burgers! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeriwinkleManager, General Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Hello to our appreciated guest!
We are just writing to tell you that we are very happy that you decided to take the time to write about our services and we hope you will give us another try, because we have updated each and every room at our property, and we feel you just may love it!

Thanks again!
Sincerely,

Periwinkle Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rock, NJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed 4 nights: Wed. - Sun. into Labor Day Weekend. We loved it! Our room was clean and comfortable (2 queen beds). We really liked having the mini-fridge, microwave and coffee maker in the room. We had breakfast in our room every morning. Our room opened onto the pretty courtyard and pool. Our children enjoyed the pool and shuffle board court. There is also an outdoor shower for rinsing sandy feet before entering your room.
The location is great - right across the street from the beach! You could walk back to your own clean room to use the bathroom rather than using public restrooms at the beach. The beach is sandy and beautiful! The waves are boogie-board heaven for the kids! And several times, we saw a pod of dolphins diving through the waves just off shore! We brought our own beach chairs and umbrella so we did not have to rent them. You do need to purchase beach passes - very reasonable. Price varies depending on how many days you need.
You get a parking space with your room, but we often walked down Beach Avenue past all the charming houses to the restaurants and arcades (about a 10 minute walk). We enjoy walking on a summer evening. (Parking near the restaurants can be difficult to find.)
We would stay here again. Our pink motel by the sea!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeriwinkleManager, General Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear valued guest,
we are just writing to tell you that we appreciate your taking the time to tell us your thoughts on our property, and we hope to see you again soon. We have updated all of our rooms and hope you will give us another try.

Sincerely,
Periwinkle Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My wife and I just stayed that teh Periwinkle for 3 nights - we had a small suite that included a separate bedroom and living room with sofa bed and efficiency kitchen, and a balcony overlooking the courtyard and pool. This set up was ideal and comfortable. The room was very clean, and housekeeping kept it that way all 3 days. Flat screen TV in the living room was nice - we brought a small DVD player to plug in - which worked well. There was an old TV in the bedroom - no remote except the one from the LR worked for just the cable box.

We read warnings that the beds are uncomfortable, so we brought our Queen sized memory foam topper and this was a life saver I think. My wife really needs a comfortable bed.

The location is great -- the hotel is situated at the very beginning of the promenade that runs 1.4 miles along the beach to the jetty end. 10 minute walk to the central business district. There was a beach entrance and beach pass sales booth directly across the street as well - beach access was free since the life guards were gone. Usually $5/day and $10 for a 3-day pass (in season). You could easily walk to restaurants and bars in town, and even next door at other hotels. This location (about 4 blocks from the center) is a bit quieter, but not far from the "action" such as what Cape May has to offer.

The front desk staff were very welcoming and helpful. I had to ask for shampoo and conditioner, which is free upon request. Nice little vials - so they know they would be stuffed into suitcases every day, thus the "by request" policy. Understandable. Ask at check-in though.

Families with young children would love this place. They have a regular pool and a 1 foot deep kiddie pool. Also a big sandbox, playhouse, and toys on the courtyard lawn. The courtyard is very nice -- the place has a french/european look ... a bit more charming than many of the beach front "motels".

Price was good - and we did shop. Booked it through Bookings.com.

We will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeriwinkleManager, General Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hello and thanks so much for your input. We hope to see you again real soon . All of our rooms have been renovated so everything is brand new!

We hope to see you at the Periwinkle Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Periwinkle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Periwinkle Inn

Address: 1039 Beach Avenue, PO Box 220, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Periwinkle Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Cape May, New Jersey is the home of the beachfront Periwinkle Inn Hotel. We are located Oceanfront on Beach Avenue, with breathtaking views of Cape May Beaches! All boutique-like rooms offer modern amenities including flat screen TV's, free wifi, refrigerators and ocean views with private balconies or patios. Five star outdoor pool with complimentary pool/beach towels. Located at the southern most tip of New Jersey, in our nations oldest seashore resort, gorgeous Cape May, New Jersey. This boutique hotel resort epitomizes chic design while offering guests an unmatched level of service. True to our name, we do everything to service our guests and provide wonderful vacation memories. Our hotel attracts travelers from all over the world. The Periwinkle Inn has a distinctive waterfront location, and is right where the Cape May promenade starts, allowing everyone direct access to our beautiful Cape May beach. We are located close to restaurants, sightseeing and everything else Cape May's got to offer. With a large pool surrounded by lush gardens, we provide an ideal location for your Cape May family vacation. Stay with us, you will be glad you did! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Venere, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Periwinkle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Periwinkle Hotel Cape May
Periwinkle Motel Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Periwinkle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.