We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'll be Happy you decided to stay here....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Periwinkle Inn

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
Periwinkle Inn
1039 Beach Avenue, PO Box 220, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #31 of 42 hotels in Cape May
Bethany, Connecticut
1 review
“You'll be Happy you decided to stay here....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This summer will be the 13th consecutive year our family has stayed at The Periwinkle. Great place for families with kids of all ages. Within walking distances to most Cape May activities and restaurants as well as steps to the beach. Owners and staff are as good as it gets.In the past we have stayed at three other Cape May establishments prior to hanging our hats at The Periwinkle. We continually return to the same place every summer for a reason, you'll be happy you decided to stay here.
The Vecchio's...

Room Tip: Book early for summer months, Feb / March of that year.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeriwinkleManager, Front Office Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback we truly appreciate it! We hope to see you again soon this season! All of our rooms are brand new!

Sincerely,

Periwinkle Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    50
    21
    26
    24
See reviews for
77
55
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The periwinkle location is perfect for us.I always enjoy the color and layout when we first drive up to register. The motel face's the beginning of the promenade overlooking the ocean. We like the pleasant walk of a half mile or so on the promenade to the center of activity and a little further to the outdoor mall.
The motel is well kept ,a nice pool , elevator convenient parking. The balconies present a chance to sit and relax seeing and breathing in the ocean air. As a life long Jersey resident the Periwinkle lends itself to a flavor of the old time Jersey shore . The actual last date we stayed at the Periwinkle was Sept 2011 not 2012 but this the program does not allow me to let that on. We stayed at another place in Oct 2012 on account of some deal but will be back to the Periwinkle in the future.

Room Tip: ask for ocean view , first floor if you have kids to access pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeriwinkleManager, Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and appreciation that we all do here at the Periwinkle Inn. We would love to have you come and stay again. We are newly renovated so everything is brand new! We are very excited and would love to have you come check out the improvements. Hope to hear from you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in early June and were so happy we chose this place! It is directly across from the beach! The hotel room was clean and well appointed and even had a little kitchen, which was great for breakfast in the morning. It is a little further down from the main attactions, but we like it that way, as it was very quiet - it's a great place for families to stay. Good restaurants were within easy walking distance.There was an inground pool as well as BBQ's available if you wanted to make some burgers! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeriwinkleManager, General Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Hello to our appreciated guest!
We are just writing to tell you that we are very happy that you decided to take the time to write about our services and we hope you will give us another try, because we have updated each and every room at our property, and we feel you just may love it!

Thanks again!
Sincerely,

Periwinkle Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rock, NJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed 4 nights: Wed. - Sun. into Labor Day Weekend. We loved it! Our room was clean and comfortable (2 queen beds). We really liked having the mini-fridge, microwave and coffee maker in the room. We had breakfast in our room every morning. Our room opened onto the pretty courtyard and pool. Our children enjoyed the pool and shuffle board court. There is also an outdoor shower for rinsing sandy feet before entering your room.
The location is great - right across the street from the beach! You could walk back to your own clean room to use the bathroom rather than using public restrooms at the beach. The beach is sandy and beautiful! The waves are boogie-board heaven for the kids! And several times, we saw a pod of dolphins diving through the waves just off shore! We brought our own beach chairs and umbrella so we did not have to rent them. You do need to purchase beach passes - very reasonable. Price varies depending on how many days you need.
You get a parking space with your room, but we often walked down Beach Avenue past all the charming houses to the restaurants and arcades (about a 10 minute walk). We enjoy walking on a summer evening. (Parking near the restaurants can be difficult to find.)
We would stay here again. Our pink motel by the sea!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeriwinkleManager, General Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear valued guest,
we are just writing to tell you that we appreciate your taking the time to tell us your thoughts on our property, and we hope to see you again soon. We have updated all of our rooms and hope you will give us another try.

Sincerely,
Periwinkle Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My wife and I just stayed that teh Periwinkle for 3 nights - we had a small suite that included a separate bedroom and living room with sofa bed and efficiency kitchen, and a balcony overlooking the courtyard and pool. This set up was ideal and comfortable. The room was very clean, and housekeeping kept it that way all 3 days. Flat screen TV in the living room was nice - we brought a small DVD player to plug in - which worked well. There was an old TV in the bedroom - no remote except the one from the LR worked for just the cable box.

We read warnings that the beds are uncomfortable, so we brought our Queen sized memory foam topper and this was a life saver I think. My wife really needs a comfortable bed.

The location is great -- the hotel is situated at the very beginning of the promenade that runs 1.4 miles along the beach to the jetty end. 10 minute walk to the central business district. There was a beach entrance and beach pass sales booth directly across the street as well - beach access was free since the life guards were gone. Usually $5/day and $10 for a 3-day pass (in season). You could easily walk to restaurants and bars in town, and even next door at other hotels. This location (about 4 blocks from the center) is a bit quieter, but not far from the "action" such as what Cape May has to offer.

The front desk staff were very welcoming and helpful. I had to ask for shampoo and conditioner, which is free upon request. Nice little vials - so they know they would be stuffed into suitcases every day, thus the "by request" policy. Understandable. Ask at check-in though.

Families with young children would love this place. They have a regular pool and a 1 foot deep kiddie pool. Also a big sandbox, playhouse, and toys on the courtyard lawn. The courtyard is very nice -- the place has a french/european look ... a bit more charming than many of the beach front "motels".

Price was good - and we did shop. Booked it through Bookings.com.

We will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeriwinkleManager, General Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hello and thanks so much for your input. We hope to see you again real soon . All of our rooms have been renovated so everything is brand new!

We hope to see you at the Periwinkle Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millburn, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I've been going down every summer to Cape May, NJ for 27 years now. There are very few properties that compare to the Periwinkle Inn. The rooms are a nice size, clean and most have updated bathrooms. If you ask for extra towels, they are very amenable. The staff are friendly, courteous, and helpful. Since it is located further down the beach from the arcade, it is very quiet and relaxing, which is why we chose it for this particular weekend. The soap is small so we usually bring our own. The property is well kept and there is plenty to do for a small hotel - shuffleboard, a life-size doll house, sandbox and pool as well as across the street from the beach. Relaxtion is key here......

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeriwinkleManager, General Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Hello and thank you for caring so much about us that you took the time to tell us your thoughts on our service, i am happy to inform you that we have updated all of our rooms and we hope you will give us a try again!

Sincerely,

Periwinkle Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bloomfield new jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The hotel could have been cleaner and the room could was in need of remodeling at the very least. We had to go to the front desk twice for clean towels and extra small bars of soap. The room had a slight oder and needed new carpeting. I thought the hotel was a bit pricey and not worth the stay. If your going to stay at Periwinkle Inn bring plenty of cold hard cash, thay don't except credit cards or personal checks only CASH. Payment is in CASH only.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeriwinkleManager, Front Office Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Hello and I am so sorry that your stay was not 100% enjoyable here at the Periwinkle Inn. I only wish our guests would tell us when there are problems like this with vacuuming! We certainly would have jumped right on it to send someone else down to your room and vacuum immediately. All guests need to know that we are in the process of renovating our hotel before the 2013 season. We thank you all for your patience!

We look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Periwinkle Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Periwinkle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Periwinkle Inn

Also Known As:
Periwinkle Hotel
Periwinkle Hotel Cape May
Periwinkle Motel Cape May
Address: 1039 Beach Avenue, PO Box 220, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape May’s got a new hotel! Introducing the “new” Periwinkle Inn Hotel on the Oceanfront. All rooms at the Periwinkle are brand new and modern. This cosmopolitan type Cape May hotel is sure to please. Located at the southern most tip of New Jersey, in our nations oldest seashore resort, gorgeous Cape May, New Jersey. This boutique hotel resort epitomizes chic design while offering guests an unmatched level of service with the comforts of home for each and every guest. True to our name, we do everything over the top with an authenticity that attracts travelers from all over the world.Staying at this Cape May hotel affords guests sweeping views of the sparkling Atlantic Ocean. The Periwinkle Inn has a distinctive waterfront location, and is right where the Cape May promenade starts allowing everyone direct access to our beautiful Cape May beach. We are located close to restaurants, sightseeing and everything else Cape May’s got to offer. With a large 5 star pool surrounded by lush gardens, we provide an ideal location for your Cape May family vacation. Stay with us, you will be glad you did! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Periwinkle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Periwinkle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Periwinkle Inn to your Saves list