We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camelot Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camelot Motel
Save
You added Camelot Motel to your Saves list
103 Howard St, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We were just here on Jan19th for an overnighter. By far the best choice. The rooms were so clean and newly renovated. Staff was fantastic from the last minute phone call to reserve the room, to the extra towels, great directions and local favorites, all the way to telling us the history. Awesome view of the ocean (on the third floor and higher). And had an elevator for those in need. Best choice ever and will definitely be the new getaway for many years to come. Great staff and rooms. Will recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    59
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
117
42
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bonn
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed at the Camelot Motel for a week last August and we recommend this place.
Booking via internet, check- in etc all went smoothly and the apartment was clean and well equipped. We had the apartment on the top floor so we enjoyed great views of the nearby ocean and the things happening around us.
The location was perfect: Two minutes to the beach, 5 minutes walk to lovely restaurants and shops. A big supermarket was nearby. At night it was very quiet so we slept well.
There was always somewhere to park within the motels premises.
The only thing we would have wished for was bigger beds. We are a family of four with two very tall teenage boys. The beds in the bedroom were only double beds, not even queen size and the sofabed in the living room was rather small and good for one person. Next time we would book early and try to get the two bed room apartment.

Room Tip: Go for the top floor and the apartment at the corner, you may enjoy lovely sunsets every evening!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minisink
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My boyfriend and I went for a weekend in October here. It was a great view of the beach and all the places we wanted to go were within walking distance. The room was clean and the people were very helpful in guiding me to where I wanted to go.
I definitely recommend this place. We are thinking of going back there when the weather gets warmer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed here in early October and loved the location. Front office staff were very helpful. Walking distance to beach, bike rentals, and pedestrian mall. Accommodations were a little dated, but everything was clean. The efficiency/apartment that we stayed in had an awkward layout in that our kids had to walk through our bedroom to get to bathroom and living room. Other than that - we enjoyed our stay and would return. Cape May a favorite shore town for our family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Every trip starts at the hotel. Our trip was planned a bit late. We were going to stay at the Grand Hotel but after reading some reviews we canceled our reservations and turned to the camelot for a quickly planned stay. We picked a great hotel! Every thing was in date and clean from the flat screen TV's to the ocean view everything was perfect. The pool is a little small but very addicting. You know it's cleaned everyday because you can see it from your room. We stayed on the 3rd floor and our view was amazingand it was just a short 90 second walk to the beach. I garentee that your stay here will be amazing. YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT!!!!! :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The room where we stayed was in need of some updating. While clean, don't expect to sleep comfortably. The mattresses in our room were cheap and the sheets and thin blankets provided zero comfort. The carpet in the front room area had a large stain. Large stain aside, the carpet was clean. We opened the windows and kept them open for as long as we could because the room had an odor. We could tell that hotel staff had tried to cover this odor with some type of deodorizer. Thank goodness no one was smoking outside of our room when we opened the windows. (smoking was allowed) The grounds were well kept and tidy. For a family looking for a clean room at a relatively decent rate, you'll be okay. Maybe that family will get one of the hotel's renovated rooms. Regarding the location - I got the impression in the ads that the hotel was on the beach. I was wrong. The Camelot is on the north side of a two lane road. There is another hotel between the Camelot and that two lane road, then there is an arcade on the other side of that road....THEN, there's the beach. So future guests....while you can see the ocean in the distance, this hotel is not on the beach. Cape May is a charming town and it has a lovely beach and state park. Its residents were lovely. We'll be back. Perhaps we'll try one of the Bed and Breakfast facilities or a different hotel. Maybe we can find comfort, a bit of style and cleanliness. One out of three is why I rated this property "average."

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The room was spotless and quite large. All the guests were enjoying themselves, in the pool and on the balconies, and the staff was very, very nice. The grounds and building are maintained in excellent condition.

We were concerned that the motel was one block off the ocean, but there is nothing blocking it, so the view was spectacular. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Full ocean views from all rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camelot Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot Motel

Address: 103 Howard St, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#2 Family Hotel in Cape May
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cape May
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 37
Also Known As:
Camelot Motel Cape May
Camelot Hotel Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camelot Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.