We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome View and Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camelot Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camelot Motel
103 Howard St, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 42 hotels in Cape May
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome View and Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Every trip starts at the hotel. Our trip was planned a bit late. We were going to stay at the Grand Hotel but after reading some reviews we canceled our reservations and turned to the camelot for a quickly planned stay. We picked a great hotel! Every thing was in date and clean from the flat screen TV's to the ocean view everything was perfect. The pool is a little small but very addicting. You know it's cleaned everyday because you can see it from your room. We stayed on the 3rd floor and our view was amazingand it was just a short 90 second walk to the beach. I garentee that your stay here will be amazing. YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT!!!!! :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    55
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
96
36
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The room where we stayed was in need of some updating. While clean, don't expect to sleep comfortably. The mattresses in our room were cheap and the sheets and thin blankets provided zero comfort. The carpet in the front room area had a large stain. Large stain aside, the carpet was clean. We opened the windows and kept them open for as long as we could because the room had an odor. We could tell that hotel staff had tried to cover this odor with some type of deodorizer. Thank goodness no one was smoking outside of our room when we opened the windows. (smoking was allowed) The grounds were well kept and tidy. For a family looking for a clean room at a relatively decent rate, you'll be okay. Maybe that family will get one of the hotel's renovated rooms. Regarding the location - I got the impression in the ads that the hotel was on the beach. I was wrong. The Camelot is on the north side of a two lane road. There is another hotel between the Camelot and that two lane road, then there is an arcade on the other side of that road....THEN, there's the beach. So future guests....while you can see the ocean in the distance, this hotel is not on the beach. Cape May is a charming town and it has a lovely beach and state park. Its residents were lovely. We'll be back. Perhaps we'll try one of the Bed and Breakfast facilities or a different hotel. Maybe we can find comfort, a bit of style and cleanliness. One out of three is why I rated this property "average."

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The room was spotless and quite large. All the guests were enjoying themselves, in the pool and on the balconies, and the staff was very, very nice. The grounds and building are maintained in excellent condition.

We were concerned that the motel was one block off the ocean, but there is nothing blocking it, so the view was spectacular. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Full ocean views from all rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

My family and I booked the Camelot for the holiday weekend and we so pleased with our entire trip. Due to unforseen circumstances we had to arrive after 11pm on our check in day and they accommodated us by leaving the key in a lock box and allowing us to formally check in the next morning. The room we had (301) was very clean and the view of the ocean was incredible.Whenever we saw the housekeeping they were always smiling and very polite. I would recommend this hotel to anyone especially if you are traveling with your family. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metuchen, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I spent 5 nights at this wonderful Motel with my son, DIL and 2 grandsons. We had a 2 room efficiency that gave us plenty of space. The rooms were kept clean and were attended every day. The staff were the most friendly people I have ever encountered on a vacation. The pool was also well maintained. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff.
The Motel is within easy walking distance to the historic district, as well as the Mall for shopping. There is a miniature golf course between the Motel and Beach Ave, so from the 4th floor you have a great view of the beach and the ocean.
I thoroughly recommend this Motel.

Room Tip: The 4th floor has great vies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I think all the reviewers are over stating the benefits of the motel. It is very close to the beach. It is also reasonably close to the Washington Square Mall. It did have a clean pool. However, that is where the positives end. The "newly remodeled" one bedroom we stayed in had a musty smell. There was only one air conditioning in the bedroom that was literally touching one of the beds. It made for a very uncomfortable night of sleep. The bathroom was so small that you could barely open the door without touching the toilet. The room was not really cleaned each day. The bed was made and towels were just replaced for the shower. The maid never wiped down the bathroom sink or kitchen table. The new carpet from May was stained already. The wall in the kitchen had a red stain on the wall that looked like blood. The bathroom floor was gritty from sand. I strongly feel that these motels are able to command these prices due to their location. We paid $235 a night for a room that I would never have stayed in anywhere else. I would not stay again! You need to bring your own beach towels. However, they never dried because the room was always damp and musty. The mattress was uncomfortable and loud. Each time my husband moved at night it woke our daughter and myself. A parking spot should come with the room. However, we went to Wildwood one night and when we returned at 11:00 pm there were no spots. We had to find a spot on the street. When we complained to management, they did nothing to compensate us. We did have a problem with the tv when we arrived and management was quite responsive to that issue.

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flanders, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We just spent 4 days in Cape May and stayed at this great motel. The location was excellent (within walking distance to everything, including the historic district). The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff was so friendly and nice. It is also very affordable. Cape May is a lovely place to vacation and we would definitely stay at the Camelot again.

Room Tip: Our room was on first floor which was fine and very convenient. However, next time we visit, we wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Camelot Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot Motel

Address: 103 Howard St, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cape May
#2 Family Hotel in Cape May
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Camelot Motel Cape May
Camelot Hotel Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camelot Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Camelot Motel to your Saves list