We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a cool place and a great story” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape May Brewing Company

Cape May Brewing Company
1288 Hornet Rd, Rio Grande, Cape May, NJ 08242
6098499933
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 30 Activities in Cape May
Type: Breweries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An award winning micro-brewery in Cape May.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a cool place and a great story”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We were visiting relatives in Cape May and decided to drop by for a beer.. We ended up staying for 2 hours and even the little 2 year old with us had a fun time. The bare bones atmosphere and large selection of their beers on tap makes a great combination. What a place to unwind.. The brewery room tour (Well, we kind of stood in the brewery room) was very interesting and the story of how they got up and running was cool.. If your in the area stop by for one, you'll probably stay longer like we did.. Oh, and did I mention the beers (Especially IPA) are REALLY good..

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    41
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Hill
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Something different to do in the Cape May area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

If it wasn't for the sign on the road saying Cape May Brewing Company we never would of known that Cape May county had a brewery. I wasn't sure what to expect from this brewery but I must say that I would make a return trip. I was surprised at the number of people that were in the tasting room when we went. That should say something. For $11 you get a tour of the brewery, a glass and four 4 ounce tastings of beer. The story of the beginnings of the brewing company was interesting. The brewery had a good selection considering their size. The beers and the root beer were all good. I especially liked the Cape May IPA beer. Looking for something different to do in the Cape May area make sure to put the Cape May Brewing Company on your list.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cool place to spend the afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was a cool little brewery. The beer was good (I had the Devil's Reach) and the atmosphere was very relaxed. They have $11.00 tasting flights, and the tours are short and sweet. Cool place, I would go back.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great brewery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The Cape May Brewery is an awesome place to visit. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable. There are plenty of picnic tables and they encourage you to bring in some food with you and enjoy their great beer. Make sure you also get a growler of their root beer. it is the best we have ever had. Their gift cards and merchandise also make great gifts for family members. We recently had a few growlers of watermelon beer which was great.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Highlight of any Cape May vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

This place is great! $11 tasting gets you some really great beer (diverse variety) plus a sweet souvenir pint glass or can-shaped pint glass. The bearded bartender dude was so friendly and easy-going and also very knowledgable. We got there an hour before they closed on a Sunday and they still made us feel welcomed which was nice. They also offered us as well as the other patrons a guided tour of the brewery (even though there were no more scheduled tours for the day) which we really appreciated. One of the owners and head brewers, Chris, took us around and explained the brewing process, the history of the brewery and offered a really comfortable Q&A afterwards. My friend and I always enjoy checking out local breweries and overall, we really enjoyed the whole experience at Cape May Brewing Co. Definitely recommend for anyone visiting the area. And grab a dollar root beer for the ride home!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape May Brewing Company also viewed

Cape May, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Cape May Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape May Brewing Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.