We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean Club by the Ocean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Club Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Club Hotel to your Saves list
Ocean Club Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1035 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
$20 Daily Bfast Voucher!*
Ranked #13 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
GreenLeadersBronze level
Richmond, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Ocean Club by the Ocean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We visited Cape May for the first time in late September and had selected The Ocean Club Hotel as our home away from home. It certainly seemed like home. Located farther north up Beach Avenue, it’s quieter than the hotels and B&Bs in the center of what would be considered “downtown” Cape May, but still close enough that one can walk downtown. It was probably built in the 40s or 50s, but has been refurbished so that the rooms and common areas are all modern. Though we’d reserved a standard queen room, we were upgraded upon arrival to a king suite; other than a king-size bed and a Keurig in the room, I’m not sure what additional features the upgrade entailed, but we were very happy with our room. We had come to Cape May for the birding (it’s one of the best places on the East Coast to see migratory birds), and were able to add a few new species just by sitting on the balcony and looking out at the beach and ocean.
Since we had traveled all day to get to Cape May, we didn’t want to go out for dinner, so had dinner in the attached restaurant – the food and service were outstanding! There’s an outdoor patio where one can eat, but it was a bit chilly, so we opted to eat in the minimalist, though attractive, dining room. Dinner was followed by breakfast the next 3 mornings, and we were not disappointed. A tiki bar adjacent to the pool serves light lunches and drinks, and we spent several happy hours there, reading and sipping cocktails, while looking out at the ocean.
Since our birding experience was also outstanding, we plan to return to Cape May every fall, and expect to stay at The Ocean Club.

Room Tip: Almost all rooms face the ocean; the few rooms on either side of the hotel probably also have a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCM_Management_Team, OCH Management at Ocean Club Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you are able to join us again in the future. The fall is a wonderful time to visit Cape May, and we do love our birder visitors!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    117
    50
    20
    21
See reviews for
132
184
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Very, Very nice. Accomodations are superb. Comfortable beds, great view, very clean and so much improved over the old "Atlas". Staff was informative and accomodating. We can only imagine how great the pool area is in July so we will definitely be back next year. Just a really nice place to stay. I wish they were open through the Christmas Holidays because we would love to come down to view the wonderful lights and charm of this lovely Victorian town.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
Green Features: Didn't stay long enough to experience their practices
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCM_Management_Team, OCH Management at Ocean Club Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit with us. Looking forward to hosting you again next season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

September 22-25, 2013. We had a wonderful experience at Ocean Club. We were upgraded on arrival to a room with wet bar. Rooms were clean, bed comfortable, view amazing from our 4th floor room. Morning coffee on the room deck was relaxing, we had burger sliders that were excellent on toasted onion buns and the fish tacos were very good. Pool bar clean, drinks yummy, service fabulous. Met some nice people. We walked everywhere - location perfect...quiet and close to everything. Will definately go back. One recommendation: Bring earplugs... when the room a/c kicks in it will wake you up if you are a light sleeper.

Room Tip: Any ocean front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCM_Management_Team, OCH Management at Ocean Club Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your review! We appreciate your feedback and are so pleased you enjoyed yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverford, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We recently stayed 2 nights at The Ocean Club, a clean, modern (totally renovated about 3 years ago) hotel with superb Beach Ave. address and 90% plus rooms with vista/unobstructed beach and ocean views. You need go no further than your own terrace/balcony to awaken and enjoy a superb sunrise. The onsite restaurant (Sea Salt) looked good (but we had prior dining commitments elsewhere). The heated pool was well maintained and the pool side Tiki bar excellent and well stocked.

Negatives include early pool closing (7 PM), noisy air condition unit in bedroom (would be much better if this were in the living room of the suite), and only 1 elevator for the entire 6 floor complex- about 100 rooms I believe. This became more than a minor negative when it broke down as we were checking out, and had to haul our luggage down the stairs from our 4th floor room.

Overall, however, if you like a clean, well maintained facility, good sized suites, balconies with totally unobstructed ocean views, right across the street from same, plus hotel supplied beach lounge chairs and umbrellas (former complimentary, latter with $10 fee) as well as (non alcoholic- no alcohol allowed on beach) beverages (at $3 for soft drinks, iced tea, etc) this is your place. We will definitely be back. This is as close to a luxury hotel you are likely to get in Cape May (Maybe they will have built another elevator by then- that would put them close to perfection)

Room Tip: Upper floors would avoid pool noise, and provide generally better beach/ocean views. However, only 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCM_Management_Team, OCH Management at Ocean Club Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We are continually striving to improve upon our offerings.
We're so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and hope you are able to visit again soon.

Best regards,
OCH Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The website portrays this hotel to be much nicer than it actually is. The rooms are dark, dingy and the furnishings are cheap. It is very evident that the budget of the renovation of this hotel went mostly to the lobby and the pool area. Beware, even though hotels in NJ are not supposed to allow smoking, this hotel looks the other way and allows its guests to smoke on their balconies. You can smell smoke all over the hotel. Many people have touched on the fact that there are small bathrooms, one elevator and the hallways have not been renovated so I won't repeat what has already been said. Also the front desk staff was awful. I would stay far far far away from this hotel. Look into the Sandpiper Beach Club which is where we will be staying next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCM_Management_Team, OCH at Ocean Club Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
We appreciate your feedback. Our hotel was extensively renovated in 2011, and features custom made furnishings. We're sorry if the style of these items were not to your taste. In addition, please be aware that we strictly enforce our no-smoking policy and, when alerted to a situation where a guest is violating that policy, we address the situation promptly. If you noticed a guest violating this policy, we wish you would have brought same to our attention so that it could be addressed.

Happy future travels,
OCH Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orefield, PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Hotel is newly renovated, clean and in a great location. We stayed on 6th floor, ocean front , and were very pleased. Only negative to speak of is the entire hotel has one elevator which could be difficult at a a busier time. We had drinks at the Tiki bar twice, excellent! Overall very nice weekend in Cape May.

Room Tip: Top floors no kids!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCM_Management_Team, OCH Management at Ocean Club Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We hope you're able to join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Ocean Club Hotel. The former Atlas hotel, newly renovated in a high-end, modern style with a sleek pool and excellent restaurant (Sea Salt) is a welcome change. Our king room on the 6th floor was splendid, facing the ocean, with a private balcony and very comfortable accommodations. The pool is modern and adult - without diving boards or slides for kids, which the two of us appreciated. The tiki bar at the pool, open to the public, is fun, and also offers food from the Sea Salt restaurant. The service overall was excellent - from front desk to the pool staff. We would definitely return.

Three negative comments: the entrance to the hotel on Beach Ave does not accommodate for a drive up to check in or out - also, didn't see a ramp for entry into the front of the hotel either. So your car and /or arrival/department occurs in the back parking lot which still needs a makeover. It's not an impressive first sight when arriving at this stylish hotel. The elevators could stand renovation as well - one small, slow elevator for the entire hotel.
The hotel hosts weddings - we saw two in two days - so there can be extra noise coming from the deck where cocktail hours are held.

Room Tip: Ask to face the ocean - don't settle for side view. The top 6th floor is for adults only - no ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCM_Management_Team, OCH Management at Ocean Club Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! We appreciate your feedback and will utilize your comments to improve upon our offerings and services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Club Hotel

Address: 1035 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Club Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Club Hotel redefines the luxury Cape May hotel experience. Designed by Tyler Duncan of Duncan Design Group, this boutique hotel provides the perfect blend of style and comfort. Indulge in the hotel’s breezy elegance, modern sophistication, lush bedding and chic custom designed furnishings. Leisurely pass the day sipping a cocktail poolside, on our spacious sundeck offering spectacular views of the ocean or bask in the sunshine on the beach with our complimentary beach service. Stroll along the Cape May Promenade, just steps away, and enjoy all the attractions Victorian Cape May has to offer. Finish off the day with stunning floor-to-ceiling panoramic ocean views from your private balcony. Though The Ocean Club Hotel’s greatest amenity is its location and accessibility to everything Cape May has to offer, the grounds and guest rooms also come with an abundance of amenities and guest services to make your stay even more relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.