We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Club Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Club Hotel to your Saves list
Ocean Club Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1035 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
$20 Daily Bfast Voucher!*
Ranked #13 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We'll be back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Very nice hotel in a lovely and very nice beach town. This was our first visit to Cape May and we already looking forward to our next visit. We tried to check in early but were told that is never an option before 2 pm, so we were able to be comfortable by the pool while waiting for our room. We met very nice people who gave us recommendations of places to go and where to eat. The hotel beds were very comfortable, and housekeeping does a great job of keeping the rooms very clean. The staff at the pool bar and the pool were just terrific and very attentive.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our five nights at the Ocean Club Hotel. For an upscale beach hotel, we expected better quality towels, but because they are a "green" hotel they may be limited in choices. Also they could definitely use more hooks and towel bars in the bathroom. But aside from those minor complaints, we happily look forward to our next stay at the hotel.

Room Tip: We orginially were going to book a first floor cabana-type room, but we were happy to have been on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    118
    50
    20
    21
See reviews for
132
185
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey, USA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

On a whim, we decided to go to Cape May. We made reservations a couple of days before during the peak of summer. Needless to say - we paid a steep price but somehow worth it. The only available room was the penthouse with side view. Because it was the top floor (6th) it didn't matter. You still have a great view of the ocean. I also enjoyed looking at the view in land - the other homes in the area. The penthouse is the way to go. The view is fantastic and noise is minimal. You only hear hear the waves!

The thing about this hotel is definitely the pool scene. Nice comfy lounges with bar and towel service. Then, when you get tired of the pool or the kids get too loud - you just cross the street and pay for your beach tag. The hotel also has lounge and towel service on the beach. That makes it worth the money.

Our room was a penthouse double. Very comfy beds and nice shower although it could be bigger. There is free wifi in the room. We also ate at Sea Salt - the hotel restaurant. Service is slow but food is decent.

Be sure to walk to Washington Mall and along Beach Ave. eat at The Pier House in the patio. It could be pricey but great food and ambiance. It's a 10 minute walk from the hotel.

FYI - this is only a self parking hotel. However, once you park there really isn't any reason to drive.

Room Tip: Check in as early as possible and just hang out in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

First things first, The staff at this place was amazing. Every person on the staff treated me like I was the only guest at the hotel. From the bartenders to the housekeepers, the guy at the front desk was as professional and knowledgeable as any concierge I've seen in 5 star hotels. The food at the restaurant was fantastic and the staff top notch. It's one of the best 3 day vacations I've had in a long time and actually feel relaxed. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbury, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My husband and I had a great 3 night getaway at this hotel in July. The hotel has a great location and was clean and sleek. There were lots of families with kids, especially at the pool but I like kids as long as they are not bugging me! My own kids (20 and 17) we left at home. We liked the hotel so much we will be back next year but on a higher floor for privacy and the view (we were on the third). We had dinner at the restaurant Sea Salt on site and thought it was excellent.

Room Tip: If you want privacy go for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was the sixth time my husband and I stayed at Ocean Club. We have been visiting Cape May for 25 years and since the hotel opened we won't stay anywhere else. From the minute you walk in the door each staff member you encounter goes out of their way to be friendly and helpful. Russ at the front desk has always gone above and beyond to book all our trips and helped us when we wanted to extend our stay. The rooms are beautiful and very comfortable from the beds to the linens to the keurig coffee pots in each room.We eat lunch poolside everyday and the waitstaff is extremely attentive and professional. The bartenders Bob and Mark are friendly and very attentive. Having the SeaSalt Restaurant part of the hotel is an added bonus!. Being a travelor with special dietary needs Executive Chef "Lou" and Amy have always been able to accommodate my gluten free restriction with innovative and excellent food whether it be for breakfast, lunch or dinner. The beach service is fantastic! Looking forward to our seventh stay in September!

Room Tip: If traveling without chidren book a room on the 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Top of the line hotel-room has excellent amenities (even a heated toilet seat!) and the hotel is in excellent condition. The staff is extremely helpful.
We came as a couple but there were many families here too.
Nice pool with Tiki Bar and great service.

Right across from the ocean an on the trolley line around town!

Room Tip: Our room has a balcony and not tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hotel property is meticulously managed and the staff is extremely service-oriented. We had breakfast at Sea Salt, the on-site restaurant which also services lunch and dinner. Lunch poolside offered healthy options and was reasonably priced. The location is a short walk away from all of the shopping and attractions. Ample off-street parking made driving an option too.

Room Tip: Request a cabana room on the first floor to be outside the pool. We liked getting situated poolside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Club Hotel

Address: 1035 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Club Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Club Hotel redefines the luxury Cape May hotel experience. Designed by Tyler Duncan of Duncan Design Group, this boutique hotel provides the perfect blend of style and comfort. Indulge in the hotel’s breezy elegance, modern sophistication, lush bedding and chic custom designed furnishings. Leisurely pass the day sipping a cocktail poolside, on our spacious sundeck offering spectacular views of the ocean or bask in the sunshine on the beach with our complimentary beach service. Stroll along the Cape May Promenade, just steps away, and enjoy all the attractions Victorian Cape May has to offer. Finish off the day with stunning floor-to-ceiling panoramic ocean views from your private balcony. Though The Ocean Club Hotel’s greatest amenity is its location and accessibility to everything Cape May has to offer, the grounds and guest rooms also come with an abundance of amenities and guest services to make your stay even more relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.