We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great additon to Cape May” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Club Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ocean Club Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean Club Hotel
1035 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #15 of 42 hotels in Cape May
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dallas, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a great additon to Cape May”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

Ocean Club is a brand new hotel in Cape may. Me and my wife stay there over the fourth of July weekend and had a great experience! The staff was friendly the rooms were beautiful and trendy. I felt like I was in Las veges minus the casino. The poolside bar was a great plus for me, I enjoy my cocktails while my wife enjoyed the sun! The only disappointment was the the Sea Salt restaurant was not open that weekend, but they did have a poolside menu which I must say was really good.(sliders were Great)

I will be returning and a couple of weeks and will update my post and will let everyone know about my meals at the Sea Salt restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    101
    43
    16
    20
See reviews for
112
155
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Cape May has always had the location but now with the Ocean Club they have the place to stay in Cape May. Beautiful rooms...great service. Feels like the Caribean. Cant wait for my next stay which will be sooner than later

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

It's always difficult to know what to expect when booking a new property and we were concerned about booking our stay here. For that reason, I kept my expectations reasonably low and was more willing to forgive "normal" opening season glitches. That said, The Ocean Club exceeded my expectations in almost every way. We are not "regulars" in Cape May, so I wouldn't presume to compare OC to other competing hotels.Thus this review is for OC experience only over the July 4th weekend.

Positives:
+ Attention to service, staff training, and intangibles was excellent. It's clear that the owners/management actually cares abut the guest experience and they often "make the rounds" inquiring if they can help and what should be changed, etc. Example: upon ordering a relatively rare summer cocktail at the Tiki Bar, they did not have a specific ingredient stocked. No surprise, it's a specialty item and not often ordered. However, the next day they had purchased the bottle.
+ Rooms and common areas were spotlessly clean.
+ Beds and pillows were first rate.
+ Nice poolside environment with an upper-deck lounge area removed from the noise.
+ Free and personable lounge chair and umbrella set up on the beach.
+ Free WiFi -- nice since 3G mobile service is spotty in Cape May
+ Ample free parking
+ Perfect weather (surely arranged my this hotel)

Negatives:
- Although completely refurbished, the OC is built within the footprint of the old Atlas Hotel. That means the rooms and bathrooms are on the small side. They are "adequately" sized and not cramped. Just don't expect palatial living.
- Room amenities are missing "standard items" such as coffee makers with set-ups and luggage racks. (Toiletries, hair dryer, refrigerator, and in-room safe we all provided and nice.)
- The inability (so far) to charge poolside drinks and snacks to a room bill is an inconvenience.
- A single small and insufficient elevator. We were told another larger lift is planned.
- The restaurant is not yet open and is past it's promised opening date. Based solely upon the quality of the limited poolside lunches, the restaurant should be a nice addition to the OC and the area once it opens.
- No fitness room.

Bottomline: We would definitely return here if and when we return to the Jersey shore. This is a nice, beach hotel in a nice beach town. Comparisons to a "Miami" experience in other reviews here seem ludicrous. Don't look for that in Cape May and you should be happy.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCM_Management_Team, Management at Ocean Club Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Thank you for your review! We look forward to having you visit with us again soon.

Best regards,
Ocean Club Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIndsor, NY
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

They had only been opened four days when we checked in the end of June. They have totally done over the hotel. Bathrooms small but very modern. We had the suite. A living room with a pullout couch and flatscreen tv, bedroom with flat screen tv off balcony. Beds
very comfortable. Everyone friendly and accommodating. They were still finishing touches to be done. They put us in a 2nd floor room. No bedskirt, just the mattress showing. Only sheer curtains. No privacy. We were right by the bar and pool. When we
went back to the desk, they changed our room to the 4th floor. All their 'block out'
curtains hadn't come in yet. So, they have a few quirks to work out. We will be back!

The comlimentary beach chairs, towels and umbrellas alone would bring me back there. They even set them up for you! Very clean, comfortable hotel. Walkable to a lot
of shops and restaurants. Their restaurant wasn't quite open yet. Can't wait to try it
next time. They bend over backwards to make your stay pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCM_Management_Team, Manager at Ocean Club Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Thank you for your review and the photos you posted! We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddle Brook, New Jersey
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

We totally enjoyed our stay. The staff couldn't do more for us to make our staymore enjoyable. The managers,in particular, a Leo Eleza could not have been nicer to us in making our stay a most enjoyable one. Every aspect of the hotel was great. The owner, Nick Nezaj was a very approachable guy who really would do anything to make our stay a most enjoyable one. We enjoyed ourselves so much we made reservations to return again in September. I would very highly recommend this hotel to everyone. Its definetely a KEEPER!!! Thanks again to the entire staff in making our stay enjoyable and most memorable!!! See you soon.

Bob A. Scandariato

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack, New Jersey
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

We just got home from our vacation at this newly renovated hotel and it was wonderful!!
The Ocean Club, formerly "the Atlas" bears no resemblance to it's predecessor.
This hotel is beautiful! The rooms are tastefully done,the beds are so comfortable and the pool and bar area offering poolside waitress service were outstanding.
.We were able to have complimentary chairs, towels and umbrellas set up for us at the beach. The staff here is ready, willing and able to assist your every need.
I must also add that one of the owners of the hotel, Nick, went over and above what any hotel owner has ever done for us in the past to make our stay pleasant. Anyway, I would definitely recommend giving this place a try.I think it will surprise you.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCM_Management_Team, Manager at Ocean Club Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2011
Thank you for your review. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddle Brook, New Jersey
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

We just returned from 3 days at The Ocean Club and booked another weekend before we left the hotel. This new gem Cape May is bound to breath some much needed life into (although beautiful) dated beach town. The rooms were bright, clean and stylishly decorated. The staff did everything but backward cartwheels to make sure our stay was a good one. Major kudos to Leo, Stephen, Susie & Sarah. Forgive me for not gettting the names of all the rest of you, but you were all so very helpful. It's true that the restaurant had not yet opened while we were there, but the treatment and kindness showed to us by owner Nick Nezaj more than made up for that. I understand the restaurant will be open by this weekend. It looks beautiful even now. Only wishing I were able to stay a few more days. The Ocean Club is certainly going to be our new home away from home in Cape May.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCM_Management_Team, Manager at Ocean Club Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2011
Thank you for your review. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Club Hotel

Address: 1035 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 42 hotels in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Club Hotel redefines the luxury Cape May hotel experience. Designed by Tyler Duncan of Duncan Design Group, this boutique hotel provides the perfect blend of style and comfort. Indulge in the hotel’s breezy elegance, modern sophistication, lush bedding and chic custom designed furnishings. Leisurely pass the day sipping a cocktail poolside, on our spacious sundeck offering spectacular views of the ocean or bask in the sunshine on the beach with our complimentary beach service. Stroll along the Cape May Promenade, just steps away, and enjoy all the attractions Victorian Cape May has to offer. Finish off the day with stunning floor-to-ceiling panoramic ocean views from your private balcony. Though The Ocean Club Hotel’s greatest amenity is its location and accessibility to everything Cape May has to offer, the grounds and guest rooms also come with an abundance of amenities and guest services to make your stay even more relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Otel so you can book your Ocean Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.