We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A carriage ride through Cape May? Are you really going to pass this up?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape May Carriage Company

Cape May Carriage Company
315 Ocean St, Cape May, Cape May, NJ 08204
+1 609-884-4466
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 51 things to do in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a horse-drawn carriage company.We provide guided tours through Historic district of Cape May.We would like to fully explain why we do not accept credit cards.We are located at the corner of Ocean and Washington St. we have a small unprotected mobile table that has no power,no phone and no protection from the weather.We cannot get a phone jack which is needed to take credit cards because we do not have a store front.Cape May is an island with terrible satellite and cell reception therefore the mobile credit card devices also do not help us.There are other very expensive mobile devices that are weather sensitive and do to the fact that we have no protection from the elements ,that is not an option either.We are sorry for the inconvenience this may cause to some .There is an ATM located directly behind where we are parked.We hope that you enjoy the horse and carriages and the joy, and beauty they bring to the hundreds of people who ride each year.
Clifford, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A carriage ride through Cape May? Are you really going to pass this up?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We decided to take our first carriage ride ever for our anniversary and Stormy (the horse) and our guide made it a very memorable and romantic experience. Our guide was extremely knowledgable of the area and its history, and on top of it being romantic and magical, we found ourselves learning more about Cape May than we had ever thought. :)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
921Beachgirl, Public Relations Manager at Cape May Carriage Company, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thanks for a great review of your first carriage ride.We have folks who come back every year to celebrate an anniversary,hope to see you also.We love our Stormy,he is a big boy who likes his naps.and pats.I'm so pleased you took the time to write and glad you enjoyed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    31
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Romantic evening ride...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The carriage ride was very nice and romantic, also our guide was wonderful with her knowledge of the area she drove us around. It would have been nicer if it was longer....

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
921Beachgirl, Public Relations Manager at Cape May Carriage Company, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Well we do have hour rides available if you want a nice long tour.Our drivers know quite alot of the history ,real or imagined.LOL Seriously if they don't know an answer,they'll ask someone when back at the stop.I hope you come back and take our tour again and I appreciate your nice review.Thanks so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Giddy Up...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The carriage ride gives you an enjoyable and informative view of the beautiful hotels and B&B throughout the area. Such a relaxing activity that can be enjoyed intimately or with kids or friends.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
921Beachgirl, Public Relations Manager at Cape May Carriage Company, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for writing a 5 star review,we so appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Excellent way to learn Cape May History and See cool architecture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I took my teens on a ride to learn the history of Cape May and learn a bit about the architecture. The ride is $52.00 for half an hour and it was worth it when my jaded kids paid close attention.

The carriage was comfortable and the driver was very knowledgable and a lovely person.

We really enjoyed getting a sense of the different kinds of Victorian architecture and the history of the town.

Thank you for a fun and informative time!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
921Beachgirl, Public Relations Manager at Cape May Carriage Company, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Loved your review !!!I am amazed at the reactions from teens,as they seem entranced by the ride.Drivers have told me the teens ask great questions and they pay attention to the tour.Maybe it's the size and the beauty of the horse or just slowing down for a half an hour.I'm so glad you all had a great time and thanks for the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Favorite Cape May Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We had a friendly, knowledgeable driver who shared a lot of info without being overly scripted. The ride was magical. We heard some of the same stuff we heard on the trolley but it seemed fresh somehow as she added other tidbits. This is such a relaxing and fitting way to see the town. Go early and make a reservation so you are sure to get the time you want. You can shop, eat, browse, or sightsee while you wait. It is well worth the price.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
921Beachgirl, Public Relations Manager at Cape May Carriage Company, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
I'm so glad we are your favorite tour here in Cape May.The trolley is just fine but we add the slower,personal touch.Besides, we have HORSES.lolThank you for your nice review and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape May Carriage Company also viewed

Cape May, Jersey Shore
Cape May, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Cape May Carriage Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape May Carriage Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.