We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crazy lil place - the line is always long so it says alot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hot Dog Tommy's

Hot Dog Tommy's
on Jackson St & Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ
609-884-8388
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 108 Restaurants in Cape May
Cuisines: American
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Rochester
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Crazy lil place - the line is always long so it says alot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The owner seems to be there every time we go. Nice guy. Cash only and the dogs are top notch. We always meet super nice people in line - a real treat. this place is a walk up store front with no tables of any kind. The dogs are tasty and there and quite a few variations of condiments. A must go if you like hot dogs

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    54
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall on Hudson, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Quick, great quality and affordable price. Line goes quick but worth it and the dogs are a different quality of meat. Be prepared to order when you get to the counter.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairless Hills, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth the wait!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Yes, you'll stand in line for a minimum of 30 minutes, but it will be worth it. Delicious dogs in two sizes, fresh toppings, and other eats if you're not in the mood for a dog... although, you might be in the wrong line if you're not. The Reuben dog and the chili and cheese dogs are awesome, as are most of the other gourmet dogs.

Note to Tommy: If you could bring on more help and keep your line moving quickly, you'd be a very wealthy man. Otherwise, great job!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmount
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Massive line up is for a reason”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

They really try to please you at this hole in the wall. The line was huge but moved quite quickly. I picked up the food for my family who were sitting at the beach. When I got back to he beach, I realized that they had given us someone else's order. It was too late and too far to go back, so we basicallyy just chowed down. Still very good

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central NJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Long wait for just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We waited an hour in the heat for hot dogs. They were good but definitely not worth waiting an hour. There are a bunch of toppings and if you want, you can get really wild. However, I am a purist so I opted for a "wild" choice of bacon and cheese---Texas Tommy. It was tasty, but honestly, I could have just made myself a hot dog with bacon and shredded cheddar for the same effect. We shared a mac n cheese and it was just meh. In short, if the line is long, skip it. There are TONS of great places to eat in Cape May. Don't fall for the hype.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hot Dog Tommy's also viewed

Cape May, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Hot Dog Tommy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hot Dog Tommy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.