We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No thanks” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Willow Creek Winery

Willow Creek Winery
168 Stevens St, Cape May, NJ 08204
6094259067
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 51 things to do in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Stunning Fifty Acre winery and farm. Wine tastings, tours o n the eco cart , educational seminars. Events at the winery. Gorgeous gardens Located on Cape May island just a short bike ride walk, or drive from all attractions
Montville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“No thanks”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We expected a tour of the winery / wine making - fermenting process. The tour was a tour of the vineyards in an open tram-type bus. Interesting, but not worth it.

We has been on many tours & they always include a tasting. Not here - tastings were extra.

The wines are OK, at best. They sell the wine for ~$20 / bottle and charge way too much for the small tastings they give.

Not worth it

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernmansion, Manager at Willow Creek Winery, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
We are so very sorry you did not enjoy the guidedVineyard tour on the eco tour cart. Most of our guests absolutely adore the tour and find it extremely fun and educational. The tour which lasts approximately 45 minutes is a memorable way to learn all about the Vineyard, grapes ,their history, their planting, and farming management through out the whole year in every season through to the harvest. The various tours and different tastings can be purchased ala carte or together.
Unfortunately you did not purchase a barrel room and wine making tour. Sadly, had you asked the tour guide would have been happy to show them to you. Our mission is to make our guests happy and provide a memorable , interactive experience with wonderful wines!
Please free free to call our Vineyard Manager Kevin at 609-972-7318 he would love to speak to you and make you happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    39
    13
    16
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Runnemede, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wine and an education”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My husband and I had a date day in Cape May. He took me to the Willow Creek Winery and we loved it!!! I've been to many wineries and had tastings and have never been told how to swoosh it around in your glass, smell it and swoosh it around in your mouth. Katie P was awesome, we learned a lot about wine, the vineyard, and the grapes growing in the vineyard. We definitely recommend trying it when you go to cape may, it is a hidden treasure!! Thanks again Katie P for the awesome experience:-)

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“First Impressions are Lasting - we won't be back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We were in Cape May the weekend that the Cape May Wine Festival was cancelled. We decided to head to try this new winery. It was rainy that Saturday and it was an obstacle course driving the puddled, potholed, dirt road all the way to the tasting room at the back of the property. There was no clear marking as to which of the glass doors to enter. All of them were locked, although we saw people inside. The farm director came to the door and asked if we had reservations. We said no, we didn't think we needed them. He said all their ads recommend it - nothing was on the sign at the entrance to the property. We were welcome to come in and pay by the glass. He knew the other couple we were with, but didn't welcome us in.

When we returned to our B&B, another couple said they had gone to Cape May Winery and while it was crowded they didn't turn anybody away.

We were very disappointed by this treatment. Definitely not a way to drum up business for a new winery. I think we will stick to the other wineries on Cape May.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernmansion, Manager at Willow Creek Winery, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Our huge apologize for your unhappy experience. We only want you to have a wonderful time.
That weekend was rainy, and so rainy in fact that the Cape May Wine Festival with thousands of people at the ferry was rained out. This equated to us having several thousands of visitors additional to our winery that day as many people were already in town and could not attend the closed festival. Frankly we were slammed. This is not an excuse, just an explanation.
We would love you to experience our winery the way it should be experienced, and we invite you to please call our Farm Vineyard Manager Kevin Celli at 609-97207318 who will be happy to take car of you personally.
On a good note, though we are a brand new winery we just recently completely resurfaced our entire road and parking ways, so the combined several mile drive a bouts are nice, smooth, and visually appealing. Rome was not built in a day, but we are working hard to make our Winery a place you will absolutely love to return to. Please call we'd love to talk to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Wine, wisdom, and a wonderful tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I run a friends and family annual wine tour; we are the Gulpy Sippers! We visited Willow Creek for our first stop on our 33 person Trolle-coach. Kevin met us at the entrance, hopped on board and started teaching us about the vineyard as we drove up thru the acres of vines, chickens coups to the beautiful tasting room! He actually had us tasting the grapes on the vines! Kevin took us into the huge tasting room, wood and crystal chandeliers, linen table clothes and 33 wine glasses were set up and ready for us. Kevin taught us how to taste his "special way" - 3 steps to better tasting! We had a fantastic tasting, learning about all the wines and much more. It was excellent! Kevin was great and we all say thanks to Barbara for hosting us at her vineyard. WELL Worth it! Cheers Kevin!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, NJ
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wine and Nature and Fun at the Cape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

What a terrific surprise! At the far end of the state known for tomatoes and wise guys there's a wonderful spot that intelligently grows grapes and seriously grapples with producing fine-tasting wines. My bride and I have been to wineries in New York, California and Italy. And New Jersey. Most here have twigs growing in yards and they offer wines that taste like dirty socks. Not Willow Creek. Take a wine tour and follow up with a tasting. The grounds are lovely, the staff knowledgeable and the wines will not chew up your esophagus. Stacey (a certified farmer) led us around and between the many varietals and clearly described the micro-climate of Cape May as well as the over-all approach to growing, protecting and harvesting. When we stopped at a small barnyard on the property she practiced her female turkey gobble which brought forth not only a Tom turkey reply, but his head turned bright blue with desire.
Which naturally brought us to the wine tasting. This, too, was obviously carefully thought out as a three step method which can be applied to assessing any wine. The reds are as good or slightly better than other South Jersey wines we've had. The finish on all of them is smooth and, unfortunately, not complicated. What was most satisfying is their lone white wine: Malvasia Blanca. It's crisp and holds a nice pear-tinged element. The 12,000 foot beam style tasting and bottling area celebrates its first anniversary in December. We hope that as time develops the grapes and the wine-making process we can visit and watch the winery and the product become increasingly enjoyable. They are headed in the right direction. Come see what they're up to. It will be a most beautiful adventure even if your head doesn't turn blue.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Willow Creek Winery also viewed

Cape May, Jersey Shore
 
Cape May Court House, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Willow Creek Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willow Creek Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.