We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cooper's Guest House

Cooper's Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cooper's Guest House
Save
You added Cooper's Guest House to your Saves list
109 Howard Street, Cape May, NJ   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 49 Cape May B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Location and Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Cooper's Guest House is centrally located near the beach and Sylvia us a great hostess. We stayed mid week and it was very quiet and clean. My bed was way more comfortable than my recent stay at a Marriot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
8
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marlton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Sylvia is wonderful and makes you feel right at home. The house is clean and quaint. Not a lot of frills but who needs 'em anyway?! Reasonably priced especially for "high" season. Had room #7 with a private bathroom at the top of the stairs on the 3rd floor in the back of the house. Double bed is comfortable - maybe a bit small for two or could be called cozy!! No view to speak of but two windows. Coffee in the morning downstairs was very good. Tea also available. Off street parking available but was tight but this is at a premium in Cape May. Really do not need your car in Cape May though especially if you are centrally located like Cooper's Guest House is. Cooper's is within walking distance of great restaurants and all the shopping you can imagine! Beach is only about a block and a half away so no car necessary. Park your car, yourself, and enjoy!!! Would definitely recommend and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Second floor has a spacious room with a private porch in the front of the building. Think it is th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Like the other reviewers have said Cooper's guest house is well located, homey, with a pleasant proprietress. A plus maybe not previously mentioned is that Sylvia has several parking spots behind the house. At some other Cape May guest houses, after unloading your luggage, you have to park on the outskirts of town in a shared guesthouse lot then walk or shuttle back to your room.

I understand that Cooper's Guesthouse is not a hotel. But still. Coopers does not have wi-fi. The toilet paper is so thin you might just as well go ahead and use your fingers. After that, you will find a TINY bar of soap in the bathroom that will not be replaced during your stay.

And BTW public wi-fi is hard to find in Cape May. A coffee shop near Gecko's, behind the pedestrian mall, will give you an hour's access with a purchase if you bring your own computer but that seems to be the only option.

So go to Cooper's enjoy the location and the big front porch. And relax and leave your computer at home.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011 via mobile

This is our third year here. We stay with our two kids. Only one and a half blocks to the beach and a few blocks to the mall. We bring breakfast food (there's a fridge in the room) and eat on the front porch most mornings. It is not fancy, the rooms aren't filled with antiques. But it is a nice, homey place to stay for a few days without breaking the bank. The owner is a lovely woman and we will be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsdale, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Sylvia is a wonderful host and made our stay like being with family. Cooper's is located in the center of the historic section and just 2 blocks from the beach. Every year, Sylvia makes an improvement to make Coopers a lttle nicer and a little more confortable. Cooper's Guset House offers great location with comfortable accomodations and a aring host.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

If you are looking for a clean place to stay, near the beach, this is a great choice. This location puts you walking distance to the prime beach, shopping and dining areas. It is one and a half blocks in from the beach, and on the North end of the Beach Ave. strip of restaurants and shops.

Comes with a locked garage for your bike, beach chairs, etc., and limited parking. Once you are there, you just don't need a car for much if at all, and the Owner/Manager will find you a place to park either on property, or street parking right by the house. I needed to use my car and found a space less than a block away when I came back, so it wasn't a problem.

There's a porch out front which gives you a place to hang out of the sun, but there are no other common areas. Coffee and tea are served in the morning.

Rooms were clean and a decent size, they vary, so choose carefully. There is no TV, which did not bother me, and no WiFi or phone. I had a private bathroom (some are shared), and it was clean and on the large size. Shared bathrooms were cleaned daily as was my room.

Room was a little on the spartan side, but clean and well-maintained. Bed was firm, but not hard, very comfortable. In-room heating and AC was very modern, excellent quality, working quickly to cool the room and while not silent, on the quieter side. Large windows let in the ocean breeze if you are so inclined. You either have access to a shared refrigerator or a small one in your room (the one in my room was considerably LARGER than the cube-sized dorm refrigerators one can find in cheap hotels).

The owner/manager was somewhat matter of fact, clearly doing a lot of the work herself.

If you are looking for a charming, hosted, B&B type experience, this isn't the place for you.

If you are looking for an excellent value, clean, well-maintained, great location, walking distance to everything, then I highly recommend Cooper's Guest House.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley Heights, NJ
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

My family and I have been going to Cooper's since the early 90s. The owners, Emily and Sylvia are just wonderful. Tea is offered in the morning, if you like, and the hotel is clean and quiet when we're there every year in the Spring. It's close to the beach and the Washington Mall area. I love to sit on the porch in the afternoon and people watch. There are no TVs, but if you don't mind that, I would highly recommend it. Five Stars, in our opinion!

Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cooper's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooper's Guest House

Address: 109 Howard Street, Cape May, NJ
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A popular and classic Victorian guest house. We offer eight guest rooms, tea and coffee in the lobby every morning, and daily maid service. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cooper's Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.