We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb B&B w/ incredible hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   23 Ocean Street, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 49 Cape May B&B and Inns
Cologne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Superb B&B w/ incredible hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

Very romantic B&B in perfect location. Would come again and again. Just 150 feet from the ocean...The innkeeper was incredibly helpful and friendly. House is very well equipped. The rooms are comfortable and cosy, stylishly decorated. The porch invites for tea or lemonade while listening to the sound of the waves in the distance....

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    50
    11
    4
    8
See reviews for
18
177
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

Wonderful 2nd trip to Beauclaire's Bed & Breakfast. Stayed back in July 2008 and had a wonderful time with then innkeeper, Mark. Mark was a diamond and a precious gem of a man. Made us feel home and welcome. Came back in June 2010 for a "2nd heaping helping of some hospitality." Mark is no longer there but the owner Joe is and he is great. We had a wonderful and relaxing stay. The B&B is literally only 1 block from the beautiful beaches of Cape May, NJ. The breakfast in the morning was fabulous and it was nice to sit out on the front porch and feel the cool sea breezes. There is plenty of off street parking and you are close to many of the resorts walkable areas. Very quiet and calming. Met some amazing people who shared their life stories over breakfast and it was one of those magical and spiritual experiences where you come together. A great 3 days away from Philadelphia and we beat the heat!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

Great location near the beach and mall area. Rates are reasonable, attentive, friendly service. Very comfortable bed, however shower had poor water pressure, one outlet did not work. No first aid kit available when needed.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

The inn keeper welcomed us late at night and helped us carry in our bags! The room was quaint with the sloped ceilings. We did not see it as much of a drawback. The breakfast was very filling and rich. Certainly edible by all means. The inn keeper was quick to act our requests when made. The inn keeper was able to make good recommendations for day time activities and was helpful i making dinner reservations too.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

My wife and I celebrated our 9th year wedding anniversary , and never experienced staying at a B@B before. It was nothing less than fantastic . Beautiful place to stay , great location , great service. Thankyou Joe your breakfast was fantastic and so was your suggestions. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

The room was in an attic. Absorbent amount for what you got. The shower was barely useable. the breakfast was inedible, they gave you one washcloth per couple. Asked for a good place to eat and they recommended the Washington Inn. Early bird special was 19 dollars he said. Very limited menu and not very good food at all. 80 dollars later. The early bird was around 24 a person. Joe was less than personable. Not very accommodating. Upon reading some of the other reviews he must have been in a better mood than. Not worth the money at all.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaucinn, Owner at Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 15, 2010
We have no rooms in the attic. There are 2 guest rooms on third floor with dormered ceilings and when anyone rents those rooms they are made aware of that fact. In this case the guests children picked that particular room for their parents due to the budget they wanted so spend for a one night stay for them.

Alll showers in all rooms are tested each year regarding water pressure and temperature of hot and cold water. There has a never been a problem with the functional use of our showers in any of our guest rooms.

Our breakfasts served at the Inn is a full sitdown breakfast, which is preceeded by fruit, yogurt and coffee/tea. We prepare many variations of breakfast than a traditional eggs and toast. All of our entree items may not be a favoite or liked by each guest, but all the food is certainly edible.

When guests check in they are made aware that there are extra toiletries (wash clothes, soap, shampoo, towles) in the vanity in their room. There were three additional wash clothes in their vanity in the bathroom.

All dinning recommendations are striclty recommendations based on other guests historical feedback on places to dine. Additionally, all menus and prices are posted outside the restraunts in Cape May so the guest can decide if they want to eat there based on menu selection and price.

Our innkeepers and owners are very personable and cater to each of our guests needs. Our business is serve our customers in the most professional and courteous way. We are happ, and always in a good mood to serve each of our guests needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

The six of us enjoyed every minute of our stay. Joe was so helpful from filling an ice bucket for us to recommending and making dinner reservations. He couldn't do enough! The breakfasts were delicious, the house is beautifully kept and charming throughout. The mattresses were so comfortable. We all agreed we would like to share another long weekend there. The location was ideal - near the water on on side and the heart of the town on the other side. See ya soon, Joe!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast

Address: 23 Ocean Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beauclaire's is a renowned Victorian style Bed & Breakfast open all year located in the historic district in Cape May, New Jersey. Just a half block from the beautiful Cape May beaches and one block from town center. All of our romantic guest rooms have queen or king size beds, ocean views, fireplaces and and are decorated with period antiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beauclaire`s b&b
Beauclaire`s Hotel Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.