We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   23 Ocean Street, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 49 Cape May B&B and Inns
Dallas, PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I spent four days in Cape May last week (September 19-22). What a great time of the year to go! The Beauclaire's B&B is a wonderful place. Their location can't be beat - 1/2 block to the beach and just a few short blocks to great shopping. You don't even have to move your car!

Joe is a great innkeeper and if you enjoy big, tasty breakfasts, you're in for a real treat. Our room was comfy (and had a jacuzzi tub in the bathroom), breezy and delightful. The other guests made the stay even more special. Oh, don't forget to sit on the swing on the porch. I am sure we'll go back same time, next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    45
    11
    4
    8
See reviews for
14
159
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Providence, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We recently stayed at Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast the week prior to Labor Day 2012. This inn is a real find and is more reasonably priced than other bed and breakfasts in Cape May. It is ideally located on a side street just two buildings off of the ocean and within walking distance--just two blocks--from the outdoor Cape May pedestrian mall. Here you can be in the hub of all the action Cape May has to offer and yet still experience the charm and serenity of the Victorian historic district.

Joe, our innkeeper, has a wonderful personality and enjoys cooking special gourmet breakfasts for his guests. We also enjoyed meeting guests from other parts of the country.

My only suggestion to Joe is that some little things here and there may need a bit of maintenance. However, all things considered, we were still very impressed with the Beauclaire.

It was our first time staying at Beauclaire's and a Bed and Breakfast, and we really had a relaxing and fun time!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed the week of 07/15. Our first time to what will be many stays at Beauclaire's.
Beautiful home, well appointed rooms, phenomenal full served breakfasts, afternoon tea/cheeses/fresh baked treats were delicious. Restaurant/activity/suggestions/recommendations were spot on,the front porch to relax on, beautiful grounds, convenient to everything, welcoming environment to meet the other guests. Enough said there are few places where you can get it all..Beauclaire's is one of them..look no further. Thank you so very much Joe..see you again soon!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Beauclaire's this past Labor Day weekend and are already planning our next visit! Joe was a great host and I strongly urge you to head his advice on dinner spots and places to grab drinks and appetizers - he never steered us wrong! :) The location couldn't be more convenient....less than a block from the beach and only a couple blocks to Washington St. pedestrian mall. We parked our car when we arrived and never moved it the entire weekend. Cape May is a perfect getaway for a nice vacation and Beauclaire's was the perfect B&B to stay at. We stayed in Nan & Opa's room and found it to be clean and quiet. The other guests provided great conversation over breakfast and on the rocking chairs on the front porch. Breakfasts were enjoyable....especially the stuffed french toast and the smell of cinnamon that wafted up to our room that first morning! :)

Thanks, Joe, for providing us with such a great first experience staying at a B&B! Can't wait to return for Halloween!

~Amy & Michael
Philadelphia, PA

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My fiance and I went with my parents down to Cape May for a long weekend. This was the first time her and I had been done there (second for the rents'). We heard great things and the town didn't disappoint. But the highlight of our trip was the hospitality and accommodations provided by Joe. His B&B was very clean, well serviced, and provide a great atmosphere (we stayed in Tyler's Room). Communal breakfast in the morning was nothing short of fantastic. It gave us a chance to start off the day with some delicious breakfast and engage with different people staying at the B&B. If that's not your thing then there's one table set off from the main dining room where you can eat in private. Beauclaire's is perfectly situated...very close to the beach but yet a short walk into the main square. Next time we're in Cape May we'll be sure to spend it here. Thanks again Joe!!

Room Tip: Tyler's Room was great...back of the house, away from the street, no noise. My parents stayed i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Just stayed at Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast this past Sunday night. This property is beautiful and quaint - the rooms are kept wonderfully, with exquisite victorian accents. Joe, the innkeeper is extremely welcoming and friendly. He made an absolutely delicious stuffed french toast breakfast!! Beauclaire's is right off the beach - location is perfect. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This was our first experience staying at a B & B. We were very happy that we chose Beauclaire's. It was decorated very nice and was extremely clean. Joe was very helpful with his suggestions as to where to eat and some of the attractions. We enjoyed his breakfast which was not only presented well but very tasty. We loved sitting in the sun room at our little table all by ourselves listening to the conversation in the dining room. The location was perfect as it was very close to the beach, the restaurants and the shopping area. Our room was on the third floor and we were able to see the beach out of our window. We also enjoyed sitting on the wrap around porch watching the horse drawn carriages go by. We will definitely return to Cape May and stay at Beauclaire's again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast

Address: 23 Ocean Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beauclaire's is a renowned Victorian style Bed & Breakfast open all year located in the historic district in Cape May, New Jersey. Just a half block from the beautiful Cape May beaches and one block from town center. All of our romantic guest rooms have queen or king size beds, ocean views, fireplaces and and are decorated with period antiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beauclaire`s Hotel Cape May
Beauclaire`s b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.