We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location and classic hotel, but getting seedy.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of Cape May

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn of Cape May
Save
You added Inn of Cape May to your Saves list
7 Ocean Street, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and classic hotel, but getting seedy.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

This is a classic old hotel in a terrific location. But the emphasis is on "old".

The positiives: It is in an ideal location, right across the street from a gorgeous beach, with a wonderful old wraparound veranda where you can sit in rocking chairs and order drinks from the bar while watching and listening to the waves. Sea-side rooms have wonderful views and you can fall asleep to the sound of waves every night. The service is very friendly and the lobby and restaurant are classic old Victorian. The breakfast in the restaurant (up to $11 per person plus coffee is included with the room) has a great selection of eggs benedict, etc.

Unfortunately, there are negatives too. The owners seem to be milking what they can out of this great old hotel without keeping it up. Carpets are threadbare, paint on the outside is peeling, junk is stored in halls upstairs. In our room the bed springs had to be from the 1950's, and shook like a waterbed, although surprisingly we got a fairly decent sleep on it. Bathroom fixtures were rusting, the overhead fan was wobbly and felt like it was going to fall off, ancient AC over our heads had a filter sticking out; overall it felt like it had not been upgraded since the 1950's.

But we still have wonderful memories of our trip to Cape May. The town is classic Americana, with all kinds of Victorian homes, small shops, and great restaurants. We rented bikes for $10 a day and cruised all over. Spent the evenings reading on the veranda, sipping wine and listening to waves. Cape May is a great "grown-up" resort for people who don't want loud bars. And I still would go for this hotel over a Mc-Motel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    40
    25
    19
    29
See reviews for
44
60
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

I liked this hotel because it's within walking distance to the beach, and the Washington Street Mall. The restaurant has nice piano music, and it serves seafood dishes. The elevator holds four people including the operator, and it's original to the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, NJ
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

We went here May 2010 for a weekend trip. After reading reviews we were a bit weary, but they offered us a room, free breakfast (which is actually a voucher worth $11 per person at there restaurant) and also a separate voucher for $50 good for there restaurant (lunch, dinner, etc) all for $125 a night. Maybe this was because it was off season.. not sure.

In any case:
Pros:
1) Location - right on the beach, block away from bars, main street, just perfect! Couldn't be in a better location
2) Clean room, average size, and renovated bathrooms (but I hear the room sizes vary, not sure if they are all renovated)
3) Restaurant - Surprisingly good food! Fantastic pancakes, great seafood!
4) Noise - fairly quiet all night
5) Staff was friendly
6)Free parking.. this is a bigggg plus!!! I hate meters
Cons:
1)Mattress: Typical cheaper motel type mattress, stiffer, springy. Sheets were thin.
2)Pillows - only provided 2 pillows, which were very thin, and also poor quality

Overall: In a Hotel rating scale I would give it 2-2.5 out of 5 stars. Mostly because of the uncomfortable mattress/pillows. With better bedding it would be a 3.5.

I would recommend to the budget traveller who is looking for a 2-3 start hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

We went to Cape May for our son graduation from USCG. I called and got a very resonable price for a suite on the fourth floor. I used the internet for my reservations but also called and got to be friends with one of the women, Beth who run The Inn of Cape May. She was very helpful in getting our reservations organized as we were coming in from Alabama. We were pleasently surprised with the nice big bright rooms facing the ocean. The maid service was first thing every morning and was excellent and non intrusive. The breakfast is from the regular menu and the food was without question better than any in Cape May. Much better than the Blue Pig Inn, Lobster House, etc....hands down the best food we have ever had......very original and beautifully served. Dinner would be on my fabulous list........The staff was very friendly and helped us with our every question . Has a large parking lot which was right across the street. It is in walking distance (two blocks) from the sweetest town you can imagine, brick streets, tulips and roses in full bloom all over town with dozens of wonderful shops everywhere. we will definately go back and the beach was also breathtaking and quiet.........

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
putnam county
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

We made a reservation for the Inn @ Cape May
On Monday 3/39/10
This day was a major storm and the State of NJ was in a State of emergency.
we could not get down there ( our roads were closed) and most major parways were FLOODED.

we asked for another day, and they never even responded, then did NOT offer another day and JUST CHARGED US and blew us off.

we are outraged and believe me would not send any future businees their way ever.
THIS IS JUST POOR BUSINESS PRACTICE.

we go to Cape May every year, we bring our family and business-so needless to say
DOWN WITH CAPE MAY
i never even want to go back to this part of NJ ever again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huntington, ny
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

The Inn of Cape May was great for a 3 day mid week relaxing getaway for my wife & I. We went in May one week before Memorial Day. Although the hotel is old, we liked it. If you want a 5 star luxury hotel, this is not your place. The rooms were clean & quiet. Our room was on the top 5th floor. It was a corner room with a king size bed & had an ocean view & city view. The elevator is the oldest in Cape May & there is an elevator operator. We never waited long for the elevator & took to stairs to go down. There is a free hotel parking lot directly across the street. The hotel faces the ocean & is two blocks to Washington St Mall. We had the special off season package which included breakfast each day at Aleathea’s Restaurant in the hotel & $120 Inn Money to spend at the hotel. Breakfast is from the regular menu with a $20 allowance. We used the Inn Money for dinner at Aleathea’s Restaurant, which was the best meal we had in Cape May. This is an excellent restaurant, much better then the Congress Hall Blue Pig Tavern. Bottom line we had a great room with an ocean view, a free full breakfast each day & a free 5 star dinner.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

I've always loved the Inn of Cape May though I had never stayed there. Finally we booked our reservations and I felt right at home. Sure, it's OLD, it's Victorian!! Yes, it needs constant upkeep, things are in constant state of repair, but overall I found it very clean and charming - like stepping into an antique shop and into another era. I LOVE the veranda where my husband and I would sit out on the rocking chairs and relax. Breakfast in the porch dining area was wonderful and we had with out plan $50.00 Inn Bucks to spend which we used for a nice dinner. Our room was on the second floor and we had another porch down the hall where we sat out to watch the ocean during a fantastic thunderstorm. The gift shop (which looks like an antique shop) has beautiful antiques, jewelry and baubles (something for everyone except no motorcycle trinket for my husband!)
There is also a parking lot across the street for guests.

The staff of the Inn I found to be very helpful and willing to accomodate. I would definitely recommend the Inn to friends though, if you're looking for a Hyatt Regency modern marble decor this isn't the place.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn of Cape May? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of Cape May

Address: 7 Ocean Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 110 years, the Inn of Cape May has been a grand, gracious retreat for guests seeking a wonderful getaway. Come see the splendor of our unique Victorian village with its beautiful beaches and gentle ocean. Relax on our porch rockers beneath our signature purple awnings. Take a carriage ride. Enjoy fine dining. It's all here, as it has been for over 100 years at America's premier seashore resort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn Of Cape May Hotel Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of Cape May, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.