We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Outside, Not so Inside” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of Cape May

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn of Cape May
Save
You added Inn of Cape May to your Saves list
7 Ocean Street, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Outside, Not so Inside”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I loved the outside of the hotel and the lobby and the restaurant etc. The rooms however were not so good. Very old, not old antique but just old. Very disappointing. Also, smell of mildew but that's probably just because its across the street from the ocean.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    40
    25
    19
    29
See reviews for
44
60
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

As a long time guest of the Inn, it is absolutely wonderful! I read so many of the reviews and just don't understand that people feel that a location that was built 100+ years ago needs to be modern... it is an old victorian destination place. The lobby has been renovated, making it appear bright and fresh. The best thing is the natural light streaming thru the windows since the curtains have been removed. The staff is quite accommodating, especially Dawn who truly went out of her way to make me and my friends more comfortable. This place and lovely staff are diamonds that shine brightly. Our room, which we get each year had several updates, one that included a new mattress that was so incredibly comfortable. Keep up the great work and thank you and your staff for making our stay fantastic! !!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel Island, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

A girlfriends weekend away turned bad. After a fun day sightseeing, we decided to sit on the sun deck and relax. Imagine my dismay, when I stood up and my friends asked what I had sat on because the bottom of my shorts now had white lines all over it. After brushing off my seat , we realized that my shorts had bleach spots all over them. I then went back to my chair and realized that it smelled like bleach and when I rubbed my hand on it and others smelled, they agreed with me. After thinking about it, I went to the front desk to notify them of what happened. The women at the front desk were apologetic and then notified the person in the back office (some type of manager ). She initially denied that they used bleach but then said maybe they did on those chairs. To my surprise, no type of restitution was offered. Very disappointing.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

During a visit to Cape May, while staying at another motel, my sister and I "discovered" the Inn of Cape May. We enjoyed cocktails on the veranda in the late afternoon. It was a perfect way to end a lovely day of touring Cape May. We returned the next evening and before relaxing on the veranda - we asked the front desk staff if we could view a room. They were more than happy to accommodate our request. We checked out one of the oceanside rooms in the main building and found it very nice - clean and well appointed. Like their brochure says, it is not modern and that's where it's charm is. The lobby was filled with antiques and atmosphere. The public restroom was even quite lovely! Their off season rates were very reasonable. All staff members were both friendly and helpful to these non guests. We also enjoyed a nice breakfast at their restaurant, Aleathea's. So, I am looking forward to my next visit to Cape May and will definitely want to stay at the Inn.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Stayed here for our anniversary. The Inn is charming with loads of antiques and a great porch with rocking chairs. The rooms are quaint. When booking remember it's an old Inn with nothing really modern or updated in the rooms. I liked the old staff operated elevator and the charm. Thought it was over priced but I guess your paying for the charm and the excellent location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I stayed at the Inn again this year and it was delightful. I enjoy going to Cape May to see the beautiful Victorian homes. The Inn is a quaint seaside resort from the 1890's. I turned on the fan again to cool it. It is like going back in time. Research is always helpful. Some don't like the steps. The steps back it more personal. I'll be staying there again.

Room Tip: go with the flow. great balcony to view the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

For November, the place was busy. Everyone else there we talked to had stayed there before, some many times. So its hard to see why this place isn't more highly rated. Maybe walking up to a 3rd floor room was too much, the elevator is not self service so we walked. Maybe the manual/on off TV and the cranky cable device made watching TV a challenge. The room wasn't great, but it was clean and the bed comfy, and climate control worked fine. Very convenient to town, and the beach, and free parking. Plenty of hot water for a long shower, nice porch and feeling of old times in this 100+ year old place, all good.

Room Tip: We took a land view room, not much of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn of Cape May? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of Cape May

Address: 7 Ocean Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 110 years, the Inn of Cape May has been a grand, gracious retreat for guests seeking a wonderful getaway. Come see the splendor of our unique Victorian village with its beautiful beaches and gentle ocean. Relax on our porch rockers beneath our signature purple awnings. Take a carriage ride. Enjoy fine dining. It's all here, as it has been for over 100 years at America's premier seashore resort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn Of Cape May Hotel Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of Cape May, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.