We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of John Wesley Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
John Wesley Inn
Save
You added John Wesley Inn to your Saves list
30 Gurney Street, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 47 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Northern NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Home from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

Great place to relax, friendly Innkeepers, clean and quiet.
Food excellent, on site parking, close to beach and town center........Has it all.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    36
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
49
418
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

I have been going to Cape May for years. I grew up vacationing there and have since introduced my husband and children to Cape May. We have always stayed in the motels.

My husband decided to take me for my 40th birthday and decided to try the John Wesley Inn. It was the perfect choice!

The Bed and Breakfast is decorated beautifully! The room was beautiful and comfortable! The service was excellent! The breakfast was so delicious! The owners were so pleasant, friendly and very attentive! We could not have asked for a better experience!

The location is excellent. It is within walking distance of the beach, boardwalk and the mall.

We truly hope to go back again!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quakertown,PA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

Our weekend getaway to Cape May was truly delightful in every way. Even though it was cold outside, it was warm and cozy in our B&B. We had plans to go out everynight but we ended up staying in because we wanted to enjoy all of the great amenities of our room! The decor was tastefully done and not over the top and we still were able to enjoy some modern conveniences which is unusual for some B&B's we have stayed at before. Bonnie, the innkeeper was delightful as well. Our breakfast meals were top notch and delicious! All in all I would wholeheartedly recommend the John Wesley Inn as a place to stay and my husband and I hope to return there again!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cashtown PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

We spent several days at John Wesley last summer and really enjoyed our stay. The John Wesley Inn is the nicest Bed & Breakfast that we have ever visited. Bonnie was a great host and prepared a fine breakfast for us each morning. We really enjoyed meeting her and talking about our mutual interest in history. Cape May is our favorite beach resort and we certainly plan to stay at the John Wesley Inn on our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

A very romantic atmosphere that reminded me of being in another time period. It was absolutely delightful staying there. The staff was so friendly and helpful. It is within walking distance to restaurants and sights. Beautiful during the holiday season!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresher, PA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

My partner and I went to Cape May over the New Year Holiday. We arrived at the B&B just in time for a New Year's Eve cocktail party - attended by various friends and B&B guests of owners Bonnie and Lance, complete with flowing champagne and wonderful hors d'oervres and desserts. We really didn't need to go to dinner after that! Bonnie and Lance were lovely and could not have been more accommodating. The location was perfect and we had a great little getaway. Hope to return there in warmer weather.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

We have just returned from a wonderful 2 day /1 night getaway at our favorite B & B and had a delightful time. Bonnie and Lance are the best hosts and can't do enough for you. This place is so beautiful and cozy and perfect location. My husband and I have been now about 4 times and will continue to go back because we love it so much. THe breakfast is so good, just an all around warm feeling when you stay here. We highly recommend it, Happy New Year!!! All the best 2010 from Sandy and Paul from Exton, PA

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to John Wesley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Wesley Inn

Address: 30 Gurney Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Where Antiques and Amenities Harmonize" One of the Historic "Stockton Row Cottages". Located 1/2 block to beach and 2 blocks to the walking mall. Park your car "on-site" and "forget-about-it". Full Service Inn, including a full compliment of amenities. I polish the silver and he polishes the chrome. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Wesley Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.