We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok you ALMOST get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mt. Vernon Motel

Mt. Vernon Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mt. Vernon Motel
Beach Drive & First Ave., Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 42 hotels in Cape May
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ok you ALMOST get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Nice motel.Rooms are nice and comfortable we stayed in room 3 with an efficiency kitchen.we had ants!not many but we had ants! it is off the beaten track witch is good it is nice and quiet. However we could walk to no restaurants.It was not fancy.I didn't like the fact there was no place to get a simple cup of coffee.The efficiency kitchen was super clean pool was clean but closed to early.I liked the feel of the pool not to hot not to cold.I stayed 6 nights in July 2011 . I wold stay here again cuz manegnent is nice yet only for maybe 3-4 days tops

Stayed July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    3
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morris County
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We've been staying there for over 20 years and never had a reason not to return! Our latest visit, the last week in August, was no exception. We love the location--beautiful beach, quiet part of town, and an easy walk to the mall. The owners meticulously maintain the building, rooms, and grounds.
We find the beds comfortable, the AC units quiet and efficient, and the bathrooms fully functional if a bit small. Everything, inside and out, is clean. The owners and staff are all very pleasant and helpful. Looking forward to our next stay there!

Room Tip: Second floor affords a great view of the ocean and the daily dolphin antics!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddon Heights, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

I was a little unsettling that we had to pay for our three nights in cash upon check in. In my experience you pay when you check out. The website said cheery rooms. Unfortunately they were drab and outdated. There was a slight musty smell as well, however the bathroom seemed to be updated enough and the housekeeping crew did a nice job keeping the place clean. The beds were very hard the linens were stiff. We considered checking out after our second night, but when we went to the manager to discuss she was defensive and replied 'it's not my fault it rained. You signed the consent form. No refunds. '. She didn't even ask if there was a problem or if there was anything she could do to make us more comfortable. Yes it was raining but moreover I hadn't slept well for two nights. Any place that sets refund policies around ensuring they are paid is not going to ensure top customer service. I've learned my lesson. I would not recommend this hotel unless you knew what you were paying for ahead of time.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern NJ
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We have been staying at the Mt Vernon Motel for over 20 years. The rooms are always clean and of a decent size. There is a well-maintained pool which is a huge draw after a day on the beach right across the street! They have helped us find babysitters when needed and have accommodated our sometimes late arrivals. We have watched each other's kids grow up. Recently they made a move for us to put our rooms together when we reserved later than usual and couldn't arrange it at the outset. We love to park the car and walk everywhere. This is a great place for a wonderful vacation!

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms without a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We came to celebrate my mother in laws 80th birthday. There were 11 of us and we all agree that this place is wonderful. We have been to many shore towns and motels but this has been the best experience. The rooms are very clean, the pool area is wonderful and the people have been very nice. We will come here again. Great views, great sunsets and great weather,

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We have been going to Mt. Vernon during September for years....we have never been disappointed with the cleanliness of the motel and we have never experienced a musty odor! The location is fantastic!! Walk across the street to the beach, beautiful views from the second floor!! Also, beautiful flowers! The pool is always clean and plenty of loungers and other outside furniture around. The kitchenette is well stocked....we have always had plenty of towels....the front desk help has always been lovely.
The only thing to keep in mind is that this is a small, older, family owned motel, not a chain, but if you want a decent price and a clean motel, this is the place!

Room Tip: Go for an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrison
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Very nice motel. Clean and comfortable. Location fantastic. Beach right across from motel and the end of the beach around the corner...great views of sunset. Would stay with family again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mt. Vernon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Vernon Motel

Address: Beach Drive & First Ave., Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 42 hotels in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Mt. Vernon Hotel Cape May
Mt Vernon Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt. Vernon Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mt. Vernon Motel to your Saves list