We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mt. Vernon Motel

Mt. Vernon Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mt. Vernon Motel
Save
You added Mt. Vernon Motel to your Saves list
Beach Drive & First Ave., Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
Morris County
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Getaway Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We've been staying there for over 20 years and never had a reason not to return! Our latest visit, the last week in August, was no exception. We love the location--beautiful beach, quiet part of town, and an easy walk to the mall. The owners meticulously maintain the building, rooms, and grounds.
We find the beds comfortable, the AC units quiet and efficient, and the bathrooms fully functional if a bit small. Everything, inside and out, is clean. The owners and staff are all very pleasant and helpful. Looking forward to our next stay there!

Room Tip: Second floor affords a great view of the ocean and the daily dolphin antics!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    4
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
13
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haddon Heights, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I was a little unsettling that we had to pay for our three nights in cash upon check in. In my experience you pay when you check out. The website said cheery rooms. Unfortunately they were drab and outdated. There was a slight musty smell as well, however the bathroom seemed to be updated enough and the housekeeping crew did a nice job keeping the place clean. The beds were very hard the linens were stiff. We considered checking out after our second night, but when we went to the manager to discuss she was defensive and replied 'it's not my fault it rained. You signed the consent form. No refunds. '. She didn't even ask if there was a problem or if there was anything she could do to make us more comfortable. Yes it was raining but moreover I hadn't slept well for two nights. Any place that sets refund policies around ensuring they are paid is not going to ensure top customer service. I've learned my lesson. I would not recommend this hotel unless you knew what you were paying for ahead of time.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern NJ
Level Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We have been staying at the Mt Vernon Motel for over 20 years. The rooms are always clean and of a decent size. There is a well-maintained pool which is a huge draw after a day on the beach right across the street! They have helped us find babysitters when needed and have accommodated our sometimes late arrivals. We have watched each other's kids grow up. Recently they made a move for us to put our rooms together when we reserved later than usual and couldn't arrange it at the outset. We love to park the car and walk everywhere. This is a great place for a wonderful vacation!

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms without a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We came to celebrate my mother in laws 80th birthday. There were 11 of us and we all agree that this place is wonderful. We have been to many shore towns and motels but this has been the best experience. The rooms are very clean, the pool area is wonderful and the people have been very nice. We will come here again. Great views, great sunsets and great weather,

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We have been going to Mt. Vernon during September for years....we have never been disappointed with the cleanliness of the motel and we have never experienced a musty odor! The location is fantastic!! Walk across the street to the beach, beautiful views from the second floor!! Also, beautiful flowers! The pool is always clean and plenty of loungers and other outside furniture around. The kitchenette is well stocked....we have always had plenty of towels....the front desk help has always been lovely.
The only thing to keep in mind is that this is a small, older, family owned motel, not a chain, but if you want a decent price and a clean motel, this is the place!

Room Tip: Go for an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrison
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Very nice motel. Clean and comfortable. Location fantastic. Beach right across from motel and the end of the beach around the corner...great views of sunset. Would stay with family again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed here for only 4 nights thank goodness. We stayed here because the place advertised new mattresses and renovated bathrooms. The mattresses provided zero support. Our backs were aching every morning. The owner must have gottena deal on "el cheapo" mattresses. But even worse was the MUSTY odor we had to endure the entire time we were in the room. Our safe haven was the balcony OUTSIDE of the room. We were on the 2nd floor. The view of the ocean was perfect. The pool was nice but the lounge chairs were very uncomfortable. The rooms were totally outdated. All of our clothes and belongings picked up the aweful musty odor. This place is not worth what they are charging, I would do my research and stay in more updated room without the MUSTY odor. We toured the Montreal Inn, it is a bit more money but Fabulous.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.1 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#7 of 42 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 499 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#9 of 42 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 468 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#25 of 42 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 stars 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beach Resort
#10 of 42 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
1.4 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#33 of 42 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
0.8 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#14 of 42 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. Vernon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Vernon Motel

Address: Beach Drive & First Ave., Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Mt. Vernon Hotel Cape May
Mt Vernon Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt. Vernon Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.