We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location great price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Poor Richard's Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Poor Richard's Inn
17 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 49 Cape May B&B and Inns
Elmira, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great location great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

Harriet was a great innkeeper. This is a nice quaint place to stay on jackson street right in the center of town. Our room was a bit small but hey we spent most of our time on the beach or roaming around town just having fun. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    15
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
30
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jersey Shore
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Poor Richard's this past weekend for a quick getaway. When booking a B&B, we were kind of constrained due to two factors. 1. We booked only one week in advance, and 2. We only stayed one night (Saturday). So I had to call about a dozen places before I found one that had an open room for just Sat night. Many of the Cape May B&Bs are 2 or even 3 night minimum stays.

We checked in around 5PM on Saturday, even though official check-in time is nice and early - 1:00. Harriet, the innkeeper, is super nice and personable. She makes you feel right at home and makes sure you are comfortable. She takes a lot of pride in Poor Richard's.

We had a room (#6) with a double bed and a twin. The room was plenty big for the two of us, but would be tight with kids. It was hot this weekend (about 90), but the air conditioner in the room worked like a charm. The room was plenty cold for sleeping.

Breakfast was pretty standard. It's a continental, so no hot food. Bagels, breads, fruit, coffee, juice. As a B&B, we thought Harriet could have focused a little more on the second B. She has a full kitchen in the back so there is the potential for a proper breakfast. I wouldn't mind paying an extra couple dollars on the rack rate for some eggs or pancakes.

We checked out at 10:30, but Harriet told us we could use her beach chairs, towels, and outdoor shower for the remainder of the day. We took advantage of this and spent the day at the beach and then showered around 5:00 in the outdoor shower. This was very accommodating of her and was really key for us to have a "home-base" during the day after checking out.

Overall, this was a basic inn. It's not that fancy, not too big, the porch is a little small, the breakfast is just OK, but the rate was good compared to other B&Bs in Cape May in June (we pd $160). So it served its purpose for us. Would we stay here again? Next time I will do some more planning, book in advance, and probably find another place for a few more bucks. Absolutely nothing against Poor Richard's or Harriet - it's just a matter of you get what you pay for here. A good value for sure.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

My wife and I booked a room at the Poor Richard's Inn and we weren't disappointed. April is still the off-season, but we found that to our advantage as the town is less frenetic, the parking plentiful and free and there is a general unhurried feel about the place. The inn itself was quite cozy, the food toothsome, and Harriet the innkeeper was most friendly and accommodating. Each of the rooms and halls are adorned with her spirited and whimsical collages. We felt like we had spent the time with a good friend.
By the way, if you do go, there is a truly elegant restaurant directly behind Poor Richard's called The Merion Inn. They have early bird and night owl specials that feature much of the same evening's entrees at a discount ... well worth checking-out.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

We really loved this place. It was great for the money. Harriet is very helpful and personable. The rooms were decorated nice. The porches were the best. Both levels where you can sit and watch all the passer-bys. It was the perfect location to the beach and the mall with all the restaurants. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, PA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

My husband and I took my mom to Cape May for a weekend to celebrate her retirement. We knew we wanted to stay in a Victorian B&B to capture the essence of Cape May. We chose Poor Richard's not only for the atmosphere but also because they have five rooms that sleep three people (without having to request a cot), something that can be difficult to find in a B&B. The owner/artist Harriet is one of the most engaging and hilarious people we have ever met. She was great company in the mornings when we would go downstairs for breakfast (delicious!) and would entertain us with stories of what she went through in turning a run down old Victorian into an incredible inn. Our room was beautiful and the location on Jackson Street is ideal. We were only a block or so from the shops on Washington Street and an equal distance to the beach. Jackson Street is also a rather quiet street, at least in November, so we had nice quiet nights for sleep. Of course, Poor Richard's Inn is an old house, so you have the atmosphere of imperfection and age that goes with it, not everything is perfect, pristine and new. The rooms and bathrooms are all very clean and that is what is important. If you are a person who expects the atmosphere amenities of the Plaza Hotel, you are barking up the wrong tree, this place is not for you. If you are looking for a cool old Victorian and someone fun to talk to, Poor Richard's is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

My two cousins (they are sisters) and I planned this trip in the early fall. My cousins assured me there was plenty to do in Cape May around the holidays. Beautiful decorations adorned the town and the Victorian Homes that are endless in this part of New Jersey. This was my third visit to Poor Richards Inn. My first was last summer with my ousins and then in September I took my husband Ralph there for his birthday. Ralph is used to very plush hotels so I was not sure how he would feel about a B&B but he fell in love with Harriet the innkeeper and when I asked him this Christmas if he would go there again he said "absolutely". Poor Richards Inn is loaded with charm derived from another era. The rooms are well sized and comfortable and you cannot beat the price. The best part is breakfast in the gathering room which is a wondaerful time to meet the other guests. The Inn is steps from the beach, shops and restaurants. There is never a lack of a good place to eat and the shops have quality items. I highly recommend this Inn to anyone who is not looking for the frilly hotel but who wants to be in an atmosphere of cozy comfort and a feeling of always feeling welcomed.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

Well, it was the coldest 4 days of this year but I was snug as a bug at Poor Richard's Inn. I spent much more time indoors than usual and I had one of the best times ever. Breakfast was great and guests are always encouraged to mingle in the Gathering Room.. The innkeeper, Harriett, is so laid back and she really takes an interest in her guests. Everyone there was happy. I slept and ate really well and can't wait until the spring to go there again

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Poor Richard's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poor Richard's Inn

Address: 17 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Poor Richard's we try to strike a balance between today's informality and yesterday's charm, without being pretentious or overbearing. We're friendly and helpful, but respect your privacy; and while the rooms are furnished with period pieces, our primary goal is to have guests feel comfortable and "at home" — we're not aiming at strict Victorian authenticity...and our prices aren't too outrageous. We are located less than a minute's walk to Cape May's main beach. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poor Richard's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Poor Richard's Inn to your Saves list